A Series of Small Steps

One of the few nice things about the weather turning cooler is I’ve been able to go for a run whenever my poor old decrepit body is awake enough and not worry about melting in the afternoon sun.  It’s getting harder to force myself to do these things, folks.  I look for excuses not to run…you know, the heat, PMS, kids keeping me busy.  But I know I need to run.  I feel better for it in the long run.  I can keep wearing the clothes I own and not have to shop for bigger sizes.  I can continue to eat like a sumo wrestler and not feel guilty.

I’ve decided, while the weather is nice, to keep running my three mile course.  It’s a nice neighborhood run with a few small hills but a lot of straightaways.  It’s a safe friendly route with no loose dogs running around to take chase.  I used to push myself to run the entire three miles, but  I’ve been cutting myself some slack lately and doing a combination run/walk, but trying to run more than walk.  I figure if I make it more enjoyable, there’s less of a chance to talk myself out of doing the three miles altogether.

I’ve found I can play little mind games to run longer than my mind and body want me to.  When I feel the urge to quit running and slow down to a walk, I pick a target not too far ahead and tell myself I can walk when I reach, say, that particular blue mailbox.  Then, when I reach that mailbox, I’ll say that I know I can get to the azalea bush up ahead.  Nine times out of ten, I’ll wind up running much farther than I would have.  Like Youngest Son always tells me, it’s my mind that’s weak.  My body is still capable of doing the distance.  At least for now.

Tonight, I’ll be watching the first show of the new season of Biggest Loser.  These people are amazing.  They are pushed to physical extremes that I can’t even imagine, and they have a lot more weight on their frames to carry.  Their weight losses are phenomenal, but they work out for up to eight hours a day.  My mind would give up during the warm-up.

Lucky for me, I’m not competing for a huge cash prize.  My desire to lose weight is more about aesthetics rather than life and death issues.  So I can continue to push myself to that next mailbox, or to the top of that little hill.  Then I can eat my dessert while I’m watching those poor contestants run a marathon.

22 Responses to “A Series of Small Steps”


  1. 1 Cyndi September 15, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    God, I so need to get my fat ass in gear. Maybe I’ll start watching just to get some motivation.

    • 2 les@mamaneeds2rant September 15, 2009 at 7:52 pm

      LOL. You’ll probably end up doing the same thing as me. I get the urge to eat MORE while I’m watching, probably thinking that, wow, I’m doing okay cuz I don’t have THAT much weight to lose.

  2. 3 Dawn September 15, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    I began running in the beginning of the summer and I made it to the tenth mailbox the first time. By the end of the summer I got to twenty mailboxes. Maybe if a dog chased me I could do three miles 🙂

  3. 5 lynette September 15, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    i have never, ever been a runner, just does not work with my body. but i love to move and i love to expend energy. my problem is dragging my butt out of bed at 5:30 to get on a treadmill. once i am on it, with my headphones on and music cranking, i can walk forever.

    keep running! it sounds like you are off to a good start and this time of year is perfect!

  4. 7 Consuella Banana Hammock September 16, 2009 at 12:25 am

    i watched the biggest loser for the first time ever tonight. wow that gillian is a hard ass! i need her. forget the mailboxes.

  5. 9 Evenshine September 16, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    A colleague was talking about her 5am kickboxing class she’s in and the overwhelming feeling I got (and get with TBL, as well) is that LIFE IS WAY TOO SHORT FOR 5AM KICKBOXING. Or, I might add, dealing with Gillian.

  6. 10 Tammy September 16, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    A started to feel guilty watching the Biggest Loser while dunking my second oreo in my ice cold milk watching that poor girl get zipped away in a helicopter.HA! (true story). My favorite Jillian line was “I won’t co-sign Shay’s bullcrap”..ahah nearly shot my Oreo out my nose.

    I start my new “exercise” contest on Monday. The prize is $1,500. My mom and good friend are on my team. I am hoping this will get me in gear.

    Got to go for now, many Oreo’s to finish before Monday…ahahahahah!

  7. 12 robinaltman September 16, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    I find as I get older that my little kneesies don’t like running as much as they used to. Luckily, there is a nice bouncy track right down the street! (We live close to the local high school.)

    I promised my husband and a friend that I’d do a 5K with them at the end of Oct, but I’m regretting it now. I don’t like feeling pressured.

    • 13 les@mamaneeds2rant September 16, 2009 at 10:40 pm

      The regret you feel now, Robin, is not even close to the regret you will be feeling in October as you’re waiting for the race to start. I ALWAYS say to myself, “Why the hell did I sign up for this race?”

  8. 14 lifewithoutinstructions September 17, 2009 at 10:25 am

    After a recent diagnosis of Graves disease, overactive thyroid……..i was down to 98 lbs. The beauty is you can eat anything you want! I was, before this disease about 140 lbs and gaining. The very bad part of graves is that you burn muscle tissue, and I have looked terrible as everything hangs. Blech!!!!! Recently I have started a protien drink, concientious effort to excercise and de-stress approach. I have regained weight, currently at 108 lbs. This is a huge victory. I have always been more shapely and prone to weight gain so I understand your need to take control. Hugs! Maria

    • 15 les@mamaneeds2rant September 17, 2009 at 10:31 am

      Oh, Maria. So sorry about the diagnosis. Gives one a different perspective on the weight thing. Funny thing though how exercise seems to be one of those necessary evils whether we need to lose a few pounds or to bulk up a little–the de-stress benefits alone make it important.

  9. 16 shane September 18, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    you? looking for excuses to run? noo haha personally i think its better to take your mind off of how far youre going altogether because if you start thinking about going a little farther you end up only concentrating on how bad you want to quit and it makes the running a lot less enjoyable

  10. 17 Dawn September 19, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Oh no, I must have given the impression mail boxes were fifty yards apart. Around here ten mail boxes equals one block. (hanging head)

  11. 19 Peldyn September 20, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    No running for me! But I do have my handy dandy ellipical like exercise thingie that I had worked up to 30 minutes a day on. I took this week off due to a stupid case of cellulitis on my thigh. Doc said it might have been a bug bite, but dang it hurts! I will be back at it soon because last night I ate almost a whole package of lemon cookies *blushes*

  12. 21 Peldyn September 20, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    I get lots of sympathy and yummy food so if I don’t watch it I could easily gain a ton! My husband plied me with fried zucchini tonight. Man, I will need to up it to 45 minutes when I get back to exercising!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 172,283 hits


