In The Birth Canal

Okay.  I’m being dramatic.  It’s not like giving birth.  It’s only been about the length of one trimester, and it’s definitely less painful.  But this is the home stretch.  Tonight the case worker and the guy that originally interviewed us will be doing the final walk-through to make sure we’re ready to receive our foster child.  If everything is up to their code, they said we could have a child within an hour!  Or it could take a week, or even a month.  It will all depend on if a child is available that would be a good fit for us, and we for them.  My sis is even excited — she called this morning to wish me luck and made me promise to tell her anything that happens!

The bedroom is all set up.  We checked the batteries in all the smoke detectors to make sure they’re in working order.  Even though we’re not planning on taking an infant, we installed child safety locks on some of our cupboard doors, and have those little electrical outlet protectors available.  (This was a requirement).    I’ve even swept up the dust bunnies.  We feel like we’re ready!

Throughout this process, I’ve had a few people ask me if I was nervous.  I honestly have told them no.  I’ve raised three great kids, been around their friends, and feel more confident than ever that I know how to handle the normal issues that come with dealing with children.  I understand that there may be different issues with a child that has gone through the trauma of being separated from his/her family, in addition to the traumas that caused the separation.  We know we can’t erase these things, but I know we can provide a safe place to stay and hopefully provide some fun times.

Wish us luck!  I hope I’ll be passing out some virtual cigars soon!

13 Responses to “In The Birth Canal”


  1. 1 Cyndi February 3, 2010 at 10:49 am

    This is so exciting! I can’t wait to live vicariously through you once you get that little one home. This is such an amazing thing you are doing. Congrats, in advance!!

    • 2 les February 3, 2010 at 11:03 am

      Thanks, Cyndi. I’ll definitely be sharing–that is, if I have any time to write now that work is looming on the horizon AND a new kiddo possibly on the way. Seriously, though, I’m doing this as much for me as for anything. I was becoming a slug, and I needed some structure in my life. I honestly feel that I was just gently being led to take this path.

  2. 3 Evenshine February 3, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    WOW. This is great! Best of luck with the final steps…and I’m really looking forward to hearing about your adventures in re-mommyhood!

  3. 5 Paula February 3, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    Congratulations on your potential new addition! It’s a wonderful thing that you’ve chosen to do!. I would probably try to adopt any child that came through my door. Are you planning on taking in any special needs kids? Isn’t that a goofy term?…Every child has special needs!!! After placement, I don’t think I’d be strong enough to let the state do their own job. I would probably be too judgemental when it came to placing the child back with the family etc….Good Luck and I look forward to all the parenting stories.

    • 6 les February 3, 2010 at 1:11 pm

      I don’t think I’m ready for any extreme special needs, Paula. I’d rather ease into this–plus, the next two months I’ll be balancing full-time work with child-rearing so I don’t think I could take on too much and it wouldn’t be fair to a child that needs extra attention. When I first looked into this, they surprised me by asking if we’d be open to adoption if the opportunity arose. I had never even considered this possibility. I can’t imagine saying no, though, once a child has become a member of the family and has bonded with us. I am content just to provide a safe place while needed; hubby, however, will find it harder to let go, I’m thinking. He even becomes way too attached our old cars, etc.

    • 7 les February 3, 2010 at 1:11 pm

      BTW, Paula, it’s good to see you back! 🙂

  4. 8 robinaltman February 3, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    Wow! Best of luck, Les! You rock big time! I’d even let you slide on the electrical outdoor outlet protectors if I was the protective services inspector.

    That last part cracks me up. In Reading, I’ve met a zillion foster parents, and sometimes I wonder if they’re screening for psychotic people. In a way, I’m heartened that the process you describe is so rigorous, but on the other hand I feel like they should kiss your feet and give you a free pedicure. Sheesh. I’d like to see them find a better foster family than you guys. Hell, I’m considering begging you to take my kids in!

  5. 9 Chris February 3, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Well, if you get too busy I can always ghostwrite for a few posts–lord knows I’m not busy with my own blog. =/

  6. 10 Dawn February 3, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Love your sons comment, the evidence of your parenting skills weighs heavily in your favor.

    Love the happy news. I’m smoking in your honor Les.

  7. 11 Consuella Banana Hammock February 4, 2010 at 9:30 am

    this is so exciting! so i guess this means your fingerprints finally were accepted. what a road. i can’t wait to meet him or her. i can’t wait to hear about all the adventures. yea!

  8. 12 lynette February 4, 2010 at 10:35 am

    i hope that everything goes really, really well. i will be waiting anxiously to hear all about it.

    that will be one lucky child 🙂

  9. 13 Tammy February 4, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    YEAH!!! Oh, I can’t wait to hear your stories as they unfold. Congratulations!!!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,879 hits


