A New Decade

The last decade has pretty much been a bust for most Americans, maybe even for most of the world’s citizens.  But I think we may have learned a little something–we can survive without all of our material excesses as long as we have the things that money can’t buy–loyal friends, a loving family, and good health.

I’ve been slowly getting to the point where I can more fully appreciate the relationships in my life.  I wasn’t so much caught up in the material aspects of life–it was more of a mindset caused by immaturity.  When I was younger, I was more focused on myself–as most young people tend to be.  When the kids were little, I was too busy and stressed out to focus on people in my life beyond my immediate family.

Some things I’ve learned from my blogging friends.  When I read about how much fun Tammy and her family have on the holidays, I started to think of ways where we could have more fun.  This Christmas, I told my mom that we should think of some kind of board game to play for our Christmas family get-together.  This is what our family holidays are usually like:

Me:  Bringing some crossword puzzles and sitting in a corner to survive the inane chatter.  Oldest Son:  hiding out in some spare room with a handheld video game or reading material no one else in the house could comprehend.  Most of the men:  glued to some game on TV,  just waiting for the word that it’s time to leave.  Oldest niece:  Pouting somewhere and giving her mother a hard time.  Mom:  Being too hyper to eat with us and asking over and over (even as we’re stuffing our faces) if we’re ready for more food.

This Christmas, we actually all had fun together.  My sister and her beau brought a game down and we all had fun playing together.  I don’t remember what it was called, but it consists of taking turns being the reader, and the reader gives a phrase that everyone has to complete.  Everyone else writes their answer on paper, gives it back to the reader, then going around in a circle, each player tries to decide who gave which answer.  It sounded stupid at first, but we all ended up having a blast and getting some good belly laughs.

Facebook has also helped me reconnect with people in my life.  I knew my friend Cindy #2 was a nice person and fun to be around, but until we reconnected, I didn’t realize how funny she actually was!  I’m looking forward to spending more time with her and hopefully some other old high school buddies in the coming year.

The holidays slowed me down a little, but I’m very close to finalizing all the requirements needed to be approved as a foster parent.  This is another relationship I am looking forward to.  I love being a mom, even when I’m bitching about it, and I feel even more qualified than ever.  I’m more patient and more knowledgeable than I was when my own kids were little, and they didn’t turn out half bad.

So, I have no resolutions for 2010.  I don’t usually keep them for long anyways.  But I do plan on enjoying and appreciating the people in my life.  This is a plan I can live with.

11 Responses to “A New Decade”


  1. 1 Cyndi December 31, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    Ooh..that game sounds fun…and potentially inappropriate. I must play. 😉

    Hope you become a new mom again in 2010.

    Happy New Year!

  2. 3 Tammy December 31, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    Awww, I am touched that I touched you. This year has reinforced so much how special my family is to me! I happy to have had to opportunity to share that with you and learn from you throughout the year!

    I want to know what game you played…SOUNDS FUN!

    Cheers!

    • 4 les@mamaneeds2rant December 31, 2009 at 5:48 pm

      I’ll have to ask my sister the name of the game, Tammy. It was really hard to keep track of everything because there were about 15 of us playing, but it made it even more fun. And I forgot to mention, ahem, that being the perceptive mama I am, and the usual winner of all games (taking a humble bow), I won!

  3. 5 lynette January 1, 2010 at 11:13 am

    happy new year, les! i hope 2010 brings you and your family joy and new love, and continued comfort and warmth 🙂

    i have a feeling you will be a foster-mom that is one in a gazillion 🙂

  4. 7 Consuella Banana Hammock January 1, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    it is good to be reminded of the important things isnt’ it? if only we could keep it at the forefront all the time and not just when times are hard!

    i can’t wait to hear about this year’s journey for you…becoming a foster parent. how exciting. you are taking momhood to another whole level! oh the stories we will hear….

    hny!

  5. 8 robinaltman January 1, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Happy New Year! Your Christmas sounds fun! We had a typical Jewish Christmas around here – Chinese food and a movie. Actually, we had Chinese food in Boston, where I dragged Alex to see my parents.

    Add to New Year’s resolutions, “meet Robin for bike ride”. Kay?

    You will make an awesome foster parent. Truly, you will.

    • 9 les@mamaneeds2rant January 1, 2010 at 9:33 pm

      Robin, it’s not IF, it’s WHEN as far as that bike ride goes. We didn’t have enough time to plan last year. We have a whole year now! Big Daddy even had mapped out some bike trails in that area. You know he’s coming along, too. I have no idea how to change a spoke or tire if some bike-type calamity happens.

      We ordered Chinese take-out on Christmas Eve. Does that make me almost Jewish?

  6. 10 Dawn January 3, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    I was thinking of “the decade” too Les … oh my, how quickly another one went.

    My winter break has been filled to the brim with games … Monopoly, Scrabble and Uno are our mainstays. I love Pictionary but, as it is, I reign the queen and no one likes that it seems.

    I believe your wishes will coincide with a lucky little one this year. Who could be more prepared than you to embrace a life who needs a home?!

    Here’s wishing you and yours the best of life and love in 2010.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,861 hits


