Chocolate Covered Bacon

The Fayette County Fair may have its BIIIGGG HAIRRR, but ours has something even scarier.  Chocolate covered bacon.  Each one, standing alone, would rank as two of my favorite foods.  Only the most creative of caterers would consider combining the two into one artery-clogging food item.  Here are some other culinary treats you can buy:  healthy delights

Today was the last day of our county fair, and like most years, it was the day of the horse-pull event.  For the same reason, I suppose, that he plans an entire week of vacation around the televised Tour de France, Big Daddy looks forward to the yearly horse-pull event.  It obviously doesn’t take a whole heck of a lot to get the old guy excited, which is why I’m not too worried about the extra weight around my middle.  I usually tag along with him to see the displays, ooh and aah over the animals, and get a yummy greasy gyro with some fresh squeezed lemonade.  I have to admit, I’ve even grown to enjoy the horse-pull.  The animals are beautiful and majestic, working as a team to pull some big-time weight. strong team

They called for an all-day rain and we were worried the event would be canceled.  It did rain right after the light-weight horses finished, but it was a quick downpour and ended up to be a beautiful sunny day.  We did have a long wait, however, while they scraped the mud and resurfaced the arena for the heavy-weight horses.  clearing the mud

As we were leaving the fairgrounds, I got a glimpse of what I might look like if I ate like this every day.  I didn’t bother to ask for the chocolate bacon recipe.too much fair food

If you love animals like I do, you might want to check out some of these cute pics on my Facebook page.

19 Responses to “Chocolate Covered Bacon”


  1. 1 Cyndi August 30, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    I am of the opinion that anything covered in chocolate is all good. This combo is a little strange but believe it or not, I recently saw a cooking show where bacon was used along with chocolate in an actual restaurant menu item. Have you ever tried it? I’m dying to know how it tastes.

    • 2 les@mamaneeds2rant August 30, 2009 at 1:06 pm

      Actually, my Oldest son was at the fair with a friend and he had bought a piece. He is very adventurous that way. He gave all of us a taste of it. It wasn’t bad–but I wouldn’t spend MY money on it. I think part of it was I couldn’t get my mind away from how weird it seemed–and how decadent. I’d much prefer my chocolate wrapped around a strawberry. Yum.

  2. 3 lifewithoutinstructions August 30, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Yeah i vote yucko! Im not a fan of either chocolate or bacon. Although I too love chocolate covered strawberries.

    • 4 les@mamaneeds2rant August 30, 2009 at 3:56 pm

      @ life – I think you are the only person I know who is not a fan of chocolate!? 🙂 But at least you appreciate the chocolate covered strawberry–and now I’m hungry just thinking about it.

  3. 5 Peldyn August 30, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    I saw a bacon topped maple doughnut someone posted a pic of. It actually looked good! Call me weird *grin*

  4. 7 robinaltman August 30, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    I like these weird lollypops I order over the internet that have rum and bacon in them. I dip them in green tea. It makes me happy.

    I have a perverse urge for a fried twinkie suddenly. It’s so revolting it’s seductively appealing.

  5. 8 enchantedflutterby August 30, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    it’s odd what we do to our food. i have found that the deep fried oreos are quite delicious but i will not try anything else deep fried. I love me some chocolate covered strawberries and marshmallows. yummmm

  6. 9 Michelle - Nathan's Mom August 31, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    Well, we just had “lazy maple” bacon on the weekend – bacon flavoured with maple syrup. Maybe it’s a Canadian thing. But so good. Bacon in chocolate? Hubby could probably get behind that one!

  7. 10 myra36 August 31, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    I love chocolate. I love bacon. Must try the two together. Yum!

    Bacon-flavoured maple syrup? Where do you get that? My hubby would love that. He thinks Baconnaise (bacon-flavoured mayo) is the bomb.

    Btw, I’ve had bacon and peanut butter on toast. Much tastier that it sounds. I’m getting hungry…

  8. 11 Dawn August 31, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    I love chocolate and the fair but I want my bacon exactly how it is. Chocolate covered strawberries. So sweet, like a little gift for mouth. Coconut with chocolate … and a nice black coffee. That’s exactly what I need right now.

  9. 12 Tammy August 31, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEAAAASSEEE let chocolate covered bacon to come to a city near me…..SOUNDS YUMMY!

  10. 15 Chris August 31, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Bacon and maple isn’t bad at all. I’ve often accidentally combined the two on my breakfast plate. =)

  11. 16 candice September 13, 2009 at 12:22 am

    myself being a young woman who has struggled all her life with weight.. i’ve grown in maturity to ask before i put anything between my lips “is this worth the calories?”

    Normally, anything chocolate covered i would say “oh just one.” but the choco covered bacon would be one i could leave. I would do as you and take one bite if someone offered it to me, just for kicks. (and just to make sure it wouldnt be absolutely the best thing ive ever tried:)

  12. 18 bryan March 9, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    If you are ever in Seaside, OR, there is a candy store on Broadway (the main tourist drag) called The Buzz …. wherein you can get the Chocolate Dipped Bacon, either regular Chocolate or Maple flavor. DEFINITELY go with the Maple. it’s tasty tasty.

    …of course they also have a large assortment of vintage candies and what not… to go along with the chocolate dipped Twinkies (in various flavors)…and next door you can try the Deep Fried Twinkie instead (next trip).


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,393 hits


