You Think The Terrible Twos Are Bad?

I’ve had things to write about, but I haven’t been ambitious enough to actually sit down and write.  Like the other night, Big Daddy and I were both awakened out of a dead sleep.  I had no idea what woke me up.  Big Daddy knew immediately that there had been another wreck on the street right at the top of our street.  Unlike the last wreck earlier this year, this one involved two sixteen-year-old girls.  One was life-flighted to a hospital; she had some internal injuries, a broken jaw and  some missing teeth.  We found out about the details when Youngest Son learned the next day that the injured girl is someone he knows; she’s good friends with the little sister of one of his good friends.  She should be okay, but we knew she was in trouble when we saw the imprint of her head in the windshield, the blood all over the front of her, and her spitting out some teeth.

Meanwhile, her buddy, the driver, was frantically talking to some guy on the cell phone scared out of her wits.  Oldest Son had already called 911, and when she heard the sirens, she really freaked out.  Although her door was jammed shut, she managed to climb out her window while crying and screaming that her parents were going to kill her.  Like the young guy in the previous accident, she was so out of it she actually thought she could leave the scene in her totaled crumpled car.  But just like the last crash, this one involved young inexperienced drivers going way too fast on a residential street, not wearing seat belts, and we’re pretty sure, alcohol.  Just like the last young driver, this girl also ended up being taken away in handcuffs.

It was almost 3:00 in the morning, and several of us were wondering what two sixteen-year-olds were doing out at that hour. I’m not about to pass judgement on their parents, however.  Like Judge Judy always says, “You can always tell when a teenager is lying.  It’s whenever their mouth is moving.”  Youngest Son concurred that the parents may have had no idea that their kids were out.  He said kids (especially girls) just tell their parents that they’re staying at a friend’s house.  Hmm, I wonder how he knows so much about this.  And, ahem, I guess maybe some of those awkward calls I made to parents to make sure they’d be around when Middle Son J planned to stay at someone’s house weren’t such a bad idea.

9 Responses to “You Think The Terrible Twos Are Bad?”


  1. 1 John August 6, 2009 at 3:30 am

    Yep. If you raise them the right way, they won’t stray too far. These ladies, I’d bet, had too much slack.

    • 2 les@mamaneeds2rant August 6, 2009 at 8:42 am

      But…you have to make sure you give them SOME slack. I’ve seen way too many cases where kids that had absolutely no freedom went absolutely crazy once they went to college or at the first opportunity when they got out of their parental “jail.”

  2. 3 Evenshine August 6, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Hopefully this will be the beginning of a long, quiet novitiate into a nice nunnery.

  3. 4 Dawn August 6, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    I was hit by a drunk driver when I was twenty and in my first new car. Totaled my car, I only had a whiplash. Best life lesson in hindsight.

    I’m glad her friend did not die. That would be too much to live with.

    • 5 les@mamaneeds2rant August 6, 2009 at 9:16 pm

      That would have been so awful. If the car had hit the concrete wall a few inches closer to the passenger side, it very possibly could have killed her. I hope these girls learned their lesson and never drink and drive again (or get in the car with a drunk driver).

      And I’m glad you’re still here to tell the tale, Dawn!

  4. 6 Cyndi August 6, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Oh how awful. I’m glad she’s going to be ok. I’m so not looking forward to the teenage years here. I’ll have 2 teenage boys driving at the same time. Ugh. I’m with you, I was kept in a parental prison and lied every time I was allowed out of the house. I will be making the same, ahem, follow-up calls as you.

  5. 7 Tammy August 7, 2009 at 1:56 am

    Now that I am a parent…the thought of parenting scares the hell out me. Does that make sense?

  6. 9 Emily August 7, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    i’d keep making those calls if i were you


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,431 hits


