Life In The Fast Lane Again

I’m happily speeding along, and this time I don’t have to worry about getting a citation from a Pennsylvania state trooper.  I am zipping from destination to destination along the interwebs, without any lags or stopovers in between.  Now I know how Middle Son J felt, hitting triple digit speed along the German autobahn in his rented Mercedes.  Mama’s flying, and it feels so good.

Yesterday, we replaced the memory in my turn-of-the century computer.  Oldest Son was glad to see that I actually remembered where the new memory goes.  I still let him do the actual replacement, though.  He took out the old memory, replaced it with the first new memory card, and said, “You now have double the memory you had before.”

Then he slid the second memory card into an additional empty slot.  That gave me 4x the memory.  Still, I could hardly be sure this would actually make a difference.  I don’t know why I had any doubt.  He has built his own computers, repaired and rebuilt others, but I’ve lived in the land of lag for so long, I just could not picture myself sitting behind this computer without having to watch the hourglass of death turn and tumble everytime I tried to venture off a site.  If you knew the torture I went through waiting to arrive at my favorite blogsites to read, or even waiting for it to catch up with my typing when I tried to post something, you would realize how truly hooked I am on this blogging thing.

I can save so much time now that my computer is “up to speed.”  And it happened in the nick of time.  I have discovered I could never be a farmer’s spouse.  It’s like a full-time job just trying to keep up with my little garden.  I only planted one tiny package of green bean seeds.  And every day I go out I end up with this:

endlessbeansThe beans are terrific, but you have to wash each and every one of the little suckers and snap the ends off.  Wash.  Snap.  Snap.  Wash.  Snap.  Snap.  It’s mind-numbingly boring.  And even my chow-hounds can’t eat all these veggies, so on top of finding different and tasty ways of cooking them, I have had to freeze some and give some away.  Not a big problem.  But it does take time.

Here is what I had left over from our two zucchini plants after giving two to my mom and also making this casserole yesterday:

twozucchiniNext month I should be elbow-deep in home-made salsa.  If only Oldest Son knew a way to speed up all this food processing!

2 Responses to “Life In The Fast Lane Again”


  1. 1 Cyndi July 26, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    Congrats on the “new” computer!

  2. 2 robinaltman July 26, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Yay for the new speedy computer. It’s nice, isn’t it? I have clogged up my hard drive with i Tunes TV shows, and I’d love some more memory right now. Too bad oldest son doesn’t live around here. . .


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,275 hits


