Doing The Important Things

Yeah, I’m living in a pig sty.  I’ll admit it.  I’m living with three giant eating machines, and the big guy that spawned them.  We also have a slobbering boxer dog that drops toys all over the house.  No matter how many times I tell her to clean after herself, she just looks at me like this and walks away.

Sky Acting Dumb

Sky Acting Dumb

Two of the eating machines won’t be cluttering the house much longer since school starts for both before the month is up.  One is frantically trying to put together the dorm hall “theme” that he probably should have started on a little earlier.  The other was even more frantically trying to get a schedule set up and a place to live.  They’ve also had a lot of friends in and out the past few days.  Everyone’s trying to catch up.  No one knows how the summer breezed in and out so fast.

In between all the packing and shopping and hunting for apartments, we also want to spend a little more time together.  We biked.  We swam.  We went out to eat.  We haven’t done much house cleaning.  They’re packing up most of this crap and moving it out soon anyways.

How J Unpacked From Germany

How J Unpacked From Germany

Today, we took the 45 minute drive to Middle Son J’s campus to square away some details.  Then we drove through the town looking for “For Rent” signs, hoping for a miracle.  We found a place a very short walk from campus that they’re just completing.  Brand spanking new apartments.  We checked them out, and he even got to pick the one he wanted.  They promise it will be done before school starts, complete with clean shiny appliances.  There’s even a Quiznos right next door.  Yum!

While we were gone, my mom stopped over with some garden goodies from my cousin’s giant garden.  She told me she’d be coming over; I told her just to leave the goodies in the kitchen if we happened to be gone. When I noticed the bag sitting in the kitchen, I called to thank her for bringing the veggies over, to which she replied:  “It looks like a bomb exploded in your house.  Doesn’t anybody pick up their clothes?”

Laundry Hell

Laundry Hell

Sometimes, I get really ticked off when she makes a comment like that.  I’ve been known to fume or get indignant.  Today, it didn’t even phase me.  I replied, “Yep.  It sure does.  It’s really awful.”  Because it was.  And I don’t care.  I’m getting my kids ready for school and the housework can wait.  It will wait tomorrow while we get supplies for Youngest Son’s project.  It will wait the next day when we look for some modestly priced furniture to fill up J’s apartment.  There are more important things to do right now.

11 Responses to “Doing The Important Things”


  1. 1 Cyndi August 18, 2009 at 1:27 am

    I agree, who gives a crap?! There will be plenty of time to clean, and fewer of your favorite people there to mess it up, soon enough. Enjoy your time with them! And if your mom’s bored, she could always help out while you’re out of the house… 🙂

  2. 3 Tammy August 18, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    The laundry will be there tomorrow…but the moments may not…good for you!

  3. 4 enchantedflutterby August 18, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    may i recommend freecycle.org. You might find a lot of furniture that way and you can post asking if anyone has anything lying around they do not use anymore. When I moved we asked the daycare parents and some family members and I ended up being given three couches and two love seats, a ton of kitchen things, entertainment units, lamps, etc. It is a great way to keep it all out of landfills and a lot of time people will give it to you for free. Yard sales are also a blessing. I’ve seen a lot of things like dressers and shelving in excellent condition.

    • 5 les@mamaneeds2rant August 18, 2009 at 7:37 pm

      cool. I wish we had more time, but we hit up Big Lots, Gabes, and K-Mart and got some good deals. Maybe next time, if they don’t wait ’til the last minute, I’ll try freecycle.

  4. 6 robinaltman August 18, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Good for you! Are you going to have fond memories of folding laundry to look back on? I think not.

    As an aside, if you e mail your e mail address, maybe we could meet in Harrisburg for a bike ride in the fall! I’m at drshoechick@aol.com. Yes, I know it’s dumb. It’s catchier than Robin2987, though.

  5. 8 Daily Diner August 19, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Hysterical! At least your towels were folded…I dont even bother. I just throw everything into piles and have the “owners” come pick them up. No dressers here either, just bins. Each kid has a shirt bin, shorts bin, pants bin, etc. they pick up their piles and put them in the correct bins….most of the time.

    • 9 les@mamaneeds2rant August 19, 2009 at 7:10 pm

      Wow, Diner! Where were you and your wonderful ideas before I spoiled the kids? They thought it was awful when I started putting folded piles of clean laundry on their beds instead of putting everything away in their closets and drawers. Your way is so much easier for everybody! 🙂

  6. 10 Dawn August 19, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    We’ve been making up for lost time without a car this summer. Who wants to be here doing laundry anyway. We discovered our pajama bottoms looks like real pants lately. And they do, they really do. Let the memories and priorities unfold.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,894 hits


