They Should Apologize for Last Season

Big Daddy and I are creatures of habit.  We like watching the same old shows, season after season, especially the better reality shows that only changeout the contestants for the most part.  We know they’re contrived to some extent, but I like to watch the different personalities interract.  It’s amazing and inspiring  to see the dramatic transformations of the contestants on Biggest Loser, hilarious watching giant egos clash on Celebrity Apprentice, and fun to pick out couples to hate on The Amazing Race.  I get really irritated when host Jeff Probst often and obviously tries to manipulate the votes of the contestants with his lame comments on Survivor.  But as much as we like hunkering down to watch these shows, I just about wrote off ever watching American Idol after last season.  Even Simon’s acid tongue could not add enough spice to the dull group of contestants last season.  It was a talentless snoozefest.

Since there didn’t seem to be anything else on TV that conflicted with Idol this season, I decided to tune in just to see the auditions when sometimes hopelessly delusional wannabes perform comical renditions of songs hoping for a miracle.  And although I was never a fan of Jennifer Lopez, the other new judge, Steven Tyler, intrigues me.  He’s a funny, talented bad boy that brings me back to my college days when I first discovered Aerosmith and the raw sexuality of “Toys in the Attic” (on 8-track, no less!).  It was rock ‘n roll at it’s finest!!

Photo courtesy of whyfame.com

I may be hooked on Idol again, thanks to Mr. Tyler.  I don’t even mind JLo.  She hasn’t exhibited the diva behavior she is known for on camera, and her skin glows.  It makes me feel not so old knowing she’s over 40 and looking so good.  Veteran judge Randy Jackson has taken his role a little more seriously, and is actually making a few relevant comments, trying to become Simon lite.

They started the show last night with an “apology” scrolling across the screen in large letters for Mr. Tyler’s antics of the previous week.  He was classic Tyler last week, being outrageous rocker dude and uttering a few comments that were bleeped out.  He even offered up a poem about a duck–that rhymed.  It was hilarious.

I’m pretty sure the “apology” was a joke.  Steven Tyler has rescued Idol for another season.  I may even continue watching when the joke contestants are gone.  Could anyone really be offended by the antics of Steven Tyler?  If so, they should tune in to reruns of The Golden Girls and let the rest of us enjoy ourselves.  American Idol is alive and well without Simon, Paula, or Kara.  They have absolutely nothing to apologize for so far this season.

6 Responses to “They Should Apologize for Last Season”


  1. 1 Cyndi February 4, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    Welcome back to blogging Les! You have been missed. 🙂

    We’re also regular Idol watchers and agree that last season was awful.

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Steven Tyler on there and don’t even miss Simon. I was skeptical at first but he is just awesome. I love me a bad rocker boy (elderly gentleman) too! JLo is good and I’ll always love Randy.

    I assumed that ridiculous apology was a joke too, considering that it was immediately followed by a clip of him dropping an f-bomb and getting bleeped again. They also later showed the clip from last week with the duck poem.

    But I read an article this morning that seemed to indicate it was an actual apology, or at least the person who wrote the article thought it was serious.

    I hope it wasn’t a real apology. He’s the best thing that’s happened to Idol in years!

    • 2 les@mamaneeds2rant February 4, 2011 at 1:07 pm

      Thanks, Cyndi. I figured you’d be watching Idol, too. Even the talent seems to be better than last year so far. Maybe they’re visiting some new cities–and maybe lowering the age to 15 helped get some fresh talent. Either way, I’m glad they resurrected one of my old favorite shows!

  2. 3 tammy February 4, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    I stopped watching Idol many seasons ago. Well, if the truth be told, I tune in for the last 5 or episodes just so I can keep up with pop culture. Maybe I need to give it another shot although JLo….I just can’t be sure.

  3. 5 Consuella Banana Hammock February 5, 2011 at 9:55 am

    i am with you les! i love idol this year. oh granted last season was the first time i ever watched it and i was like “this is the show everyone is ranting about?” i pretty much was never going to watch it again but decided to tune in and check out the chemistry of the new judges. i was hooked instantly! i love s steven. he is funny, interesting and even seems to get enraptured when a good singer performs. i think jenni from the block is doing a good job too. she is nice and a great balance for the boys. randy has always been my least favorite. he is so “i’m going to be the next simon–mean but honest” that i kinda want to tell him to go get his own personality.

    so i’m in for another season.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,894 hits


