Twenty-Nine Years Ago Today

weddinggarterWe met at a party on the night I was determined to ignore the male of the species.  I had found out a guy I had a major crush on had decided to go another less complicated route.  He asked me to dance.  I hate to dance.  But I had enough beer in me and was tired of acting like a hard ass, so I figured what the hell.

We were young and immature.  He used to nonchalantly ride his bicycle around the building where I had my Econ class, at about the time when class let out.  He would stop by my dorm in the evenings after working out at the gym.  My parents liked him.  My dad thought he looked like Mark Spitz, the Olympic swimmer.

Fast forward quite a few years.  He still works out and rides his bike.  Our kids tell me I’m immature.  Still.  They’re usually laughing when they say it.

Me and Big Daddy.  What a long strange trip it’s been…

21 Responses to “Twenty-Nine Years Ago Today”


  1. 1 mousesurfer August 9, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Congrats! I love your picture too!

    Come visit this site. We discuss the latest news around the world and the web. Not just one topic, ALL of the news. You can also see the site’s twitter, main site, and soon to be coming, forum!

    The blog has a domain. We have only been open a little over a month and we are doing really well! Well, good luck with your site. Happy blogging!

    Blog:
    http://mousesurferblog.com/
    http://mousesurferblog.com/

  2. 2 Kathy August 9, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    wowwww that is too cute… happy anniversary 🙂

  3. 3 Kathy August 9, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    wowwww that is too cute! happy anniversary 🙂

  4. 4 Kathy August 9, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    sorry didnt mean to post those twice D:

  5. 6 Dawn August 9, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Big wishes for a wonderful celebration. How many years? And, if I’m not too prying, how did the name Big Daddy come too be?

    • 7 les@mamaneeds2rant August 9, 2009 at 6:48 pm

      29 years Dawn. Big Daddy probably thinks it’s like 129! And wouldn’t you like to know about the Big Daddy thing, haha. No, but seriously, Mama goes with Daddy, and he DOES work out, so he’s kinda big. Just seemed to make sense. 🙂

  6. 8 Cyndi August 9, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    I love this picture! You look beautiful. Happy Anniversary!

  7. 10 John August 9, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Congratulations! Wow, he really got you – riding his bike around. heh.

  8. 12 robinaltman August 9, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    You guys are totally adorable. Happy Anniversary!

  9. 14 Chris August 10, 2009 at 12:59 am

    Aww. You guys are still adorable. Strange, but well, that explains me. =P Here’s to many more years of wedded bliss for you two =)

  10. 16 Consuella Banana Hammock August 10, 2009 at 9:13 am

    love the pic! congrats you guys.

  11. 17 Dawn August 10, 2009 at 9:27 am

    After I hit the submit button, I realized your title answered one of my questions … felt like a turd for ten seconds.

    Oh, Big Daddy works out. Nice. 😉

  12. 19 Emily August 10, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    happy anniversary. nice legs!

  13. 20 anon August 13, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Very cute! Married life sometimes isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, but well worth it in the end!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,278 hits


