Sad Mood, Good Food

Anyone that knows me knows that I love nachos and salsa.  I could live on it.  Every year, I grow a garden mainly to grow fresh ingredients for homemade salsa.  I harvest my tomatoes, peppers and cilantro and make a so-so concoction along with some store-bought garlic, onions and lime juice.  I’ve tried adding spices to make it better, but it’s good enough.

Last weekend, Oldest Son’s California-born girl friend stayed with us.  She volunteered to make us some authentic Mexican salsa.  She came home from the store with mangoes, avocados, a hot pepper and a huge bunch of cilantro (mine has started going to seed).  I didn’t even know what a mango looked like, and I had no idea what to do with an avocado.  I usually omit the hot peppers because they scare me.  However, she whipped up the tastiest batch of chunky salsa I ever ate in my life.  I used it with chips, I made a salad with it, and I served it with my leftover chicken.  I ate far too much of it, but it made me feel good.

Certain foods affect my moods.  Back at college, there was a place called Brook’s Other Place.  Brook was a hippie-type Sociology professor at the school.  His first restaurant, Brook’s Place, served typical college food like hoagies.  His other place specialized in more obscure vegetarian and health foods.  When we went to Brook’s Other Place,  I would always get a sprout salad (with alfalfa sprouts) and a large tomato juice.  For some reason, this meal not only tasted great, it always managed to lift my mood.  It had the most calming effect on me, even if a paper was due the next day.  It was great mood food.

Yesterday was a gray day, quite unlike the beautiful late summer day exactly eight years ago.  Each September 11th, I distinctly remember how beautiful and blue the sky was that morning in 2001 as I walked into work.  It’s weird, but I remember thinking that morning that even though it was early and I had to work that day, I felt so happy to be alive.  It was just that gorgeous of a day, which made the tragedy that unfolded a couple hours later so much more hideous.  Even though I didn’t personally know anyone that died that day,  I always feel somber and sad for the innocent moms and dads, brothers and sisters and heroic rescue workers that lost their lives.  It could have been me or anyone else I know and love in those buildings or on those planes that day.

Feeling blue already, my breath was taken away when I read someone’s Facebook status yesterday.  I knew her politics were liberal, but I thought she loved this country that has provided her with so many opportunities.  In fact, she claims to be a liberal because she cares so much about people.  I’m sure this wasn’t her intention, but I had the wind knocked out of me when I saw her comments concerning 9-11, to f**k 9-11 and that she didn’t even care.  When no one could even respond to this, she went on to explain how these 3000 lives were no more important than all the other lives we? they? are responsible for bombing.

I’ve heard this “justification” for 9-11 before.  I’m sure that every one of those almost 3000 people were secretly cheering on and plotting new ways to kill other people in far away countries.  Yeah, right.  I know there is no way to change the thinking of these kind of people, but it still saddens me that someone can actually think this way.  I couldn’t talk to anyone about this yesterday.  I couldn’t even let it out until now.  I just felt sad and blue and sick to my stomach.  And I went out to the store and bought a mango.  And some avocados.

twin towers

Photo taken by Jerry Salamone at salamone@frontiernet.net

I still feel in a funk today.  The chunky salsa I made last night tastes good, but I sure could use a sprout salad and a tall glass of tomato juice.

13 Responses to “Sad Mood, Good Food”


  1. 1 lynette September 12, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    it rained all day here yesterday and i found it fitting — i too remembered what a beautiful day it was eight years ago. every year i am filled with mourning for the innocent lives forever altered on that day. the son of a friend of my father-in-law was a NYC firefighter, who was running late to work because his car broke down — his whole precinct died in the towers. he was the only one who survived because he never made it to work — he went to funeral after funeral after funeral for months.

    i am originally a NY-er, and know many who live and work there. i do not know anyone personally who died. but my cousin’s wife, 7 months pregnant, ran barefoot away from the collapsing towers across the brooklyn bridge, and he could not get in touch with her for hours. her and her baby were fine — she must have been terrified. my best friend saw the planes hit the towers from his apartment window, my brother-in-law from his office a dozen blocks away.

    i may not agree with our country’s response overall to the tragedy or support this particular war and who we have chosen to fight. but i do support and respect and cheer on every soldier who has been sent there, volunteered to go there. and to not honor and mourn the lives that were lost that day??? i don’t care about the why and the who, i just think of the people who died….

    and it is a sad day.

  2. 2 Cindy A. September 12, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    My friend’s sister-in-law dodged the bullet ,also.Two weeks prior to 9/11 she gave up her stewardess job and went back to teaching.
    She would’ve been on the flight that hit the Pentagon.

    • 3 les@mamaneeds2rant September 12, 2009 at 10:19 pm

      So many sad and scary stories from that day. As hard as it is for me to get over this, I can’t even imagine what it’s like for the people in NYC that day, or those that knew and worked with the victims.

  3. 4 John September 13, 2009 at 2:27 am

    I used to work at the Bank of NY. I got fired. It was bogus – I was talking too much about God and my boss didn’t like it so she set me up to fail, etc etc.

    It was the ONLY job I was ever fired from. Every morning, I commuted from NJ. I got off of the PATH 5 stories UNDER the WTC and walked two blocks to the glass building I worked in which was damaged by the falling towers.

    I thank God all of the time now that I lost that job.

  4. 5 Cyndi September 13, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Oh wow, I don’t think I’ve ever come across anyone with that view of 9/11. That seems so brutally cold and heartless. Normal people going about their normal day, trying to make a living for their families blown to bits by lunatics….how can anyone not see that as anything less than profoundly tragic?!

    • 6 les@mamaneeds2rant September 13, 2009 at 1:33 pm

      I know. I can’t even fathom where that mindset comes from, especially from a fellow American that supposedly cares about people. “We the people” have very little to do with the stupid policies of our runaway government, and anyone that lives here should realize that.

  5. 7 Dawn September 13, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    My funks lead me to chocolate though right now, I would be tempted to try the chunky salsa 🙂

    Though I knew no one who died in this tragic event it I was deeply saddened along with the rest of humanity. My heart burst open watching people jumping to their death, seeing the faces of those whose loved ones were lost. Thousands of lives were changed forevermore.

    Some days I am shocked by the thought process of people. Did you resist leaving a comment? That’s what I wanna know!

  6. 9 robinaltman September 13, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    That’s very sad, and it makes little sense to me. Any death of a person is sad. That woman sounds a bit silly to me. Don’t let it get you down. Have a hot fudge sundae on me.

    • 10 les@mamaneeds2rant September 13, 2009 at 5:03 pm

      She’s young, Robin. Maybe life experience will bring her insight. Or maybe not.

      I’m feeling better. We got some sun today and I soaked up some rays on the chaise lounge. Less calories than the sundae.

  7. 11 Dawn September 13, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    I see benefits in being silent too. BIG smiles!

  8. 12 ashley October 7, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    it was my dream to see twin towers with my own eyes, very sad story with all the people that died, poor famalies!!

  9. 13 les@mamaneeds2rant September 11, 2012 at 9:03 am

    Reblogged this on Mamaneeds2rant's Weblog and commented:

    An old post…but so relevant on this anniversary of a day that changed me and so many others…


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,349 hits


