What??

Someone must have reported me to the Feds as a disgruntled American citizen.  Yup, I must have been flagged and my words perused and digested by our commander in chief.  Or maybe those “organized screaming mobs” in the town halls of America, that Nancy Pelosi charged as un-American for using their First Amendment rights to freedom of speech finally drove their point home.   In his own words today, President Obama explained exactly why our nation’s health care should not be run by the government:

“UPS and FedEx are doing just fine. It’s the Post Office that’s always having problems”.

Thank you, Mr. President.  The government SUCKS at running things.  I’m glad you agree. : )

Yeah, I know that wasn’t the point he was trying to make.  But no truer words were ever spoken.

12 Responses to “What??”


  1. 1 Cyndi August 12, 2009 at 2:41 am

    I do love when politicians inadvertently say something that is absolutely true.
    This is priceless.

  2. 2 robinaltman August 12, 2009 at 8:05 am

    LOL! I was all ready to storm to Washington and bail you out of jail!

  3. 4 Nicole August 12, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    I am rather unopinionated, however, one thing I wish there was a solution for is healthcare. I have been battling with the system for over two years now.

    When I first found out I was having a child, I was without health insurance. Simply being pregnant is not considered a qualifying life change that will allow you to add health insurance benefits through work; you have to actually have the child to be eligible. Otherwise you have to wait for the lovely enrollment period. The moment that your child is born, you then qualify and they will even back-bill the hospital and doctors to the day your child is born.

    So you may be thinking “well there is medical assistance.” Not necessarily true. I made approximately $24 too much per month to qualify for any government benefits. This is what I get for being a hard working citizen. I tried calling doctors asking what it would cost me to have a check up to see if the baby was ok. The doctor’s office told me that without insurance, they would not see me, as the costs ran too high. I was referred to the hospital (i.e. the medical assitance program) that once again told me I made too much money. It took me until I was almost 7 months pregnant to even get my first visit when someone finally figured out a way to get me to qualify.

    Fast forward two years. I lost my full time job and am only working temporarily. I finally got my son covered by CHIP but they’re giving me the run-around about something therefore, I still have no insurance. At least my son is finally caught up on his shots. I don’t care how they fix the system. It doesn’t have to be government run. But they need to do something. I would love to figure it out for them so no one has to go through what I have gone through.

    • 5 les@mamaneeds2rant August 12, 2009 at 10:40 pm

      I’m willing to bet just about anything that we’ll all be going through red tape like that once we’re all covered by a government plan. Isn’t CHIP run by the state? Another thing I’m willing to bet: while the rest of us poor sheep will be forced into a crappy government-run plan, the lawmakers themselves will no doubt be exempt from it and will continue with their top-of-the line medical coverage. They should be REQUIRED to use the same plan they stick us with–with no favortism.

  4. 6 Dawn August 12, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    BIG smiles! The truth always comes to the surface.

  5. 7 Chris August 13, 2009 at 12:40 am

    Obama’s teleprompters need to break down more often. I bet once the mind-control wears off, he’s not such a bad guy. 🙂

  6. 9 Peldyn August 14, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Ugh, healthcare. We all need it and many of us don’t have it. My youngest daughter doesn’t right now and she was thinking of going to a free clinic that was set up in Inglewood for the week. Last night on the news they said there were 33,000 people waiting in line with sleeping bags and small tents hoping to be seen by doctors. If that doesn’t show the magnitude of the problem then I don’t know what does. Needless to say she is not going and will just suffer without.

    • 10 les@mamaneeds2rant August 14, 2009 at 4:23 pm

      Ooh, that’s a shame about your daughter, Peldyn. I hope she’s OK. Unfortunately, we may all be waiting in lines for inferior care if the feds get their hands on things.

      They ought to leave all of us that have health insurance alone, and those that don’t, use all the money that the legislators waste on their pet projects (and on their outrageous perks and expenses) and provide necessary health care for those people. For most of us, it ain’t broken so don’t mess with it! And maybe if they cracked down on some of the rampant Medicare fraud going on, those savings alone could provide a lot of needed care.

  7. 11 Chani August 19, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Back in the day, they used to call that a “Freudian slip”. How right it is! The government IS terrible at running things.

    ~*


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,275 hits


