Just What Would They Do Without Me?

Big Daddy likes to pretend that I think that I know everything and that I think I’m always right.  Got that?  I know I’m not always right, just a huge percentage of the time.  It’s bad enough that he scoffs at my incredible reasoning and discerning skills, but then, do you know what he does?  He expects me to KNOW EVERYTHING!! The same thing goes for the younger members of my family.  They mock me, roll their eyes when I try to tell them something, but then they expect me to know exactly where everything in the house is located, when they’ll need a particular item of clothing washed, and every other detail of their lives (except, or course, for the interesting stuff, like the juicy details of their latest date, etc.).

Case in point:  I keep track of all our expenditures in my Quicken program.  It makes things really easy at tax time and if we’re ever so inclined to want to know, we can tell exactly where our money is being spent if there’s ever a problem.  If I get a receipt, it’s in Quicken.  If we need to locate that receipt, I can find when we purchased an item so I know which year’s shoebox to find it.  But…if I don’t get the receipt, it’s not in Quicken.  It’s probably in one of Big Daddy’s umpteen piles of crap–on the fridge, in the garage, somewhere “safe,” in his car, etc.

Last week he was looking for the receipt to some bath faucets we bought that had a lifetime guarantee.  We needed to order a replacement part.  I checked the Quicken program to find when we bought it.  I found kitchen sink faucets, other bath faucets, but nothing for that particular faucet.  If I would have ever had that receipt in my hands, it would have been recorded, I kept insisting, although I could feel the doubt just emanating from hubby.  Luckily, he was able to get a duplicate receipt and detailed paperwork  printed at the store where we had purchased the item.

The ordered item comes, and it’s not the right part.  Big Daddy needs the copy of the receipt to check what we should have gotten.  Of course, even though I never held this new receipt in my hands, he insists that I must have taken it and put it somewhere.  Because I think I mentioned that when he was through with it, I’d like to have it so I could record it.  But I never got it.  If I did, I insisted, it would be with all the other paperwork on my desk right now.  Which it isn’t.

This is just the latest example.  If anyone in this house can’t find something, they automatically expect me to know what they did with it.  Like I actually go around putting things away?! Ha!  And then they actually blame me for the item mysteriously disappearing, like I have nothing better to do.

Youngest Son always needs me to find something for him when I’ve just settled into the most comfortable spot.  A lot of times I’ll tell him where the item should be, and then he insists that it’s not.  So I’ll get off my comfy seat, wondering why the item is not where it should be, and there it is.  Exactly where I told him to look.  He’ll insist he looked there, several times.  I guess only Mommy’s magic eyes can see certain things.

Being that they expect me to be a mind-reading all-knowing goddess, you’d think they’d at least try to treat me like one!

12 Responses to “Just What Would They Do Without Me?”


  1. 1 Cyndi June 7, 2009 at 2:31 am

    LOL – this must be a common problem for us moms that are the only women in the house…or maybe it’s all moms. I am not nearly as organized as you. In fact, hubby handles the finances and is extremely anal about it. I’ll probably be writing about that soon. Anyway, my boys (hubby included) even seem to need my expert finding-things-skills for important and elusive items such as catsup or barbecue sauce, which are always, ALWAYS kept in the refrigerator door. And good point…if we have such magical skills, why aren’t we treated like goddessess?!

  2. 2 Consuella Banana Hammock June 7, 2009 at 3:11 am

    i’ve often asked myself how men discovered anything. i mean seriously…i feel your pain. in a house full of men, i am apparently the only one with eyeballs.

    • 3 mamaneeds2rant June 7, 2009 at 9:50 am

      Haha. It’s nice to know, ladies, that I’m not the only one. And I think it’s just dumb luck they discover things. Big Daddy says it’s because guys aren’t afraid to try new things–I say it’s because they’re dumb enough to do things that a sane person wouldn’t do–and sometimes it pans out for them!

  3. 4 Cyndi June 7, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    That’s true too! Christopher Columbus wasn’t LOOKING for America after all. Now, if his mom had been with him… 🙂

  4. 6 robinaltman June 7, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    My mom has rebelled against this in her old age. She told my dad, “No more ‘where is’! I quit! Don’t ask!” It’s not really working. She gives into my dad’s panic. What a wuss.

  5. 7 Sam June 8, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    Completely agree!! HAHA!!!

  6. 8 Paula June 10, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Oh I can so relate. I swear my kids are on autopilot and say I can’t find before they open a door or drawer. Good Luck!

  7. 9 Dawn June 10, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    We are the feminine divine and everybody knows it, they just don’t want you to know they know it 😉

  8. 11 lynetteb June 27, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    so funny! i made my husband get his own credit card, ’cause he has been riding on mine since we got married, and i want him to have a separate card as we separate our finances. he actually cannot remember what he uses it on, and asks me what the charges are… how the hell do i know? it’s not my card!

    my whole family tells me i boss them around, and then they get annoyed if i “forget to tell them” something. i think they need to get their own mental ticker-tape working…


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 172,283 hits


