Mulling Over The World’s Problems

“We always did feel the same, We just saw it from a different point of view…” – Bob Dylan from Tangled Up In Blue

I get so annoyed sometimes when people, often older people (like my mom), go on and on about how horrible the world is, and that things were never this bad before.  Like somehow, all of a sudden, human nature has mutated into some unrecognizably evil force.  Do these people forget their history lessons?  Eons of torture, human sacrifice, slavery, and subordination are part of human history.  It all still exists today, but this generation of humans didn’t invent it.

Then again, I look at things today and have to acknowledge that a lot of things really suck.  A lot of the problems in the United States today are due to the culture of irresponsibility.  Fathers (or mothers) don’t want to be burdened with child rearing, so they walk away.  People want instant gratification and rack up credit card bills they can’t ever afford to pay.  Criminals sometimes get away with their heinous crimes by blaming their sad upbringing; litigants often profit on their own carelessness by finding someone with deep pockets.  Meanwhile, the rest of us (and I hope we’re still the majority), are not rewarded for our devotion to our loved ones, our work ethic and self-control, or our honesty.  In fact, we’re left to foot the bill for the deadbeats.

For a while, I thought anyone left of center on the political spectrum was working toward the destruction of the American dream.  I still believe that the free market economy is the most efficient economy.  It rewards excellence, and allows those willing to work for their dream to reach it.  It lifts everyone up by encouraging production, ingenuity, and entrepreneurship rather than creating a disincentive for excellence by taking from the most productive citizens and rewarding those that would rather just have fun.

Many of the blogs I read and love are written by very intelligent people who also hate irresponsibility.  They care about our world and want what’s best for their kids.  Just like me.  But their politics are very different from mine.  I’ve come to realize that, except for the lunatic fringe on both sides of the spectrum, most of us are decent people.  Except for most politicians, we probably don’t have a hidden agenda.  We just want to live happy and productive lives.

Sometimes I hear people wondering what they can do to make things better.  From time to time, I’m probably going to offer my humble opinion on what we, as individuals, can do to counter this self-centered culture of irresponsibilty.  I see it as one of the biggest threats to life as we know it, and I need to speak out.   And I promise to do it in the most nonpartisan way.

8 Responses to “Mulling Over The World’s Problems”


  1. 1 Cyndi June 4, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Amen. Great rant!

  2. 3 Evenshine June 4, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    But the problem comes in what constitutes irresponsibility. How do we define that? I agree, though, that most people are just doing the best with what they have. I think we need to strive to do more.

  3. 5 robinaltman June 4, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    Very enjoyable rant!!! I have a really weird personality. (No snorting over there. I heard that.) Whenever I hear an opinion coherently stated, I almost always agree with it. I fear that I could now read a fabulous essay on how we are the most generous generation the world has ever seen, and nod and agree just as enthusiastically as I did with this post.

    • 6 mamaneeds2rant June 4, 2009 at 11:27 pm

      Hmmm. I would bet you are a fantastic poker player, Robin, since I now have no idea whether you truly agree or not. However, I’m very glad you enjoyed. And it’s nice to know that on occasion I can be coherent. LOL

  4. 7 Tammy June 4, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    Very well put!

    Our society has gotten very laxidazel (sp?) in our work ethic and accountablity.

    Every generation seems to be handed more and more without having to work for what they want out of life. This combined with so many other mixed messages in our society/government there seems to be a very complacent attitude????

    • 8 mamaneeds2rant June 4, 2009 at 11:51 pm

      Very true, Tammy. When you’re handed everything, why work for it? And why live responsibly when you know the folks (or the government) will bail you out.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,879 hits


