Today I Became The Child

My oldest child is the coolest thing on the planet.  He’s smart, and self-assured in an awkward sort of way.  He does scary things that I would never be able to do, like drive half-way across the country to meet friends he’s met online.  I used to be afraid for him;  he’s lucked out so far.  One time he took a wrong turn into Camden New Jersey, one of the most crime-ridden cities in the USA.  He kept his head about him and lived to see another day.  It helped that his car was a heap.  Nobody wanted to car-jack him.

This week he wrecked his heap.  Tomorrow he’s going to look at some used cars to replace his heap.  He’s been busy helping Big Daddy replace our basement door.  He’s been busy hanging out with friends.  I finally snagged him to help me speed up my sloooowwww computer of death.  He wasn’t about to make it easy on me.

For a few days, I haven’t bothered to turn on my computer until late in the day.  The longer it’s on, the slower and more useless it gets.  And Oldest Son told me the computer has to be off, and I have to have everything unhooked from it before he can replace the RAM from his old computer into mine.  But when I realize he’s too busy to help me with this, I finally give in and turn it on.  Today, I was finally able to snag him.  He took the back off my computer.  He did the same with his old computer.  He was not about to let me get off easy and just do the deed.  He expected me to watch and learn.  He had become…me!

I finally got to see what the inner workings of a computer looks like.  He showed me where the RAM goes.  I asked him what some of the other things were.  He tried to replace my pathetically inadequate RAM with what was in his computer…and guess what?  It’s not gonna work.  His was just a little bit different than what my computer needed, so he got online on his phone and ordered the hard-to-find almost obsolete part that I needed.  He made me watch and learn, just like we always made him do.

I also managed to dislodge about two complete hand fulls of dust from my computer.  No wonder the thing wouldn’t cooperate.  It was dust bunny hell.

Tomorrow I’m going to read this post and see if it makes any sense.  You see, I cleaned out the cabinet underneath my kitchen island and found some Jose Cuervo tequila and some unopened Margarita mix.  Then I asked Big Daddy if we had any salt to put on the rim of my glass.  I really thought we finished it, but he insisted we hadn’t.  He found it and made me a couple of dandy Margaritas.  I know I’ve had to backspace quite a few times to correct some typos, but I’m not sure if I caught them all.  I feel likeI’m back in college right now, trying to finish an assignment with a good buzz on.  Does Mama still have it?  Let me know, peeps.

14 Responses to “Today I Became The Child”


  1. 1 Michelle July 21, 2009 at 9:57 am

    Oh Mama, you still have it! I read your post this morning and it gave me great comfort because this summer I have watched my oldest (now at the ripe and wise age of 13) doing everything she can to assert her independence and become a child of the world. She is rarely home, mostly to just change clothes and grab a couple of Oreos before she is off to her next social gathering. I love that she has developed into this magnificent and capable and confident person but I have found myself missing her this summer. I miss hanging out at the pool with her and painting out toenails together. These are things she would rather do with her friends for now. So I watch her move about in her life and try to at least pat myself on the back for having created such a young girl who is confident enough to want to fly free but who knows she has been raised with enough love and security that she knows she has a safe place to land when she is ready. It is nice watching our children bloom and exhibit the traits we have tried so hard to instill in them. Is it too early for a Margarita? Maybe just some Bailey’s in my coffee 🙂

    • 2 les@mamaneeds2rant July 21, 2009 at 11:28 am

      Ah, thanks for your vote of confidence, Michelle. Bailey’s in the coffee sounds like a great idea LOL. You’ll miss the physical presence of your daughter while she’s off with her friends, but trust me, she’s with you. And when she’s done asserting her independence, you’ll be friends for life.

  2. 3 Dawn July 21, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    Dust bunny hell. I’ve just gotten inspired to look under the bed. If you can go there, so can I.

    Enjoy Margarita-ville while it lasts.

  3. 5 Cyndi July 21, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Impressive! I never would have known you were half in the bag if you hadn’t mentioned it. 🙂

  4. 7 myra36 July 21, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    Mama still has it! Lol.

  5. 9 robinaltman July 21, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    You’ve definitely still got it1 Plus, you’re way nicer than me. I would have been holding my hands over my ears and yelling, “No! I don’t want to know this! I hate you!” I’m not real fun to teach.

  6. 11 Consuella Banana Hammock July 22, 2009 at 9:57 am

    see i married a computer geek so i have a computer help desk at my service at all times. he does get cranky about it sometimes though! and i totally laughed at the end. i have written a couple of times under the influence and it didn’t turn out nearly as well.

  7. 13 tobeme July 22, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Looks like you did very well. Have a great day!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 168,956 hits


