Bob Dylan Revisited

I know.  I used this quote before…”When you got nothing, you got nothing to lose.”  It’s so true, so I’ll say it again.

That’s why I’m so worried about this country.  We’ve got so much that people don’t even realize how good they have it.  They’re looking for hope and change when a good portion of the world would give anything to have what our most destitute citizens have.  There are a few things that could be tweaked, but for the most part, if change is coming, it’s not going to be for the better.

I feel this way in my own life.  I would be perfectly content for nothing to ever change.  I dread change.  I’m very blessed, and change will probably only bring heartache.

We’re not looking for new jobs, so if a job change comes, it’s not going to be a good one.  We love our home.  If that situation changes, that means something devastating has probably happened.  It’s scary to think that a change in our family life would most likely be due to something bad happening, although I guess the kids could find good partners and have kids someday.  That could be a good change.

Friday night, I had just finished making some chicken burritos and went into the family room to tell Big Daddy it was time to eat.  Oldest Son was in Pittsburgh for the weekend.  Middle Son J was on his way home from school, having stopped at the gym first to work out.  Youngest Son was going to bless us with his presence for the evening so he could get his hair cut.  So when I heard Big Daddy on the phone say something about a wreck in an oddly calm voice, I wondered what kind of change was going to interrupt our cozy little life.

I didn’t get the details before Big Daddy left.  I didn’t want to know.  All I knew was Middle Son J had been in an accident, was able to talk on the phone, and Big Daddy was on the way to help him out.  I was hoping maybe it was just a fender bender, and he just wanted his dad there to help him sort out the insurance details.  In my mind, I pictured them both driving home not much worse for the wear.

The reality was a little different.  J’s beautiful new truck, just purchased in late August or early September with his money earned from his deployment to Germany, is a glistening green pile of scrap metal.  According to J, he pulled onto the road seeing a car so far off in the distance that he was sure he had plenty of time.  As it turned out, the girl driving the car was going so fast, that her little Honda managed to tip his big truck over onto the car in the next lane.  She narrowly escaped going completely under his truck.  J was stunned but able to get out of his truck only because it was leaning up against the third car.  Despite the fact that Mr. Invincible never bothers to wear a seat belt, there were no serious injuries to anyone, although after a few days of pain in his ribs, we’re pretty sure J cracked one.

RIP

This weekend was supposed to be a happy one.  I had managed to get most of my Christmas shopping done, and so the pressure of the holidays was starting to give way to a more festive feeling.  My birthday was on Sunday and I was looking forward to being the pampered queen for the day.  But when I saw my J, and heard the details of the crash, I could only give him a big hug and be grateful that he was still here to celebrate the holidays with us.  If he hadn’t been in a big truck, the outcome would have been very different.  And then I went into a deep funk.

It wasn’t my truck.  It wasn’t even that important in the scheme of things.  But I knew how much J loved that truck.  I knew how hard he worked and saved to buy that truck.  He and his dad had scoured the entire area and amazed us all when they actually found a truck that passed J’s very stringent requirements.  It wasn’t black, but he could live with the green color.  The windows were tinted black.  It was in mint condition.  He had found the perfect stickers to put on the windows.  I just felt sick for him.  I didn’t want to think about it.

Time does heal wounds, especially superficial ones like the loss of material goods.  After a mopey Saturday, I was able to enjoy the pampering I got for my birthday.  J was even starting to feel better, especially when his girlfriend mentioned some of the things that used to irritate him about his truck.  I guess they’ll start the hunt for a new one over Christmas break.  After all the wrecks we’ve seen and had around here, I guess one change I would approve is better mass transit.  I worry every time my kids get behind the wheel of a car.

My wishes for the New Year are simple.  I don’t want to win the lottery.  I don’t need fame or approval.  I just want things to stay pretty much the same.  I don’t want to lose the blessings that I have.

14 Responses to “Bob Dylan Revisited”


  1. 1 Tammy December 15, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    I am so happy to hear that you son is ok. I was beginning to worry as I was reading your post.

    Happy belated birthday!

  2. 3 Cyndi December 15, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    I’m with Tammy, I had to read as quickly as possible to make sure he was ok! That’s amazing. And as another mom, I will lecture him via your blog….what the hell are you thinking not wearing a seatbelt??!! So happy he’s fine. Whew.

    • 4 les@mamaneeds2rant December 15, 2009 at 8:43 pm

      Sorry, ladies. I definitely wasn’t trying to add suspense. My head may still have been a little scrambled by yet another wreck, and I just had to tell the tale. One would think we’re a bunch of reckless drivers here in Western PA. My guys are actually pretty responsible, and they don’t drink and drive. Are young men just wreck magnets?

      We moms have to stick together, Cyndi, so I appreciate you echoing my lecture.

  3. 5 lynette December 15, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    oh, les, i am so glad your son is okay! what a scary experience! sudden unexpected things can make you really see your life more sharply, can’t they?

    i am sure that Christmas will seem even more special this year, being all safe and together.

  4. 7 Dawn December 16, 2009 at 11:59 am

    Wreck magnets, ha!

    I confess, I was on the edge. This accident lesson may just have prevented something truly tragic from happening in the future. Mr. Invincible will most likely remember his brush with disaster and NEVER ever, ever forget his seatbelt again.

    Happy Birthday Les. Family all safe and together again. A beautiful wish 🙂

    • 8 les@mamaneeds2rant December 16, 2009 at 12:06 pm

      Yes, Dawn. It usually takes a while before it sinks into his head that we parents usually know what we’re talking about. Even though it’s been proven many times that we’re always right :), they still insist on learning the hard way. Hmm, could I have ever been that stubborn?

  5. 9 robinaltman December 16, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    Oh, man! Happy birthday. I think you need a bottle of Valium for Christmas.

    I’m so glad your son is alright. There sure is something to be said for “sameness”. Oy. Double Oy. I wish you great sameness for the holidays.

  6. 11 Consuella Banana Hammock December 17, 2009 at 9:15 am

    so i have just decided to never let my boys drive or own a car. is that the point you were trying to get across?

    scary. so scary. there truly are only a few things that matter in this life. thanks for the reminder!

    • 12 les@mamaneeds2rant December 17, 2009 at 9:39 am

      After 3 totaled vehicles and numerous fender benders, yes, I would advise you to not encourage the driving thing, Consuella. If they insist, surround them with an armored tank. Screw global warming, it’s a hoax anyways! 🙂 Give them the heaviest vehicle out there, and then pray.

  7. 13 Kathy December 17, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Poor baby 😦 …I think he died a little inside, too.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,331 hits


