Stuck In The Middle With Nobody :(

Actually, I don’t think I’m so alone.  I think there are a lot of people just like me.  Maybe we’re a minority group of thinkers.  Or maybe we’re just a great big silent majority.  Nobody knows what category to pigeonhole us into.  I don’t even know myself.

Oldest Son says I’m a Libertarian.  I’m not registered that way because then I couldn’t vote in the primaries in my state.  I used to be a Democrat, but more and more I hate their culture of victimhood and the nanny state they would love to create.  Most of us want to be self-sufficient but many of the policies of the left make it more rewarding to do as little as possible and let the state take care of us.  Back in the 80’s, a friend and I started a small temporary employment agency.  We sent a woman to a job; the company liked her and wanted to hire her permanently.  The woman liked the job but would have lost out monetarily after paying child care and having benefits cut.  This is a common scenario.  You would think if someone is willing to work 40 hours a week, somehow their benefits should be gradually reduced, but still give them a better standard of living than when they are not working at all.  There should always be an incentive for people willing to work and produce.  That’s the same problem I have with the unions.  They started out as a good thing, protecting people from unfair and dangerous labor conditions.  Now, no lie, I know someone that brags about being able to find a spot to sleep on the job because, “They can’t fire me.  I’m a union worker.”  I know a teacher that was passed along to our elementary school that they couldn’t get rid of her, even though she was nasty and abusive.  Parents wrote notes pleading to the principal not to put their child in her classroom.  It would have cost too much in litigation to get rid of her due to the power of the teacher’s union.  Also, I would rather decide for myself how to spend my hard-earned dollars than to have a bunch of bureaucrats tax me to death and decide how they want to spend it.  I more or less became a Republican only because I didn’t want to remain a Democrat.

Because I’m fiscally conservative, it is assumed that I’m narrow-minded, greedy, and prejudiced.  This is how more than a few “liberal” bloggers tend to portray anyone that dares to call themselves a Republican.  In fact, when I tried to gently mention on a very left-leaning post that quite a few of us “right-wingers” are feminists, care about the environment, and think everyone should let others live and let live as long as they are not hurting anyone, it was asked how my comment was even allowed in the queue.  I guess these “open-minded” liberal thinkers only allow comments from ass-kissing like-minded people.  I welcome just about any and all comments on my blog.  The only reason I choose to moderate my comments is because I had one jerk make a disparaging comment about the military.  I don’t want to soil my blog with that kind of garbage for even one second. Most things, however, I would never censor.  I may call you a douchebag, but I defend your right to be one.

Where do I fit on the political spectrum?  Is it so hard to believe that I want a safe clean world to live in but think cap-and-trade is a political ploy to redistribute wealth?  I care about other people’s children, but I’d rather their parents take responsibility for them so that I can afford to raise my own.  I have lots of empathy for people that don’t have health insurance, but I don’t think the whole system should be dismantled so that no one has the choices that the free market provides.  Nobody allowed me to die when I ended up in the hospital shortly after we married.  We were one month away from coverage.  I was cared for, then sent home and billed.  We made affordable monthly payments and finally, some charitable grant kicked in and paid the balance.  We were kind of poor back then.  Believe me, I have empathy.  I’m just not sure if I have company.

13 Responses to “Stuck In The Middle With Nobody :(”


  1. 1 Tammy August 22, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    I am in the middle with you for sure!!!

    Professionally I consider myself aligned with Republican views (captialism) whereas personally I consider myself more liberal.

    It is a constant battle. It is sad that we have to label so many things in our lives.

  2. 3 Cyndi August 23, 2009 at 10:33 am

    You aren’t alone. I’m in the middle too. I would call myself an independent just because I don’t fit into any of the prescribed pigeon holes.

    I exercise my right to vote in every presidential election but increasingly view my vote as choosing the lesser of 2 evils.

  3. 5 Dawn August 23, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    I’m a pedestrian. Go Ron Paul!

  4. 7 robinaltman August 23, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    I’m registered as a Democrat, but my views are pretty much in line with yours. I guess I’m a fiscally conservative Democrat?

    You hit the nail on the head. I’ll argue with others’ opinions if I disagree, but I won’t insult them, and I’ll defend their right to express their opinion. The exception would be hate mongerers. Some opinions are just too evil to put out there. Ick.

  5. 9 Michelle - Nathan's Mom August 23, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Not American, so I guess I can’t be a Republican or a Democrat. But, there’s no “good” choice in Canada either. I’m a left-of-centre lean – believe strongly in social justice, public health care, balanced budgets, responsible use of fiscal and environmental assets, division of church and state and that children should be allowed to play, unstructured and unsupervised. I believe in equality, affordable childcare, eldercare and respect for all cultures, including my own.

    And, I believe that my children will change the world (but that could be a slightly biased opinion).

    • 10 les@mamaneeds2rant August 24, 2009 at 12:40 am

      I like the term “responsible” use of fiscal and environmental assets, Michelle. That’s what’s sorely lacking in the good old USA. And I hope our children will be able to change the world for the better–how can they not, with great moms like us 🙂

  6. 11 Cindy A. August 23, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    I’ll vote for you in 4 years.Call your party the Moderate party.Everyone recognizes the term,and most people fall into that category.I was originally Democrat,now I’m a registered Republican.You pretty much mirror my thoughts.

  7. 13 Bill Bartmann September 2, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,431 hits


