Make A Change Challenge–Week 6

Tammy’s Make A Change Challenge is in the final stages–only a couple more weeks to go!  Let’s just say I’ll probably never squeeze into size 6 pants again.  I’ll hang on to the size 8’s but I’m not even sure about them.   But I’m maintaining.  This is no small feat for a girl who loves food the way I do.  I’d rather run ’til I drop than give up the chow.

I subscribe to Jillian Michael’s (from Biggest Loser) newsletter.  One tip she had got me thinking:

Get Intense
Ever notice the color-coded exercise “zones” listed on cardio machines? There’s a “fat burning” zone, an “endurance training” zone, and so forth. The colors look nice, but how many times have you chosen the “fat burning” zone and watched as your fat stayed put? That’s because fat-burning programs keep you at a lower intensity level, when to lose weight you really need to burn big calories. That only happens when you exercise at a higher-intensity level.
Let’s look at the math. In a half hour of low-intensity exercise, you might burn 100 calories. Of those 100 calories, roughly 80 percent will be fat calories, meaning that you’ve burned 80 fat calories. In a half hour of high-intensity exercise, you might burn 300 calories. Of those 300 calories, roughly 33 percent will be fat calories, meaning that you’ve burned around 100 fat calories.

This seemed logical to me, and in fact, I’ve often told people I could walk a marathon and I wouldn’t lose weight like I do when I run even just a mile a day.  So even though I’m still eating like Michael Phelps, I’ve started using my treadmill and working on increasing my pace.  I alternate laps between a walk (at 3 to 3.5) and a jog (4 to 4.2), then walk, then slow run (5 to 5.2), and continue the pattern each time increasing the run speed.  So far I’ve made it up to 7 on the treadmill speed.  I can handle the torture for 1 lap so I don’t quit, but I’m getting a heck of a workout overall.  And I lost a pound this week, without denying myself any goodies!

6 Responses to “Make A Change Challenge–Week 6”


  1. 1 robinaltman June 9, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    I got similar advice from Zack, the fanatical health nut Alvernia student who gives my son tennis lessons and is ridiculously hot. He told me to alternate speeds on the treadmill – 2 minutes on 4.2, then 1 minute on 6 or as high as you can stand – for a total of 8 times. (2 minutes plus 1 minute is one time). He says it’s the most efficient use of the treadmill to burn calories and increase your metabolism. I did it last night at the gym, and then I went to my car and dry heaved. I’m adding 50 burnt calories due to embarrassment.

    • 2 mamaneeds2rant June 9, 2009 at 11:27 pm

      Yes! It’s torture when you’re doing the fast lap, but overall I think it’s worse when you’re just doing an endless semi-fast run with no slow down in sight. I can push myself to go fast for a finite amount of time if I know I’ll be able to catch my breath and walk for a while. I’m glad ridiculously hot Zack agrees! 🙂

  2. 3 Cyndi June 9, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    Just as long as you don’t start smoking what Michael Phelps does…I’m told that leads to increased eating. 🙂

    Good for you! I have yet to get serious about this. You can get into those size 6’s, especially now that you’re so into it. I’ve done it and I’m going to do it again dammit! Hubby and I discussed it and can afford our gym membership again starting next month. I can’t wait.

    • 4 mamaneeds2rant June 9, 2009 at 11:33 pm

      Oh, yeah. I almost forgot about Michael Phelps recreational smoking–no wonder the poor boy’s so hungry LOL. Anyways, I’m going to have to do double time on the treadmill–tonight, I just majorly pigged out watching my Penguins win!! Go Pens! It was such a nail biting game–I needed those Doritos and beer, etc…


  1. 1 How Can I Find My Fat Burning Zone Trackback on June 10, 2009 at 7:51 am
  2. 2 Make A Change Challenge Finale « Mamaneeds2rant’s Weblog Trackback on June 23, 2009 at 1:09 pm

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 169,818 hits


