Reunions and Reflections

At some point today, I’m bound to collapse.  After tossing and turning into the wee hours of the morning, I surprised myself by getting out of bed at the earliest rays of sunlight.  After days of rain, the breeze coming in through the open windows seemed fresh and inviting.  I’m not really a morning person, but I’m certainly not averse to its charm.  And for some reason, the less I’ve slept, the easier it is to tear myself away from the soft warm covers.

The reason for my lack of sleep was mostly from the high saturation of caffeine coursing through my bloodstream.  I had met with Cindy #2 last evening, the friend from high school I got reacquainted with last year, to go over her plans for a long-overdue high school class reunion.  The fact that I’m even considering going to something like this, let alone giving my input into the planning of it, is as surprising to me as the laughable comment one of the soccer parents made to my hubby and me several years ago during one of our end-of-year soccer parties.  “I’ll bet you two were prom king and queen back in high school,” this very prominent attorney threw out there.  I nearly choked on the mouthful of chips I was chewing.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  I didn’t meet hubby until my freshman year at college.   I hadn’t even gone to my prom.  I’d had no desire, just like I never had any desire to attend any high school reunion, even if they’d ever held one that attracted more than a handful of people.

There are a few people I’d like to see from high school, but my instincts were right when I knew they wouldn’t be at any of the previous reunions.  I went to a small Catholic high school; our graduating class numbered about 175.  In baby boom years, this was tiny.  Even so, Cindy #2 had seen a photo of the people that had attended the last “reunion.”  There were about 9 or 10 people there, including significant others.

My friend is very excited about this reunion.  She is quite the social butterfly, even more so than I remember.  She has made the executive decision to invite several classes, the two before and the two after our graduating class.  This way, we should be able to attract a turnout big enough to be able to do things right.  It could be fun.  But if it’s not, there will be an open bar.  And a band.  Hubby and I can pretend we’re the prom king and queen.

19 Responses to “Reunions and Reflections”


  1. 1 Cyndi May 14, 2010 at 11:05 am

    Love, love, love the pictures!!

    I’ve never gone to a HS reunion either. My class had about 800 and I still live within 15 miles of my hometown. I’ve connected with some HS folks on FB and that’s about as far as I’ve gotten.

    What’s the deal with turning into a morning person???

    • 2 les May 14, 2010 at 11:22 am

      Sad to say, I couldn’t even find any high school grad pictures–that’s how much I wanted to remember high school! These were college pics. The morning thing is a fluke–one day only special. I’m sure tomorrow morning, I’ll be back to snuggling with my pillow until 9:30 or so.

  2. 3 lynette May 14, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    wow, on a similar reminiscent path today, les. i went to a teeny school — 700 kids Kindergarden through 10th grade — for high school. i have been in touch with many of my former classmates through facebook.

    they have whole school reunions every year, but i have never been because, well, it’s in europe, and expensive to get there… i hope you have a great time, you and your king 🙂

    i used to be a morning person before i turned 40… now i still get up because i have to, but it hurts!

  3. 5 lynette May 14, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    yes! i know! i am looking forward to the day when i don’t have to set a stupid alarm clock (i.e. when my son graduates from high school….).

    meanwhile my daughter (proud of her though i am for it) managed to snag a summer job as a camp counselor and has to be there four days a week at 7 — and is not old enough to drive yet. ugh. this will kill my summer routine….

  4. 6 robinaltman May 14, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    Love the pictures! So cute!!!

    My high school graduating class had 1200 kids. It looked like a giant prison. I went to my high school reunion with a friend a couple years ago and had a great time. I was shocked at how much better the women looked than the men. So much for men aging well. Not.

    • 7 les May 14, 2010 at 6:41 pm

      So many of the guys in our class thought they were “all that” back then. I have to admit, I AM a little curious to see how “all that” went! 😉

  5. 8 Dawn May 14, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    A band, an open bar, and the idea of playing like your the prom king and queen sounds magical Les. It’s really awesome that you and your husband were viewed in that light … says a lot.

    I love the quiet morning hours. It’s a rule that I need a minimum of twenty minutes to myself before anyone can talk too me though.

    • 9 les May 14, 2010 at 11:51 pm

      You’d love it here then, Dawn. You could be up for several hours before you would even have to look at anyone let alone be spoken to most mornings.

  6. 10 Consuella Banana Hammock May 15, 2010 at 9:39 am

    ahh high school. i just watched pretty in pink and remembered all the reasons why high school wasn’t the best time of my life!

    i went to my 10 year reunion and it was like no one had ever graduated. all the popular kids were still acting like asses and getting drunk. those of us who knew there would be life after high school just looked on and were reassured. it was good to see some folks. it was interesting to see what everyone was doing. it was interesting. but not interesting enough to go to my 20th.

    hmmm now i’m feeling all nostalgic.

    • 11 les May 15, 2010 at 10:18 am

      10 years–yeah, I don’t think that’s enough time for most people to grow up. By now, I hope most people in my age group have reached their potential. I’ve run into a few old classmates and found them to be quite different than what I perceived them to be back then. And then again, at least one of them was an even bigger jerk. Uh-oh, hope nobody thinks that about me…

  7. 12 paula May 15, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    This is eerily similar to my story. I graduated from a tiny private HS and didn’t look back for 20 some odd years.No hard feelings or anything I was acutally pretty popular I was just done with it. We have all reconnected because of FB and I now get together with a group of friends almost every month now. I actually DID go to my 25th reunion because I was recruited to help out. LOL…FB…I thought computer communication was suposed to make us less social… Go, have a great time. I actually liked a few people that I never had the chance to get to know in HS. It’s never too late to be the queen of the prom…though now we might have to tuck the tiara into our purse. HA

    • 13 les May 15, 2010 at 6:43 pm

      haha. Computers and cell phones make it sooo much easier to stay in touch. Of course, kids today have no idea what it’s like to write letters to their friends, and they’re not too skilled at talking on the phone–but, who needs a horse and buggy when you’ve got a car!

      Weird coincidence–they just had an article in our local paper about high school reunions and advised the same thing. Many people have gone and actually had a great time even though they really didn’t think they would!

  8. 14 Cindy Alden May 15, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    OK .If it’s a tiara you want,you’ve got it!Just help me stuff & stamp the invitations this summer.LOL!!!!
    I’ll be right behind you at the bar!

  9. 16 Cindy #2(the former Cindy Alden) May 15, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    PS.Thanks for putting together the Facebook page in which you are the only one who can see the responses.Admit you are into this!!!

    • 17 les May 16, 2010 at 10:56 am

      I believe you are now an administrator too dear #2 and can also see that we are the only two who have replied! LOL

  10. 18 Tammy May 17, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    I love the pictures! I hope you post some pictures from the reunion. Might I suggest you dress retro style…oh that would be fun! ahah

    • 19 les May 17, 2010 at 3:46 pm

      Oh, yeah. 70’s fashions would be so much fun!!! But I just know I’d end up the only one in “costume,” like some horrible nightmare!!!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,921 hits


