I Like To Work At Nothing All Day

It’s the perfect storm. It’s been rainy and unseasonably cold for weeks. Youngest Son has hardly had time to text me, let alone come home for a visit. He’s the strong-minded son that can often motivate me to get off my lazy butt and sprint up hills with him or make me lift weights. As I noted a few posts ago, I was having trouble finding motivation to write. Looking at the whole picture, I’m having trouble doing much of anything. I’m not depressed or anything–nothing more serious than the seasonal blues I get from lack of warmth and sunshine. And, after talking with Youngest Son, who finally managed to come home this weekend only because his school has a 4-day fall break, I may just need to add some self-imposed torture structure to my life.  Just a little.  Just temporary. I may need to get myself a temporary job.

It’s funny he mentioned this.  I love my life.  I love my work schedule.  Due to our extreme awesomeness and efficiency at work, my 12-month part-time job became a 2-month seasonal full-time with overtime job over the years.  This schedule suits all of us.  They only need to pay me when they really need me. I recuperate, enjoy my summer, get projects done, get lazy, and then repeat the cycle.  The laziness has settled in with a vengeance this month.  I DID bake cookies last week, which shocked the hell out of Oldest Son, but that was only because Big Daddy’s been craving baked goods and I couldn’t find anything cheaper than $3.99/dozen in the bakery.  I’m cheaper than I am lazy.  But as much as I love the freedom of structuring my own days, the thought has recently crossed my mind to maybe find a temp job until the end of the year.

Like Youngest Son said, you get more done when you have to do it.  I do manage to get the essentials done, whether I’m working or not.  But somehow, making yourself have to get up early and forcing upon yourself that sense of urgency that comes from having limited free time helps push you to do more.  And not feel so much like a lazy slug.  And God knows September always drains the family finances.  Two college tuition bills, school supplies, the BIG real estate tax payment, and the quarterly car insurance payment make September quite the bleak month.  And the damn van still hasn’t sold!  It’s not like I couldn’t use the extra cash.

But I’ll have to think this through a little more.  Later today Youngest Son and I are planning to hit the track.  I won’t have so much time to do this if I’m working.  And the morning’s supposed to be extra chilly, which means I’ll feel so cozy with the covers pulled up over my head.  It’s 2:00am right now and I don’t need to be in bed. I’ve always been a night person.  Early morning makes me gag.  What’s a lazy mama to do?  Stay tuned while I try to figure out the answer.

12 Responses to “I Like To Work At Nothing All Day”


  1. 1 Consuella Banana Hammock October 18, 2009 at 10:03 am

    ooooh tough call! to work and be more productive or to not and be more flexible. for me, sometimes i take a week or so and make myself follow a schedule. (not a schedule person by nature) it helps me get more done, not feel so lazy. self-imposed goals, would that work?

    • 2 les@mamaneeds2rant October 18, 2009 at 11:47 am

      I normally prefer flexibility over productivity, Consuella, but lately it’s just been too easy to put off until tomorrow what I should have done yesterday. Making lists has helped a little and maybe I just need to give myself a deadline to finish some of these things I’ve put off for too long.

  2. 3 Cyndi October 18, 2009 at 11:23 am

    I’m a night person too. Early mornings suck. Working full time forces me up early, as do kids in grade school and middle school. I have to admit that on the days I work from home, if it weren’t for them having to get out the door at a certain time, I would probably sleep in and get much less done. Anyway…what kind of part time job are you thinking about? Ideally, it wouldn’t be early in the morning, right?

    • 4 les@mamaneeds2rant October 18, 2009 at 11:53 am

      Part of the problem, Cyndi, is I’m wasting too much time lying in bed in the morning because it’s so much easier–but not because I’m tired. If I had to get up and get ready for work, that might help me gain a couple more hours of productive time. But then I’d hate my life every morning for the next couple months. Any temp job I find would be something simple for me and low stress, maybe like data entry or secretarial. I’m a woman of many talents, just an extremely unmotivated one at this time. 🙂

  3. 5 Dawn October 18, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    It’s official. I’m an alien 😦

    I can’t imagine how I would exist without my early mornings. I can’t be called to task unless I’ve had a cup of coffee and twenty minutes at least. My mornings are the most productive times of my day, and it lessens through the day. Sure, it may be midnight, I may look awake … appear to formulate thoughts … but I swear, I am just sleepwalking.

    September is a drain financially over here too. Things even out after a few months … a few long months. And then it’s Christmas before I know it … and the cycle begins anew.

    I do hope you find something that suits your hours, lifestyle, talents, and maybe, a BIG maybe … something that’s unlike anything you’ve ever done before. Being thrown into a new world, even if it is ‘menial’ tends to do me a world of good.

    My new neighbor, downstairs, she likes to stay in bed a lot. She wears short skirts and fish net stockings too. A future post for me maybe. I just felt like sharing 🙂

    • 6 les@mamaneeds2rant October 18, 2009 at 5:48 pm

      lol, Dawn. Does your downstairs neighbor stay in bed during the day only? Those hours would suit me, but alas, I’m not too awesome in the short skirts and fishnets stockings, anymore. 😉

  4. 7 lynette October 18, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    i am so the opposite of you, les! i have such a hard time with the feeling of there being nothing productive to do. a touch of the workaholic in me? i think so. i don’t know what i would do with myself if i did not work full-time — i like to work and think and even in my free time i have taken on things like getting elected to a town board 🙂

    i don’t know what to do with the sorts of things other people find fun or relaxing. i’m a bit on the serious side — kind of geeky, ya know?

    on the other hand, i am staring at seven more years of a 7 am school bus, which is killing me since i have a hard time sleeping before midnight or so. i much prefer a later start and a later end.

    good luck with whatever it is you decide to do! it could be fun working — and an extra bit of cash is always nice.

    • 8 les@mamaneeds2rant October 18, 2009 at 5:57 pm

      Oh, Lynette. There’s nothing like the joy of having a whole week ahead of you to do whatever your heart desires…read, organize, sleep. I NEED a lot of down time for my sanity. If the weather was nice I could at least walk and enjoy the fall foliage. I enjoy working, it’s the getting there that’s so hard. When I’m there, however, I put myself 100% into my work.

  5. 9 Beyond Bluestockings October 18, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    Oh, getting a job is a drastic cure for slackness. It could even be overkill. Why not ask someone to ring you in the morning and tell you to get up and {…whatever needs doing..}!

    While that won’t contribute to the family finances, I’m convinced it would be more fun. Can your younger son be a regular jogging buddy? If you have to get up to run around, it’s pretty hard not to be motivated afterward.

    No jogging buddy? Set yourself some early morning photography assignments…or get a dog to walk.. or…do a bit of volunteer work, which allows you to ditch it when you overcome your blah stage.

    Work out of home if your heart wills it, but there are other options to explore before you rush into having someone tell you what to do all day.. {shudder! lol 😀 }

    • 10 les@mamaneeds2rant October 18, 2009 at 6:05 pm

      Thanks for your ideas, beyond bluestockings. I think my thoughts are close to yours in considering this as a drastic cure. I love my freedom. For a while, I was getting up early to make a pot of coffee for Big Daddy in the morning so that we could share a cup together and read the paper before he had to go to work. That helped for a while, then I started slacking off of that. Or I spent half the morning after he left finishing up the entire newspaper–every single article! I have a dog to walk–trouble is, she’s too strong for me and has already pulled me down so I’ve given up on that!

      I have an idea that I’m leaning towards. It’s something I’ve considered for years and haven’t done it for a variety of reasons. The timing may just be perfect right now. I’m checking into it this week.

  6. 11 Beyond Bluestockings October 18, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    For a while, I was getting up early to make a pot of coffee for Big Daddy in the morning so that we could share a cup together and read the paper before he had to go to work.

    Aww, that’s so cute. You could mention to Big Daddy that you need him to convince you how much he loved those times. Or better yet, let him know it’s his turn, and there is a time and a place for one-up-manship: he could make breakfast to share 😀

    I have an idea that I’m leaning towards.

    A mystery! Cool!

  7. 12 lynette October 18, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    les, i have been thinking about it for an hour or so now, and i swear i cannot ever remember having that kind of time since i was a teenager in the summer. i really would not know what to do 😀

    i need lots of alone time is what i need — i get a lot of that in the quiet of my own office at work. very peaceful. and my schedule is flexible enough that i can balance life out.

    i figure when my kids are grown and off to college, i will be able to get some time… in the meantime i do grab it when i can.

    dawn, i LOVE the early morning, i just can’t seem to get jumpstarted these days… gettin’ old…


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 169,818 hits


