Maybe I’ve Succumbed to Apathy

All’s been quiet on the Pennsylvania front here.  You may have thought I’ve taken a lovely vacation.  Or maybe you thought I was actually busy doing something.  (If so, clearly you don’t know mama that well).  You may even be relieved (or not) to find out that I’m still alive and well.  I just haven’t been inspired to write lately, and I’m not quite sure why.

Really crazy stupid stuff is still going on in the world.  Celebrities and reality stars are mucking up the airwaves as usual.  But none of it has fired me up enough to sit down and write about it.

Maybe  I’ve just given up.  The world has become hopelessly stupid and pathetically corrupt.  Or maybe the gray matter is all backed up with all the shit going on.  In any case, maybe someone out there can inspire me to write about something you want to hear about.  Throw out some ideas, folks.  Maybe there’s just too much to write about and I can’t focus on any one thing.  Here’s your chance to get a brain-dead mama back on track!

11 Responses to “Maybe I’ve Succumbed to Apathy”


  1. 1 Cyndi October 10, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    I have missed you and am happy to hear you are alive and well! I’ve been feeling much the same way this week. Overwhelmed with thoughts about f-ed up things that have gone on in my own little world.

    I personally think you are at your best when ranting about political issues. You are well-informed and have strong, rational opinions. I’d love to hear what you have to say about the Nobel Peace Prize.

    Having said that, like all of us, you are likely to be truly at your best when you choose to write about something you are passionate about, so if that topic isn’t sparking much in you, then writing about it probably will feel like a chore.

    But….you asked for requests and so that’s mine, but if you aren’t feeling it, I completely understand. I think we all need a vacation to clear our heads!

    • 2 les@mamaneeds2rant October 10, 2009 at 2:25 pm

      Thanks, Cyndi. That is a great topic, and I truly can rant about anything–even if I’m not passionate about it. The problem I’m having is that there are so many topics out there right now, but nothing in particular is stirring any fire in me–and so I think it will help me if a topic is chosen for me and I can just focus on that. Thank you, blogger friend, for my first assignment.

  2. 3 Consuella Banana Hammock October 10, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    i want to hear a story, one that tells us something unique about you. too broad? sorry….

    glad you wrote something!

    • 4 les@mamaneeds2rant October 10, 2009 at 3:05 pm

      I’ve got no big dark secrets to reveal, Consuella. Just normal everyday circumstances and challenges. The challenge here would be to not bore you all to death. But that’s what good writing is all about…infusing wonder and clarity into even the most mundane situations. I think that’s one reason I love reading good short stories. They’re like Seinfeld episodes–about nothing in particular, and yet you want to be there. I’ll see if there are any stories I can dig up, Consuella. Thanks for the challenge! 🙂

  3. 5 Dawn October 10, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    Go find a box of old photos. Close your eyes and choose one.

    Share the story.

    I’m painting new bedrooms and it’s going ever so slowly. Having fun nonetheless 🙂

  4. 7 robinaltman October 10, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    Hi! Love the “Nobel Peace Prize” idea. Selfishly, I’d love to hear what you think would be helpful for health care. We were with friends at dinner last night talking about it, and I was embarrassed about how ignorant I am about Obama’s plan. I’m looking it up on the internet now, so I don’t look like such a ninny. Again.

    Any rants about Jon & Kate? Is that just too done? Or Brangelina? That one always fires me up.

  5. 9 Consuella Banana Hammock October 11, 2009 at 9:54 am

    ok, no dark secrets. i can settle for dawn’s picture idea. no pressure though. take your time.

  6. 10 walksalone October 16, 2009 at 1:44 am

    As a fellow blogger, I know the feeling. I write a lot about my take on politics and the state of the world, but so much is amiss it gets hard to choose a topic.

    I love what you did with the Nobel Award. You have a lot of talent! Whatever you write about will be well worth reading!

    • 11 les@mamaneeds2rant October 16, 2009 at 11:50 am

      Thanks so much, walksalone. You didn’t leave a link to your site but I’d be interested in checking it out. Unlike us, so many people don’t even take an interest in what’s going on in the world–and that’s a big part of the problem! They will ignore things until it gets so bad that there’s no way to ever go back–and that’s a scary thing.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,921 hits


