This Wasn’t The Post I’d Planned

I’ve been falling a little behind in writing so I actually wrote down on my to-do list for today to write about some little topic I’d been thinking about for the past few days.  It was the last thing left for me to do on my list.  Just then, a little before 5:00pm, Youngest Son said he just got a text saying Michael Jackson was dead.  I thought someone had made a mistake.I had just heard a couple hours earlier that Farrah Fawcett had passed away.  I thought that maybe someone got their facts mixed up.

There’s the old saying that deaths come in threes.  Ed McMahon just died the other day, but he was pretty old.  Farrah’s death wasn’t unexpected because she was very sick.  But Michael Jackson’s death was out of the blue.  He was a year younger than me.  There were no reports about him suffering from any physical ailments.  I looked at my Comcast homepage, and at the time, it just mentioned that Michael Jackson had suffered from a heart attack.  Then it hit me that he actually could have died.

All three of these celebrities were a peripheral part of my youth.  I remember them back in the 70’s when I still lived at home:  Farrah’s shining face smiling from the poster on my younger brother’s bedroom wall, Ed McMahon sucking up to Johnny every night with his booming laugh and later hosting Star Search, and Michael Jackson’s teen-aged voice singing from my old transistor radio.  And through all these decades, they’ve changed yet still stayed in the public eye.  Each in their own way left their mark on pop culture.  And while their contributions were not life-altering, they each added color and texture to the background of our lives.

4 Responses to “This Wasn’t The Post I’d Planned”


  1. 1 Cyndi June 26, 2009 at 9:03 am

    Great minds do think alike. Great post about these 3 people who we didn’t actually know but who affected us nonetheless.

  2. 2 Dawn June 26, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    This wasn’t the day I planned now that I think of it. None of my neighbors have a sup of coffee to spare. These people were a part of my life in really sweet ways.

    Deaths and pregnancies come in threes … mystical isn’t it?! No more mystical than Cyndi picking up vibes hundreds of miles away.

  3. 3 robinaltman June 28, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    So sad. I feel worse about Farrah. If I ever get ass cancer, I’m going to go shoot heroine and get AIDS. And my proctologist better never breathe a friggin’ word. Or else.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,275 hits


