My Loyal Clone

I brought up the issue of family loyalty yesterday not because of any problems we are currently having with Big Daddy’s side of the family.  Most of those issues are way in the past.  They would have been but a blip on the radar screen if hubby would have understood that I needed him to stand by me.  The reason I brought the subject up was because of something that happened last week.

I mentioned that Oldest Son totaled his car last week.  Luckily, he had his seat belt on and was not injured at all.  But his car and the guard rail he hit were not so lucky.  He posted a picture of his twisted-up Toyota on his Facebook.  Naturally, he got a string of comments from concerned friends expressing sympathy and good wishes.  But he got one snarky unnecessary comment from the nasty little psychopath he was most recently dating.  Next to her evil ungrateful face were the words:   *covers mouth to hide laughter*

Upon seeing this, of course, my blood began to boil.  Oldest Son is the sweetest person in the world.  He, and we, did so much for this nasty bitch I don’t even know where to begin.  Despite red flags popping up EVERYWHERE, Big Daddy and I tried so hard to like her and give her the benefit of the doubt.  She used him shamelessly.  She lied to all of us.  Despite the fact that she was dating someone from a Catholic family, and was happily accepting scholarship money from the Catholic university she attends, she was one of those “devout Christians” who came from a “Christian” family that did not like Catholics.  She looked us all in the face and told us numerous times that 1.) She had been married but her husband had died.  She even made up what caused his death.  and 2.)  She had filed for divorce from the abusive husband but it had not quite gone through yet.  All of these things were untrue.  She was still married, had not filed for divorce, and started screwing around on her husband a few months after the marriage because he wasn’t servicing her enough.  Even then, after we found a totally damning piece of writing she had accidentally left at our house confirming all this and Oldest Son had civilly broken off the relationship, she felt the need to be so uncivil.

I controlled the urge to say what was in my head and instead commented sarcastically on what a good Christian she was and such a nice person, too.  After all, a woman my age sometimes needs to at least appear to be mature.  But my dear Middle Son J, all the way from Germany, let his true feelings fly.  He hurled personal insults.  He used the F-bomb.  And then he let Oldest Son know he was sorry about the car, and told him to find a nice replacement.

How wrong is it that I’m so proud of J?

12 Responses to “My Loyal Clone”


  1. 1 Cyndi July 24, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    NOT wrong at all! I would want to beat the skank down, and I’ve never been in an actual fight in my life. I’m proud of your restraint! Why should we have to appear to be mature when we don’t want to be? 🙂 I’m so proud of J for sticking up for his brother and I hope my boys grow up to be buds too. And I hope all involved blocked her from their FB profiles….I had to do it once and it seemed weird (like he’s no longer cool enough to be a FB friend or something idiotic like that) but truly needed no more contact (or sharing of personal info) from a psycho that I once thought was a friend.

  2. 3 robinaltman July 24, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Can’t be that wrong. I’m proud of J and I don’t even know J!

  3. 4 Emily July 24, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    that answers my question

  4. 5 Peldyn July 25, 2009 at 2:04 am

    Wow, I am glad he saw her true colors. It can be hard when your child marries and their spouse is a loser. Then you REALLY have to bite your tongue. Glad it didn’t get that far.

  5. 6 Evenshine July 25, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Yikes. Sounds like something out of Jerry Springer!

  6. 7 myra36 July 25, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    What a hooch! Well, I believe that karma is a bitch. She’ll get what she deserves and it’s gonna bite her in the ass.

    • 8 les@mamaneeds2rant July 25, 2009 at 4:43 pm

      In Oldest Son’s defense, he started talking to this chicky online when he was far away and lonely in Iraq. Most of the girls he brings home are nice and we’re all still friends so this was just a fluke. And I never met anyone like her that could look you right in the eye and lie on the fly. Jerry Springer? Definitely. You could hear them banjos playin’.

  7. 9 Chris July 26, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    Haha, I like your bloggin’ buddies. =)

  8. 11 anon July 27, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    I can see that there’s alot of resentment toward the girl. I agree that there are some people who tend to say one thing and do another, but can you say that anyone’s perfect? Don’t get me wrong, I’m not defending her in anyway, and I don’t condone what she did. You honestly have every right to be upset, but holding onto anger and frustration is not healthy. Why not do some more jogging that you’ve been talking about? It will do you body AND your mind some good.

    • 12 les@mamaneeds2rant July 27, 2009 at 6:47 pm

      Actually, anon, we never even think about her anymore UNLESS she does something ridiculous like that comment to remind us about her. When you’ve had someone just about live here for several months, eat most of her meals here, went to her concerts because her relatives couldn’t, and my son spent a lot of time and money on her and even sat for hours in the emergency room with her…I could go on and on. We treated her like family. She took advantage of us. And then SHE is the one who harbors ill will against us?? It’s just jaw-dropping insanity. But you’re right. We let the anger out, we’re over it, and a jog does sound like a good thing to do. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,921 hits


