I Survived Another Tax Season!

It’s a good thing people like their Easter eggs hard-boiled or my blog would be a lonely unvisited little rest stop on the information superhighway but once again, this post reels them in 😀  Lord knows I haven’t had the time to write anything new in a while to generate any traffic.

This tax season was both one of the easiest and at the same time one of the most hectic I’ve had, all at the same time.  I knew it would be a challenge with little ones in the house again and school closings and daycare issues thrown into the mix, but this part was considerably easier than I thought it would be this time around.  Unlike when my own kids were young, I had the convenience of an emergency sitter at home (Middle Son J was gracious enough to watch the kids when he didn’t have class) during those pesky two-hour snow delays and cancellations.  My boss realized I’d need some time off here and there to tend to the kids many appointments and took the pressure off by assuring me that things would be okay and in fact, office hours were now only 9 to 5 (except of course for him–when he was usually there before 7 towards the end and even showed up at 4:30 am one day!!).  Of course, I came in early and stayed late whenever I could, but it was nice to know it was not totally expected!

Having Easter fall after tax season is a nice bonus.  Big Daddy made the observation today that this will be the first time I’ll be home with him on Good Friday.  I will actually have time to shop for the kids’ Easter goodies myself and this past Saturday, I was able to take the kids to an Easter egg hunt.

Even though I started back to work this year later than usual (Feb. 28th versus the usual Feb. 15th or so),  I just barely got my own tax return done before the deadline.  Normally I have my own and all the kids’ (and their significant others) returns done before I even go back to work.  With homework and bath times, my evenings disappeared just as fast as the 10 pounds I’d lost reappeared on my gut and ass from stopping for fast food breakfasts every morning on my way to work : (

Bonus Baby adjusted great to the extra few hours at preschool/daycare while I worked.  She was always happy to see me when I came to pick her up, but never in a huge hurry to get out of there as we always had to stop by the infant room and see the babies before she would leave.  Her teachers got to  know her a little better and appreciate her funny and huge personality as much as we do.  We were informed that even though she’s the smallest one in her class, all the other kids pretty much follow along with whatever she wants.  She’s a little charmer, that one.

Bonus Child seemed to have a little rougher time.  She only had to stay an extra hour or so at the school for their after-school care twice a week but she claimed she hated it!  She missed having me around all the time and couldn’t wait for me to quit working.  I actually didn’t spend a whole lot less time with her except for the Saturday mornings when I worked, but she must have sensed how rushed I was and in fact, I didn’t push her as hard to study her spelling words when she balked and her grades suffered a bit.  I’m still amazed and in awe of full-time two-income families (or single working parents) with young children.  There are some successful ones, and I have no idea how they do it.  Thank God I have 10 months to recuperate!!

10 Responses to “I Survived Another Tax Season!”


  1. 1 Cyndi April 19, 2011 at 7:38 am

    Glad you survived and are back Les! I don’t know how we working mother’s do it either, and especially single moms. My kids are a bit older now but it’s still a juggling act + guilt just about every day. Enjoy your 10 months off!

  2. 3 Consuella Banana Hammock April 19, 2011 at 9:19 am

    i’m glad it was an easier season too. that was nice gift with the bonus children addition to the mix. we look forward to a sassy, political rant any day now…

    • 4 les@mamaneeds2rant April 20, 2011 at 1:16 am

      Really, Consuella? You guys don’t just tolerate my rants? I’m sure I have a few in me somewhere–but I was trying for a kinder gentler approach. Well, at least until I get caught up with the news again…

  3. 5 robinaltman April 19, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    Yay! You did it once again! I have this weird thing that if I know my schedule is really packed, I get totally stressed the night before. Once I’m there, I’m fine. I have no clue why I get like that. I’m extrapolating, that if I knew there were certain months that would be busy and crazy, I would become a nervous wreck. You’re lucky you’re not me.

    I love bonus children stories…

    • 6 les@mamaneeds2rant April 20, 2011 at 1:21 am

      I get the stress thing too. I call it the Sunday night blues when I’m back in the working world–the week ahead looks so packed with stuff to do!! And the stress is worse than reality–because I actually like my job!! I just like being a lazy couch potato better 😀

  4. 7 Dawn April 19, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    She wants to stop by the infant room and look at the babies … Oooooooh she’s my kind of girl!

    I’m not entirely sold on the idea that older kids need our time any less than the younger ones do. I am sold on the idea that if kids know when they are going to see you and what is coming up to look forward too — they can pretty deal with a parent and their hectic schedule.

    And thank goodness the tax season is over now and the days are longer too!

    Good golly it’s good to see you and hear about your family 🙂

  5. 9 Tammy April 26, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    I WANT 10 MONTHS OFF!!!! ;o)!

    Are you for hire because I have a pit in the bottom of my stomach that this could be the year I get audited. UGG!

    Sounds like the girls are doing well! Congrats to your family!

    • 10 les@mamaneeds2rant April 26, 2011 at 10:48 pm

      Yup, Tammy, not a bad deal–but I EARN those 10 months!! :p

      I SO hope your gut feeling is wrong because even if you’re 100% right, try proving that to some of those peeps at the IRS. UGH! Those stupid letters they send out are terrifying and hardly ever make sense. Unless you’re a cheating scumbag politician (say, like Charlie Rangel), they’ll take your last drop of blood.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,331 hits


