My Weird and Awesome Family

The weather’s been great, the scale has been kind to me lately, and my garden has produced some awesome lettuce for salads, tons of green beans which I’ve been roasting rather than boiling (much tastier), and zucchini, which thankfully, the kids have learned to enjoy.  Other family news:

Big Daddy is on vacation from work next week.  He planned it specifically so that he would be off for the “most interesting” week of the Tour de France.  He’s been filling up the DVR with three hours of Tour de France every day all month!  Even sports nut, Youngest Son, has to agree with me that three hours of watching a bunch of skinny guys riding bikes over mountains every day is a bit much.  The scenery is beautiful, the athleticism is impressive, but after about 10 minutes, I’m done.  Big Daddy is mesmerized for the entire three hours.  Perhaps he envisions himself pedaling over the Pyrenees instead of maneuvering over the hills of Western Pa., running into chasing Rottweilers that get in his way.

Oldest Son got his new computer yesterday.  This is a double yay!  Not only won’t I have to listen to him bitching about the lag in his gaming, but he’s going to take apart the computer he was using and use the parts to speed up my computer, which is an antique in the computer world.  I knew there was an upside to raising a quirky genius.

Youngest Son, poor kid, just wants to relax.  He works so hard during the school year.  He worked three jobs last summer.  This year, he decided to take a break and not apply to work Steelers training camp.  He had fun doing it last year, but it’s a seven day work week while they’re there.  He already works four days a week in the biology lab.  He’s also been busy tutoring my nephew in math and doing yard work for someone on his day off.  And he still finds time to run, bike, and work out in the gym after work!   He makes me tired.

Middle Son J is scheduled to come home from Germany in a couple weeks!  We can’t wait!  However,  instead of spending his time and money on going to school this semester, he wants to buy a new used truck, a dirt bike, and a jet ski!  We don’t even live near a freaking lake!  He’s been away from Mama too long.  It’s affecting his mind.

Love ya, fam! ❤

11 Responses to “My Weird and Awesome Family”


  1. 1 not yet July 16, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    Nice family. I have a nice family too. Question for you. I bet you a case of beer that I know someone that has your childrens great great grand fathers wedding cert. If this question opens a can of worms I won’t blame you If you don’t reply. Thank you not yet PS I’am not very good on computers. Was born in BC [before computers]

    • 2 les@mamaneeds2rant July 16, 2009 at 12:25 pm

      I am intrigued, Not Yet. I’m assuming it would be great great grandfather on daddy’s side. You are obviously good enough on computers to have read and replied to my little blog–which would put you light years ahead of my side of the family 🙂 I believe what you’re saying so I’m not gonna bet that case of beer–how about we split it instead and you can e-mail me on who has that wedding certificate. Thanks for the cryptic comment!

  2. 3 Tammy July 16, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    Phew!

    Your husband makes me laugh.

    Your oldest son makes me feel dumb.

    Your youngest son makes me feel lazy.

    You middle son makes me want to go out and play!

    What a great family.

  3. 5 Cyndi July 16, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Well, that was a very interesting comment!

    Love the post too! It’s great to hear that your son will be back home soon. 🙂

  4. 7 Chris July 17, 2009 at 1:49 am

    ‘Not Yet’ is clearly a member of the Illuminati.

  5. 8 "J" July 17, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    mom PA has 3 rivers that run through Pittsburgh. AND there are a lot of lakes around haha youre crazy.

    • 9 les@mamaneeds2rant July 17, 2009 at 5:03 pm

      But you freakin’ have to tow it everywhere. We’re not ON any lakes. And where are you going to store the things? You just have too much money right now and I’ll be happy to take some of it off your hands 🙂

  6. 10 robinaltman July 18, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    Your family is a hoot! I love the idea of watching the Tour de France. I didn’t even know it was televised! I’m going to televise myself eating breakfast. That should be pretty exciting. Today I tried Coconut Milk on Reeses Puffs.

    A boat with no lake sounds like a great idea! D’oh!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,275 hits


