From Red To Blue

I try to be a good little Capitalist.  I really do.  I believe in Capitalism.  In its purist form, it most efficiently meets the needs of the people.  Good products are desired; good producers are rewarded.   Throw in a few rigorously enforced laws to ensure product and worker safety and environmental protection and we have our own little Industrial Garden of Eden.  Busy workers providing safe products to happy consumers.  Job seekers free to come and go, paid exactly what their ambition and skill level are worth.  I tried to do my part today to keep those idealistic wheels turning.

I’ve had a 10% discount coupon for Home Depot hanging on my kitchen bulletin board for weeks.  It expires later this week.  I’d like to upgrade my rusty old patio table and chairs.  I’d like to buy a couple more of the really nice chaise lounge chairs I splurged on a couple of years ago.  We want to take advantage of the energy credit and buy a more energy efficient basement door.  I wanted to help the economy and spend, while getting some good deals with clearance sales and my coupon.  I even managed the impossible — to drag Big Daddy shopping to help me lug the goodies home!

The private sector did not end up getting any of my money today.  I found one chaise lounge made exactly like the two I have, and would have eagerly bought it, but they changed the color scheme and it wouldn’t match.  The selection of table and chairs was meager, and of course, in the preferred color scheme of this year, which seems to be black.  The couple styles of doors they carried did not have a window that would look good with the windows on our garage doors.  I couldn’t even find a wooden picture frame at Target that wasn’t black.  We left both stores empty-handed, except for the coupon that was begging to be used.

Instead, I supported the public sector with my hard-earned funds.  I was trying not to burn out my brakes cruising down the hill that leads out of our plan earlier in the day.  The cop said I was doing 41 mph in a 25 mph zone.  I told him it’s really hard to go 25 mph down that hill.  I knew he didn’t much care but he was very nice about it.  He said  he was only going to cite me for failure to obey posted traffic signs instead of a regular speeding ticket, which would save me about $50 and not give me any points against my driving record.  It was my very first traffic ticket.  Big Daddy said I was lucky to have gotten off so easy, but it was better when I was young and cute and got off with a verbal warning.  The only ones that seem lucky to me are the ones who are getting my money:  $10 to EMS, $30 to Medical Care Availability and Reduction of Error Fund, $10 to Judicial Computer Project/Access to Justice, “costs” of $34.50, while the fine itself was $25.  There is no such thing as a bargain in the public sector.

3 Responses to “From Red To Blue”


  1. 1 Evenshine July 13, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Aint it always the way? Congrats on your first (!) ticket. Mine was at 16. And yay for capitalism!

  2. 2 Cyndi July 13, 2009 at 10:50 am

    What a frustrating day!

  3. 3 Dawn July 13, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Oh, that bites. A ticket going down a hill. You might have gone even faster with chaise lounge chairs in the back 😉


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,921 hits


