Making Money Or Cleaning House?

I’m not on vacation or anything, although after this week I could probably use one. I haven’t been writing (or reading) much because this Saturday is our second annual community yard sale. And this year, I’m legitimately participating.

Although last year, I did sell some items and then gave away a lot of stuff I didn’t sell, I still ended up with a bunch of plastic crates still filled with some pretty good stuff.  I stuffed them under our pool table downstairs and figured that if Oldest Son actually does move out on his own, he could use a lot of these things.  If not, they were all cleaned and tagged for a future yard sale.  There are also some really nice books and Lego and Duplo sets that I am optimistically saving for grandchildren-to-be.  But then, the two younger sons got ambitious and decided to clean out their bedrooms.  Suddenly, not only did I have the crates nicely stored under the pool table, but I ended up with piles of boxes stored in the middle room of our basement.  So this week, I spent a huge chunk of time going through these boxes, ruthlessly throwing out the unusable junk, and readying the expendable treasures for the sale this Saturday.

I’m not doing this to make a huge amount of money.  For all the hours it takes setting up, I’m actually making nothing.  But I’m cleaning out the basement and that’s HUGE!  This actually gives me a deadline and a purpose to go downstairs and organize and sort for hours.  And truth be told, I must have some merchant blood in me because I actually enjoy the day of the sale, sitting in the sun and chatting to the shoppers.

The person actually making some money is the entrepreneurial young woman that organized these sales.  This was a great idea, and I think she’s going to continue to set up this annual sale.  This year she’s charging each participating household $10, which is cheaper than if we tried to put an ad ourselves in the paper (@ $20+ for a three-day ad).  She is doing all the work of printing maps, placing directional signs, and advertising.  She’s earned every penny and more not only putting out the money for the local newspaper ad, but also setting up notices on Facebook and craigslist.  There are over 60 houses participating in our housing plan and the adjoining plan, so the crowds should be coming.  This area has always been a popular area for garage sales, and in this economy, a lot of people are looking for bargains.

I hope it doesn’t rain tomorrow because if it does, the sale will be next week and I’m getting tired of all the stuff set up in my garages.  I want to be able to use them to park my cars in again.  Most of all, I want to be done with this so I can get back to my normal blog reading and ranting schedule.  Wish me luck!

12 Responses to “Making Money Or Cleaning House?”


  1. 1 myra36 June 12, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    I love garage sales! My parents have one every summer. Doesn’t it feel great to purge?

    Best of luck!

    🙂

  2. 3 Paula June 12, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    I love garage sales too. Our town has a community sale weekend and they do all the promotions and maps for free. It’s a lot of fun to see what’s out there. I hate pricing things though. I usually set up tables that say anything on this table 1 dollar etc. No matter what you price it someone will inevitably say…Will ya take a quarter for it?…ACK! Good luck with your sale!

  3. 5 Tammy June 12, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Good luck!

    I love garage sales because it means coffee, donuts, and haggeling over the $30 crockpot I never took out of the box trying to get a least $5.00…ahahaa!

  4. 6 Cyndi June 13, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Good luck and good for you on your cleaning frenzy! Funny, I rarely feel that motivated and my one experience with a garage sale taught me it’s not for me.

  5. 7 Dawn June 13, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Oh, I’m reminded of days gone by! Garage sales used to be such a part of my summer repertoire. Now I rent a storage shed and fill it up with stuff that needs a new home. Such is the life of an urban apartment dweller, a girl without a garage or a garden.

    Love this post.

  6. 8 robinaltman June 14, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    Good luck! I wish we had a neighbor like that! It sounds awesome. Just don’t let any of those evil garage sale professionals rip you off. I’ve heard they can get mighty pushy with words like, “I’ll take the whole lot for 5 bucks,” and things of that nature.

    • 9 mamaneeds2rant June 14, 2009 at 6:21 pm

      No pros came by, Robin. I might not have made a whole heckuva lot more than what they would have offered for my stuff, but there were sure a lot of happy little faces leaving the sale with their bargain loot!

  7. 10 "J" June 14, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    i heard about how i wrote my name followed by “!!!” on everything i owned when i was little… like youngest son said, lets hope someone with the same name as me comes to buy my stuff 🙂 haha sorry.. it was cool at the time ha

  8. 12 Sam June 15, 2009 at 2:45 am

    Wow, best of luck!!! That community yard sale idea is fantastic!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 169,818 hits


