Pretty In (A Bit of) Pink

Last night I put the finishing touches in the girls’ room.  We had one of the boys’ twin beds set up in there, but once we found out we were getting two kids, Oldest Son decided it was the perfect time to get himself a full size bed to better accommodate his lanky 6’5″ frame.  That gave us a matching twin bed to create the loft set up the boys used for a while.  Of course, I had to find matching comforters and some pretty matching sheets!  This turned out to be a more difficult quest than I would have thought.  While there were umpteen King and Queen sized comforters out there, even on sale, I couldn’t for the life of me find two matching twin-sized solid color comforters in one of the colors that would go with the rug and curtains already in the room.  I know in a month or so the stores will be teeming with twin size bedding for the back-to-college crowd, but right now the shelves are bare.

Although we’re getting girls this time, I wanted something more neutral for the comforters in case we ever have a boy stay with us.  After schlepping to four different stores, I finally found what I was looking for!  The book shelves are stocked with kid-friendly books, and there’s not a dust bunny in sight!  Here is the finished product (cell phones don’t take the nicest pictures, but they make it so easy to share them!):

I did break down and buy two little pink throws for the bottom of each bed.  We’ll find out how they like their room in about 12 hours from now!

14 Responses to “Pretty In (A Bit of) Pink”


  1. 1 Cindy #2(the former Cindy Alden) June 11, 2010 at 1:41 am

    Can’t wait to hear about your first day with the girls.What are their names?

    • 2 les June 11, 2010 at 8:47 am

      For here, I think they’ll be Bonus Child and Bonus Baby–but you’ll get to meet them in a couple of weeks, Cindy, for our mass mailing extravaganza!!

  2. 3 Cyndi June 11, 2010 at 7:51 am

    12 Hours?? Oh my god, I’m so excited to hear about them. Their room looks great!

  3. 5 Consuella Banana Hammock June 11, 2010 at 8:03 am

    i am so excited. will you post pics of the girls or is that not allowed?you are in my prayers!

  4. 7 robinaltman June 13, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    The room looks terrific! I’m so excited for you! I suppose you have the girls already, because I’m late commenting. Too cool.

    • 8 les June 13, 2010 at 11:11 pm

      Yep! They’re here and the cutest things ever!! Very sweet girls, and I think I found a new way to lose weight. It’s called the “Keep running the two-year-old to the toilet so she doesn’t poop in her big girl pants” workout routine!

  5. 9 Cyndi June 14, 2010 at 7:50 am

    LOL – I remember that routine!! Sadly, it did not work as a weight loss plan for me. I had my boys 2 years apart and I used to be amazed that I was unable to lose weight just following them around, forgetting to eat myself, and running up and down the stairs all the time. Life is so unfair!! 🙂

    • 10 les June 14, 2010 at 8:42 am

      haha! Like childbirth, you forget about some of these things ’til it happens again! But these kids are a riot–the little one is keeping us in stitches!

  6. 11 Dawn June 14, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Oh my golly Les, I think I see stuffed animals coming by post.

    I just know I’m not the only one here who feels the urge to celebrate in such a fashion!

  7. 13 Tammy June 14, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    YEAH!!! Congratulations!!!!! I am so happy for your family. I can’t wait to hear how you do with the girls. I am with you in regard to little girls, I am not sure how I would relate to them but I know you will do great!!!! I can’t wait to hear more.

    • 14 les June 14, 2010 at 9:02 pm

      Haha! Thankfully, the eight-year-old helps me do the baby’s hair! You just can’t even believe how bad I am at it. I’m pretty sure I got the best two kids out there!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,431 hits


