Snakes and Snails vs. Sugar and Spice

There is less difference than I thought dealing with little girls in the house as opposed to the handsome boys I raised.  Here are some of the similarities:

Both genders in their tender years are germ magnets, spreading their diseases to every living thing around them.  Since my little pumpkins came to stay here last month, the adults (and their guests) in this house have all had multiple bouts with pink eye, sore throats and coughs that have lasted for weeks.  I myself celebrated the Fourth of July with laryngitis and bronchitis.  Meanwhile, the kids bounce back to full energy after about a day.

Both little boys and little girls are incredibly cute and say the most priceless things.  Just about every day one of them says or does something that totally cracks us up.  However, they get up way too damn early and are always wanting something to eat.

They do the same thing my dog does.  As soon as they see someone pick up one of their toys, they immediately get the overwhelming need to play with that toy, even though they haven’t looked at it in weeks.

I remember only getting the Sunday paper when my kids were little, and even then, it took all week to read it.  We are once again considering becoming Sunday-only subscribers since half the time nobody has a chance to take the daily paper out of its little pink plastic bag, let alone read it.  I’m so missing keeping up with my blogging friend and stalking my Facebook buds.

We ARE starting to get into a routine here, though.  Next week, Bonus Child will attend Vacation Bible School in the mornings and hopefully meet some kids she’ll go to school with.  Bonus Baby may start attending some preschool classes.  I’m not hacking up lung tissue anymore so we’re doing more fun things.  Bonus Child actually likes to help me cook and volunteers to help me clean the house!  She’s actually quite good at it, too.  I may be blogging and stalking again in no time!  Keep your fingers crossed.

8 Responses to “Snakes and Snails vs. Sugar and Spice”


  1. 1 Chris July 13, 2010 at 7:08 am

    Yay, mama blog is back!

  2. 2 Cyndi July 13, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Good to hear from you and that you are enjoying the girls! 🙂

  3. 3 Dawn July 15, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    Your blog absence is appreciated and so very well understood. I’m in awe with wonder with each bit of breaking news. You rock Les!

    • 4 les July 15, 2010 at 9:15 pm

      Thanks, Dawn. Sometimes it sounds like people are being condescending when they say, “Being a mom is the hardest job in the world.” I forgot how hard it really was until I had the little break between my boys being little and these girls. It IS the hardest job in the world. Without a doubt. But the rewards are HUGE. And I feel so much more competent this time…but every bit as tired!

  4. 5 Consuella Banana Hammock July 17, 2010 at 10:44 am

    it sounds like you are having fun even though it is hard work. i guess you are right, in many ways kids are kids. everything you said about the girls are true of my boys. up early. uuuggghhh. wanting something to eat. uuugggghhhhh. bringing home disease. uuggghhhh. i feel ya sister!

    • 6 les July 20, 2010 at 12:38 am

      Yes, Consuella. I knew you’d understand. It’s deja vu time for me. But I know you enjoy the snuggle times and the giggle times, too, just like I am.

  5. 7 robinaltman July 19, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    It’s so nice to have you back! It sounds like you’re having exhausting fun. I’m so happy for you! Should the blogging urge tickle you, and time open up (which doesn’t seem likely) here are possible topics: (Is this helpful or pushy? I’m thinking pushy, but what the heck?)

    Cute little munchkin stories always appreciated.
    How the boys are adjusting to the munchkins.
    What your husband thinks of estrogen vs. testosterone.
    My favorite – what do girls eat?
    I’m not sure you can talk about this but, what does the foster
    agency have you do? Do you have to go to classes, chat with a social worker every so often, etc? I used to give talks
    to the parents of specialized foster care, and that was fun.
    The parents were such sweeties.

    • 8 les July 20, 2010 at 12:41 am

      Oh, Robin, if only my words could do justice to the little raspy-voiced peanut and her freckle-faced big sister with the shy little smile. I have so many stories…now if only I can find the time…


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 172,283 hits


