Skinny Bitch

Irony and coincidence are plentiful in my life.  I had just made a comment on my friend Consuella’s post about her decision to cut meat out of her diet for a while, when my son’s girlfriend (I’ll call her Muchacha in honor of her Mexican heritage), came back from her apartment with the book “Skinny Bitch” that she recently finished reading.  Muchacha is also determined to live a nearly meat-free lifestyle, and not just on a temporary basis.  Although she would like to see some weight loss and health benefits from cutting out meat, Muchacha’s main motive is her love of animals.  The book talks about some of the heartless treatment of the animals we use for our food, and she can not bear to be a part of this abuse.

I, too, would be more motivated to not eat meat more on principle than for health reasons.  I struggle sometimes with the thought that we are actually killing living beings to satisfy our cravings.  And then I go right ahead and dig into that gorgeous hunk of juicy steak.

You see, no one has yet been able to give me the definitive proof that we are nothing more than animals ourselves, as entitled as the next beast to use our wits and hunt for our food.  We’re all fair game, right?  Then there is the other extreme, which to me is yet another excuse to not feel guilt while savoring a morsel of prime rib.  Many religions teach that animals were put here for our own personal use and pleasure, and cite the Bible passage where man was given “dominion  over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over the livestock and over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.”  It all sounds a bit egocentric to me.

Those crazy chicks that wrote “Skinny Bitch” would not only have you give up meat, but also fish, eggs, dairy products, and just about any alcohol besides organic red wine without any sulfites.  Of course, I totally agree with their recommendation to cut back on processed foods, white flour and sugar.  I try not too eat much of those things, but there’s no way a piece of candy will never go in my mouth!  Even worse, they go on and on about the evils of that heavenly morning staple–the steaming hot cup of coffee.  I can’t even fathom life in the morning without a cup of coffee.  The few times I’ve tried to function at work without at least a cup of tea, I was lifeless and dull.  I’m at my productive best with a cup of java by my side.  No lie.

There are people that live to be a hundred years old.  Many, if not most, are carnivores.  Many drank liquor; some even smoked.  I don’t know how many more years of life they would have eked out had they completely given up these indulgences.  I believe moderation is the key.

At one time, I was a skinny bitch.  I ate large helpings of red meat and potatoes.  I drank whole milk by the half gallons, and I frequented the corner candy store.  Now I’m just an average bitch, eating more veggies, fish and chicken but still enjoying a T-bone with some gummy bears for dessert.  I feel fairly happy and healthy, even if I have a few unsightly lumps and bumps.  That’s what body shapers are for, am I right?  Take away my taco meat, my corned beef and cabbage, or my morning cups of coffee, I’ll be nothing but a mean bitch.  And those few extra years I might possibly gain from this deprivation will not be worth it.  For anyone.

12 Responses to “Skinny Bitch”


  1. 1 robinaltman March 7, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    I’m with you, Sister. That is what body shapers are for! I can’t believe I bought that book. Those chicks are nutso. They essentially rule out all food. Yes. Not eating is sure to make a person skinny.

    Yet, like you and your son’s girlfriend, I feel sort of bad about killing animals. I’ve gone for short periods of time when I give up meat, but hamburgers always sneak up and draw me back.

    • 2 les March 7, 2010 at 10:01 pm

      Did you notice the part where they said “If you see us eating junk food or doing beer bongs, don’t hold it against us.”? Because I’m way sure they don’t follow this deprivation diet. I’ll bet they don’t do any of it–they’re just waiting to see how many people are crazy enough to eat a little fruit, a salad, and a piece of tofu every day. So they can laugh while they chow down their bacon double cheeseburgers and fries.

  2. 3 Cyndi March 8, 2010 at 9:48 am

    This book is so controversial. I borrowed it from my sister, who had borrowed it from someone else, and she had to return it before I got around to reading it. I have heard that it promotes an overzealous-PETA-like agenda for animal rights.

    • 4 les March 8, 2010 at 10:11 am

      It does. And I do so sympathize with the animals. But we have to eat. There’s no way a regular human could function on that diet–and I think they exaggerate a little on how harmful normal food is–although I do agree with some of the points they make.

    • 5 Steph May 12, 2010 at 10:11 am

      I was not thrilled with the PETA like mentality….don’t get me wrong, I watch those videos and my heart cries for them. But PETA as an organization is too extreme for their own good and undermind themselves with their in-your-face and shocking-just-to-be-shocking advertising campaigns.

      I didn’t ever feel though, that the moral of their book was to NOT EAT. The point was to eat *food*. Avoid man made chemicals like Aspartame, high fructose corn syrup, and refined bleached sugar/flour. Avoid steriod pumped animals & milk. I thought as authors they had a great sense of humor and didn’t portray themselves as Gods of Eating Perfectly. I could picture having lunch with these ladies.

      Personally, after I cut out red meat my tummy felt much better! Now when I do eat red meat (rarely) I get bloated and gassy. I’m thinking I might actually be allergic or something.

      Have you heard of or read Eat Right For Your Type? It’s about a theory the author had (makes sense to me) that since different blood types can be intolerant of each other, maybe different blood types can be intolerant of certain foods. It had some good stuff in it, however….it said my blood type (A+) should avoid things like: artichokes, capers, pickles, vinegar, etc. Well, that will NEVER happen! LOL

    • 6 les May 12, 2010 at 10:48 am

      I agree the authors were pretty humorous. And we DO as a nation eat a lot of “crap.” I never trusted those “fake” sweeteners–I’ll risk a few calories eating natural sugar, although I’m lucky I don’t crave sweets…much. My husband found out recently he is allergic to fructose–it is really hard to limit your intake of fructose when just about everything is loaded with high fructose corn syrup. Ugh!

      I might check out the Eat Right For Your Type. According to a weight control test I took on Jillian Michaels web site, my body craves a higher percentage of protein and to maximize weight loss, I should make sure I have protein in all my meals/snacks. It’s just a shame most proteins had to originally be cute critters with faces. 😦

  3. 7 Tammy March 8, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    I can’t jump on board the vegetarian or vegan lifestyle but I do think there are more humane ways of the raising animals we eat.

  4. 9 Consuella Banana Hammock March 9, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    as a christian, i struggle some with this. i notice in genesis it seems that the diet God originally intended was one of fruits and veggies. they were given that to eat. we don’t see the first animal killed until after the fall when God covered their nakedness. what does that mean? does it mean that spiritually i should be a vegetarian? i don’t know. what i do believe is that we are different from the animals. we were made in God’s image, able to relate and build relationships, having the gift of reason and intelligence and most of all, having a created “soul” in that we search for spiritual truth and meaning in life. but he also told us to take care of the animals and i think that means taking good care of them while they are alive, respecting that they too were created by him. that is much of why i have decided to go organic, not just because of health reasons but because i think it is a way to be a good steward of God’s creation.

  5. 10 paula March 10, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    My sister and I were just discussing the whole eating animals issue. She works for the Chicago Zoological Society. She was telling me about a book called “The Souls of Animals” by Gary Kowalski. It talks about how animals mourn for their dead. How they communicate etc. She said it actually changed her life. It’s a short book and I’m getting it from the library today. I know that burgers taste good. I just bloged about a fast food restaurnt for goodness sakes but…I’m having to rethink things.

  6. 11 Dawn March 10, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    I second what Conseulla says about caring for the well being of the animals. Treatment of the animals that we eat reminds me of the expression: “You are what you eat.”

    Respecting the life of animals, “loving all living things,” translates to consuming what the quality of life that it enjoyed – or did not.

    And all of this talk about skinny is feeding our daughters such a line of crap.

    • 12 Steph May 12, 2010 at 10:14 am

      Oh, Dawn…I totally agree about the “skinny” and our daughters thing…..but the authors even admit in the book that it’s not about becoming skinny, it’s about eating real food. They go on to say that they named it “Skinny Bitch” to sound interesting and flashy so they could sell more books. LOL


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,393 hits


