Please Don’t ASSume

I’m sure you’ve heard the old saying, “Please don’t ASSUME.  It makes an ASS of U and ME.”  Lately, I’ve noticed an ugly trend by certain people to dismiss others with different political views with a variety of horrible labels.  These assumptions are totally untrue in my case, and I am willing to bet equally unfounded in the case of the majority of people that want to defend the American Constitution as written and do not believe that Capitalism is inherently evil.

Assumption #1:  Capitalists are racist. Because our current President is half black, all of a sudden anyone with a different ideology is racist.  Did we all change our beliefs because he became President?  I hardly think so.  The racist word is usually tossed out whenever it becomes too hard to defend an issue.  It’s a cop-out, and racist in itself.  I must admit, though, that while I’m no racist, I am prejudiced.  I’m prejudiced against racist idiots, and low-lifes that abuse the system.  And these idiots come in many shades and hues.

Assumption #2:  Capitalists are rich greedy pigs. Most of the people I know that believe in capitalism are ordinary middle-class citizens.  They get up and go to work, save for their kids’ education, and donate their time and money to good causes.  As a matter of fact, an overwhelming majority of  truly wealthy Americans, our Hollywood elite, are the ones most vocal against our capitalistic system which has made them so wealthy.  If they really feel so strongly about the evil of capitalism, why don’t they sell their multi-million dollar mansions, quit flying first class, and redistribute their wealth to people that actually get their hands dirty at work.

Assumption #3:  Capitalists are unfair. This is a ridiculous assumption.  The very premise of capitalism is fairness.  You reap what you sow.  If you work hard, you can better yourself.  You will be rewarded for your efforts.  What is unfair is taking from those that are willing to work hard and/or educate themselves, and giving the fruits of their labor to others that are not willing to contribute or work hard.  There will always be those that can’t take care of themselves; those are the only ones that should be taken care of.

14 Responses to “Please Don’t ASSume”


  1. 3 Cyndi September 10, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    I had a feeling you’d be writing about the recent political nonsense. I agree, the broad sweeping generalizations from both sides are absurd.

  2. 6 Cyndi September 10, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    I know, I just always think of you when the morons come out of the woodwork. Some of your best rants are political. 🙂

  3. 7 Dawn September 10, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    I’m tired of folks riding the assumption train too.

  4. 8 John September 10, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Well written, but i always learned that assuming made one out of ‘u’ NOT ‘me’.

  5. 10 lynette September 11, 2009 at 6:29 am

    and i always heard that “assume” made an “ass” out of “u” AND “me”…

    assumptions are never good — leads to sometimes disastrous misunderstandings. i wish we would all just really LISTEN to one another…

  6. 11 robinaltman September 13, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    I agree whole heartedly. It seems like calling people racists is the new insult. It reminds me of a great story a friend told me. He is an older man who fled Germany during the Holocaust, and married a very funny and clever Scottish woman. When they would fight, he would accuse her of being racist. She would reply, “Larry, I don’t hate the Jews. I only hate you.”


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 172,262 hits


