On Health Care: Run It Like A Business

On June 15, I got my Extended Benefits Unemployment Compensation forms in the mail.  These come from the state; unlike the regular state unemployment which can be filed online, these forms must be filled out and sent in by a specific date or “you may be ineligible for benefits for the week you are claiming.”  I looked at the claim forms and these are the dates I had to sign, date, and mail on:  5/24/09, 5/31/09, 6/7/09, and the last one 6/14/09.  Did I mention I got the thing in my mailbox on 6/15/09??

We’re all aware of the many Federal government clusterfu**s, one of the worst being the handling of Hurricane Katrina.  Almost everything the government does is done wrong.  I’m not sure if it’s the endless paper-pushing bureaucracy, an I-don’t-care attitude as long as I get my paycheck thing, or the fact that do-nothing politicians have a habit of rewarding their do-nothing supporters and friends with government jobs.  They also don’t have to worry about the bottom-line, or showing a profit like real organizations.  They just find something new to tax.  American taxpayers are the collapsing banks; government bureaucrats and politicians are the thieves robbing them blind.

My two hard-working older sons have to deal with mind-numbing military bureaucracy.  They’ve had to fight for every benefit they were promised when signing up to help defend their country. Oldest Son has had educational loans they promised to pay from 2003.  A mountain of paperwork resulted in one small payment being made; the last effort produced no results, and by now, the loan is probably accruing more interest than it was originally worth.  He has also had almost his entire reserve paycheck deducted erroneously for months due to some SNAFU someone made–and finally acknowledged–since quite a few in his unit were affected.  How long until they fix it?  Only God knows.  It’s just a good thing my son doesn’t have a family to support right now.

Everything the government touches becomes either corrupt or bankrupt.  Why did our banks fail?  Government mandates that forced banks to make loans to people that were poor risks had way more to do with the meltdown than corporate greed.  Business executives don’t take stupid risks like this if they want to make a profit.  They don’t have the luxury of being able to pick the pockets of the middle class to bail themselves out of their poor decisions.  Endless government regulations (beyond the necessary ones to ensure a safe workplace) and kowtowing to excessive union demands have caused our products to be overpriced and out of demand in the global economy.

Lee Iacocca, a business whiz who pretty much successfully raised Chrysler from the dead back in the early 1980’s using a government loan worth more than $1 billion, told The Associated Press that government intervention was strong motivation to repay the loan early.  “Their oversight is just too extreme,” said Iacocca, which was why “our 10 year loan, we paid it back in three years.  We couldn’t stand the government.  The bureaucracy kills you.”

Do you think it’s going to be any different when they take over our health care?  A very few people may be slightly better off at the expense of the rest of the nation.  Can you imagine the Federal government getting their greedy hands on all the health care dollars spent with their reputation for no accountability?  Do you want those amoral pinheads deciding whether your illness is one of the ones they deem worthy of being cured?  Can you even imagine the paperwork and time lag that every little procedure will entail?

The bottom line is, people are worried about government-run health care.  If they could find an intelligent business executive like Mr. Iacocca to run it, and have the checks and balances provided by a free-market system rather than oversight by government drones, it might not be so scary.  It’s frustrating when government bureaucracy doesn’t repay the loans they promised to pay or denies you the unemployment benefits you could use.  It’s a matter of life and death, however, when you put them in charge of your health care.

8 Responses to “On Health Care: Run It Like A Business”


  1. 1 Tammy June 29, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    ***STANDING OVATION***

  2. 3 robinaltman June 29, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Oh, man, am I torn on this issue. I fear the government screwing everything up and having no accountability. On the other hand, I am so pissed at insurance companies, I can hardly stand to practice medicine.

    A typical scenario – I recommend a certain medicine for a child which I feel will treat their illness without exacerbating their tics or bipolar illness. They deny it. I spend 15 minutes filling out a form to protest this, giving the medical rationale for my decision. They deny it. I ask for a doctor/doctor review. I put aside time for this – time I’d like to spend with other kids. The doctor says, “Not until they’ve failed trials of X and Y”. I explain why X and Y would be bad for this kid. He denies it. By the way, he’s not even a child psychiatrist. I’m a double board certified child psychiatrist, thank you.

    I give the phone the finger and shout, “F–K!!!!!”
    Will the government be better? Who knows. I just can’t stand this.

    • 4 mamaneeds2rant June 29, 2009 at 8:56 pm

      Oh Robin, I feel your pain. The double speak of our insurance policies makes sure no one understands them. We’re charged twice as much on a copay for a drug that works better for hubby and is less dangerous because I’m sure the drug company of the cheaper one has more clout. If I had to deal with this crap as a doctor, I’d be walking around with my middle finger constantly in the upward position. But trust me, you’ll have even bigger idiots in charge if the government is in there. I mean, even the biggest douchebag at the insurance company wouldn’t order $6000 toilet seats.

  3. 5 Cyndi June 29, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    I couldn’t agree more about the government getting involved in health care or anything else for that matter.

    About the banks though….they were making a profit. The banks, mortgage companies and Wall Street lobbied Washington to loosen FNMA & FHLMC guidelines but no one forced any of the lenders into anything. Wall Street was paying big bucks for those crappy loans and everyone from the government to the CEOs just looked the other way, completely ignoring even the looser guidelines, as the money kept rolling in. Wall Street pulled out in August 2007 and that’s what led to the mess we are in now. It was, and always has been, about money and profit.

    • 6 mamaneeds2rant June 30, 2009 at 12:24 am

      I’m sure you saw a lot of that greed working in the industry, Cyndi. But it is also my understanding that under the Clinton Admin. banks were required to finance homes in high risk markets or face very large fines, causing lending standards to be relaxed. Greed set in when the lenders saw they could dump these risky loans. Of course, the politicians are only too happy to place all the blame elsewhere. http://ibdeditorial.com/IBDArticles.aspx?id=306370789279709

  4. 7 Cyndi July 1, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Yep, the CRA was amended under Clinton and then W. took the credit for increased homeownership when he ran for his 2nd term. They’re all a bunch of corrupt, greedy #&$^#&$^ in my opinion. The bigger problem though was that lenders stopped lending based on whether or not the borrower could and would repay and started lending based on what Wall Street would buy.

  5. 8 robinaltman July 1, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    Great point! And you know, I do walk around all day with my middle finger up. I tell people it’s broken.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,894 hits


