Lost On Lost

Spoiler Alert:  If you didn’t watch the finale of Lost yet, don’t read this!!

I know that anybody who has watched Lost over the past six years has at times been quite lost as to what the hell was going on many times.  I almost quit watching several times because I was having too much trouble following its multiple story lines and parallel universes.  What year was it?  Are they still on the island or did they escape?  Who were the bad/good guys?  It made my brain hurt.

After watching the finale last night, I still don’t totally get it.  I’m hoping some of you readers are Lost fans and can give me your insight into what you believe the ending signified.  I don’t even know if the writers themselves know for sure.

My take on it is they all died in the initial crash and the whole 6 years was their journey to work on their flaws to get to the “light.”  Why wasn’t Ben included?  Was he still not ready to go to Heaven?  Was he even on the plane to begin with?  Were the “Others” other passengers on the plane?  Oh, give me some opinions people.  I’m sure there are no right or wrong answers.  In fact, Middle Son J and I both think the writers never had a set theme for the show–we think they just kind of rolled with it as the years went on. 

I so wanted it all to make crystal clear sense when it was over.  But I doubted that was possible.

10 Responses to “Lost On Lost”


  1. 1 Cyndi May 24, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    I never watched the show but have been reading a lot about the ending today. Most people seem to be confused. My sister says her take is that they did not die in the crash so that everything that happened on the island really did happen. It was some sort of purgatory. That’s all I got. Sorry. 🙂

    • 2 les May 24, 2010 at 12:30 pm

      I guess that could make sense too. They might have initially survived the crash, gotten to know each other, and then started to die off one by one–finally meeting one last time after they all died! Hmmm…

  2. 3 Tammy May 24, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    The only time I ever saw the show was last night as I was scrambling to find the last 3 minutes of the Suns/Lakers game on the news since my DVR cut off the most crucial part of the game. Anyway, my point is the only thing I have ever seen of the show was some guys eye ball. Was that the ending? ahahha

    • 4 les May 24, 2010 at 4:18 pm

      Wow. Two out of two people here haven’t watched Lost. And I thought everybody in America was huddled in front of the TV last night waiting for the big secret to be revealed!

  3. 5 robinaltman May 24, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    I never got into Lost. I consider this a very serious character flaw.

  4. 7 Consuella Banana Hammock May 25, 2010 at 9:23 am

    ok i watched it, every episode. i’ll own that!

    it was hard for me to follow too but mainly because of the jan. start time. by the time jan rolled around i had completely forgotten what happened the season before. i think that was part of the writer’s evil plan!

    i think everyone survived the crash. jack’s dad said that everything they had experienced was real and that they all died at different times. jack died after he got water back in the cave of life or whatever it was. i think the scenes we have been seeing all season of everyone living a normal life was like purgatory. some were doing a lot better, learning and growing etc and others weren’t. desmond helped them to remember their past life, though they had never died, just been wiped clean of their memory. (i think they were mainly playing with the ideas of purgatory and reincarnation). they were going into the church to go on to heaven. ben still had “stuff to work out” so he wasn’t ready to make the journey. definitely the idea that he needed to live longer to become a better person before he went on.

    but who the hell knows? my guess is if we watched it from start to finish we would see a ton of holes. but who is going to do that? i was just hanging on to see how they would end it and to find out who the hell kate was really in love with. they answered that question for me so i was happy.

    • 8 les May 25, 2010 at 9:50 am

      Yes! Finally. A fellow “Lostie.” I agree there are probably tons of holes. And why the weird focus on the distant past, like with Richard and of course Jacob? And how did Desmond get picked to make everyone remember? Was he just another passenger? Were the “Others” the people on the plane that were killed immediately? Charles Widmore–what was that story line supposed to be all about? Damn. Just too many questions!! I hate when everything doesn’t perfectly fit!! But–I guess it kept us watching!

  5. 9 paula May 27, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    (Thought I posted this but I guess it didn’t stick) Found this link to a show blog thought it would be helpful http://screenrant.com/lost-finale-explanation-kofi-61464/
    I don’t watch primetime shows because I’ve been working nights for the last 10 years. (well, until DVR’s) I tend to watch the whole season at one time as it is released on DVD’s. I may quite possibly be the only human that has never watched an episode of American Idol or Dancing with the Stars though I do catch up on the results when it comes up on the news.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,278 hits


