Fair April

This is the tree that almost made me an orphan on Friday.

The trunk is covering the sidewalk leading up to my mother’s front porch, that she had just been walking on to escape the brewing storm.  In fact, she wasn’t even in the house yet when she watched the tree gracefully and surrealy hit the ground.

The same cold front that caused the vicious storm that took out this tree (and many other trees in the area), was nearly the death of me, too.  Two days earlier, I was basking in the 80 degree sunshine in a tank top and shorts, thanking the good Lord for the beautiful day and the fact that I had survived another tax season.  Saturday, April 17th, I was swathed in layers, watching tiny ice pellets bounce off the blanket covering my legs.

For the        last several weeks, I had been silently envying my husband, who had been enjoying   lovely early spring Saturdays watching Youngest Son compete at local college track meets.  I know it’s not the end of the world if I’m not there, but I like to be there to cheer him on.  I like to enjoy a day out in the sun.  And of course, who wants to be cooped up in an office crunching numbers?

Instead, I’m snuggling up to Big Daddy for warmth, praying I can hold out until Youngest Son’s next event.  My eyes keep wanting to close as my head rests on hubby’s shoulder, but a little voice inside my head keeps whispering…”Don’t fall asleep.  You may never wake up…”

Meanwhile, these runners are strutting around the track half-naked.  Not only that, they had been outside several hours before we had even gotten to the meet.  Youngest Son’s events are toward the end of the meet, and we timed our arrival accordingly.  Clearly, these young athletes are comprised of a new and improved weather-resistant material not yet discovered in the era of my creation.

In the end, the day turned out OK.  I found a perfect spot where I could pull the car up to the fence and watch the 4 by 400 relay race out of the icy wind.  It was facing the finish line so I could see the smile on Youngest Son’s face when he realized he had beaten his own record.  Oldest Son’s girlfriend, Muchacha, had some hot homemade Mexican soup (I think it’s called posole) waiting for us when we got home.  I called mom and found out that not only did the plumber fix the gas leak caused by the tree falling, but the electricity was also restored to her neighborhood.  Things were back to normal on this strange April day.

14 Responses to “Fair April”


  1. 1 Tammy April 18, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    Oh my gosh! That tree is crazy. So glad to hear that your mom is okay. Well come back to world!!!

  2. 3 Paula April 19, 2010 at 12:16 am

    Thank God your mom is OK snd electricity is restored! I hear ya about the weather. Chicago weather has been crazy too. I can’t pack anything away and I have the summer wardrobe pilling up too. Kudo’s to youngest son for beating his own record and to oldest sons gf for having the maturity and forsight to have something cooked and waiting for you. Sounds like the story has a happy ending all the way around…well, except for winter never going away!

    • 4 les April 19, 2010 at 12:20 am

      Yes, Paula, everything’s pretty great. But the weather is quite unpredictable. Wonder if Al has anymore to say about that global warming stuff?

  3. 5 robinaltman April 19, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    Yikes! That is really scary! I went for a run in the park with a friend, and she said, “Damn! Look at that!” I was busy dodging branches on the path and said, “Yeah. It’s pretty messy around here.” I soon realized what she had actually been talking about. A giant tree was uprooted, and fell over the path. I ran right into it. Duh.

    • 6 les April 19, 2010 at 6:00 pm

      I guess it wouldn’t be a good idea to let you take the lead, huh Robin? In your defense, though, it’s hard dodging things while you’re running. One day I went for a run and had to keep jumping over dead road kill. I was so busy avoiding splattered guts that I was lucky I didn’t join them.

  4. 7 Consuella Banana Hammock April 19, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    you look really, really cold. way to support the kiddos even when there is a risk of frost bite!

    i’m glad you survived another tax season too. get some rest and then start posting again!

  5. 9 Cyndi April 19, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    Ummm….Pozole is the Best. Food. Ever. It cures all, from colds to hangovers and tastes SO good!

    That tree falling so close to your mom is freaking me out!

    I can’t say that I miss the spring sports where you never know if you’ll be freezing or basking in the sun.

    • 10 les April 19, 2010 at 11:01 pm

      The pozole was amazing, Cyndi. It warmed us right up AND helped Muchacha’s and Oldest Son’s hangovers! A food for all reasons!

      The tree–too close for comfort. Which is why I always say, a day where absolutely NOTHING new or interesting happens is probably a good day.

  6. 11 Dawn April 19, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    Your mom who is going through a shocker of a close call (I can only guess) – she is going to be missing this tree. Interesting how close Mother’s Day is Les … eh?

    • 12 les April 20, 2010 at 12:16 am

      She was so calm when she called me to tell me about it, I thought she was just talking about a few branches that fell. Maybe she was in shock. What’s weird is she hated the mess that tree always made–pine cones, sticky branches–she was thinking about getting rid of it. And now it’s gone.

  7. 13 lynette April 21, 2010 at 10:12 am

    wow, les, so glad that your mother is okay!

    my son fences for a sport — very civilized, inside, bakery downstairs, wifi… i am grateful every time i hear about other parents hanging out in the ick to watch their kids.

    but good for you — and spring IS just about here 🙂


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 172,283 hits


