Inquiring Minds and the Olympics

It’s been a fun couple of weeks watching the Olympics.  While I haven’t been obsessed with it, and it hasn’t even caused us to miss any of our usual favorite shows that were on the other networks, it was nice to be able to check in when there was nothing else on TV.  While watching some of the feats are awe-inspiring, like watching the stunts of Shaun White on his snowboard, I am always most interested in the personal stories of the athletes.  I always want to know more about what I’m watching, rather than just enjoying the show before me.

Some of the issues that caused me to get off my lounge chair and Google:

What exactly are the rules of curling?: We ended up watching quite a bit of the curling competitions.  They never actually tell you the rules, although we watched it long enough to get the gist of it.  It’s a game most of us Americans probably never see anywhere other than the Winter Olympics.  But it’s kind of fun to watch.

NBC and Canada: Hubby and I both started thinking that NBC/GE has some hidden agenda with Canada.  We understand that the Olympics were held in Canada this year.  We love Canada and the Canadians.  They are just like Americans, only heartier, because they’re further north and have to deal with more cold and snow.  But NBC went way above and beyond highlighting this neighbor to the north.  They interjected several very long exposes reminding us of how helpful the Canadians were during our 9/11 crisis, and other non-Olympic stories.  Most of us know this.  We love them for it.  But they kissed ass just a little too much.  Is NBC/GE courting Canada into accepting their one-world global-warming viewpoint?  Because GE has a hell of a lot riding on green energy lifestyles.

Apolo Ohno’s mother: When I googled this, I found out that it was one of the most popular googled subjects.  Apolo, the speed skater, and his father were frequently featured.  While it was mentioned how his father raised him alone, and the difficulties he had doing this at times, there was never any mention of a mother, either dead or alive.  There was only Ohno’s dad in the stands, cheering on his son.  I wanted to know more, because if my sons were at the Olympics, I would want to be right there.  I assumed that perhaps she was dead, but was surprised that was never mentioned.    It turns out she left her husband and one-year-old baby and never looked back.  I can’t even imagine doing this.  Apolo had stated at one time that he’s only seen his mother in photos, and has no interest in getting to know her.  I can thoroughly understand this.  It really irritates me when I hear of some deadbeat parent wanting to reconcile with a child after they’ve made it big, looking for a handout.  If you can’t be there for the tough times, by damn, don’t expect to horn in on the good times.

15 Responses to “Inquiring Minds and the Olympics”


  1. 1 Cyndi February 28, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    We’ve watched bits and pieces of the games..mostly skiing and figure skating. I so don’t understand Curling and I really don’t understand abandoning your kids.

  2. 2 robinaltman February 28, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    That’s so sad! It makes me feel a lot more sympathetic towards Apolo. I found him to be a bit of a whiny bitch about the Koreans. I’m a bit critical at times, huh?

  3. 4 Maxine March 1, 2010 at 2:49 am

    Just don’t let the sad story influence our judgement to Ohno’s achievements. I heard he was pushing fellow competitors in the speed race.

    • 5 les March 1, 2010 at 9:32 am

      Thanks for stopping by, Maxine. I saw pushing all around–they are jammed in there together pretty tight. Nothing was as blatant, though, as when the Koreans were in first, second, and third place and one of them knocked out the other (and himself) to try to get into first. Instead of the Koreans taking the top three spots, they allowed two other skaters from other countries to take 2nd and 3rd. Pretty selfish and unnecessary in my opinion.

  4. 6 lynette March 1, 2010 at 6:25 am

    i loved watching the Olympics. curling is a big laugh around here — my daughter and her friends have been questioning it for weeks.

    you know what bothered me? apolo’s family trials is his personal business, and i could never in a million years leave my kids… but if P&G runs one more commercial thanking ONLY moms and never dads, i will scream. my son had a friend over all weekend, whose mother passed away when he was four. an Olympic athlete was raised by his dad… i am all for celebrating moms, but there are a lot of dads to celebrate in these times, and i saw a lot of them there in the stands, cheering their kids on…

    uh oh, i feel a ranty letter to P&G coming on… i suppose that is not a bad use of my irritations…

    • 7 les March 1, 2010 at 9:34 am

      Yes, that’s true, lynette. There are a lot of supportive dads out there. But a mom cheering her kid on pulls at the heartstrings. Kinda made me weepy a little.

  5. 8 Consuella Banana Hammock March 1, 2010 at 10:11 am

    i love what i heard someone call curling. they called it mad mopping. that so cracked me up because that is exactly what it looks like!

    i loved the short track stuff. i was fascinated by it. i wanted to knock the koreans down myself. they seemed pushy to me. but oh well. and the skiing, always the skiing. i’m glad it is over though, i have missed biggest loser.

    and P&G. let’s face it. those products are bought by women. that is why they thanked mom. its all about the bucks.

  6. 9 Tammy March 2, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    I did not watch any of the Winter Olympics. The only things that caught my attention…

    Curling = women yelling HHHAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRDDDD (can someone explain?)

    Women’s Hockey = LOVE LOVE that the Canadian women busted open some beers and stogies on the ice…ahahahaha I am not going to lie, it would have been fun to be at that party!

  7. 11 Paula March 3, 2010 at 12:09 am

    LOL about the curling. I went to look it up and found this web site http://www.shop.stevescurling.com/ It’s Americas #1 Curling Supplier..most likely the only one. I too enjoy the bios of the athletes almost more than the sport itself. I’m tired and glad the Olympics are over.

    • 12 les March 3, 2010 at 5:47 pm

      The MAIN thing I miss about it is now there are more likely to be 3 shows on I want to watch, and I can only watch 1 and DVR another. Last night was Biggest Loser, Idol, and Lost. Plus the Penguins game. Oh, the conflicts in my life…

  8. 13 Chris March 4, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    Koreans are always fast and pushy. Just try playing Starcraft with ’em. KEKEKE zerg rush all day long. I still have nightmares.

  9. 15 Dawn March 7, 2010 at 2:27 am

    My relating to the Olympics as televised is lacking. I confess, I heard about highlights in line at the grocery store. However, I do know the economist Nigel Phipps who, in 2005, hired me to create collateral materials for his presentation that earned him a contract for the Olympics 2010.

    How many hot dogs were consumed by the spectators I wonder?


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,278 hits


