Welcome To Crab-Apple Farm

It was too nice to do housework today.  It was 80 degrees and I’m in summer mode.  I grabbed up my coupons, sweet-talked Oldest Son into accompanying me so he could do the heavy lifting of the 34 lbs. of dog food and big bag of weed & feed Big Daddy needs, and set off in the truck that has the non-functioning air-conditioner.  Oldest Son is pretty accomodating and would do anything to help me out.  He loves his mom.  But after almost 3 hours of plant picking, store-hopping, and roasting in the sun, Oldest Son officially hates shopping with me as much as Big Daddy and Youngest Son do.

Anyways, I’m still in a good mood.  By George, I was ready to plant those lovely little tomato and pepper plants.  I already planted lettuce, beans, and zucchini from seeds a couple of weeks ago.  Luckily, they survived last week’s frost.  Some onion sets went in last week.  It’s hot enough these past few days to make me think it’s time to finish up the garden.

First step:  Smash up the eggshells and coffee grounds I’ve been collecting.  I heard this helps provide some nutrients that are good for tomatoes and peppers and helps prevent blossom end rot.  You smash them together and put it in the hole before you put the plant in.  I tried this 2 years ago and got the best crop of veggies ever!  I forgot last year and it was not so good.

Magic eggshell and coffee ground potion

Magic eggshell and coffee ground potion

I planted a cherry tomato plant, three sweet banana pepper plants, and five or six little Big Boy tomato plants.  I transplanted a few of the beans that were growing too close together.  I normally just grow a salsa garden (tomatoes, peppers, and herbs like cilantro), but I got a little more ambitious this year.

zucchini

zucchini

rows of beans

rows of beans

cherry tomato & peppers

cherry tomato & peppers

I was finishing up, when Big Daddy came over.  I hadn’t even realized it was late enough for him to be home from work.  He had a long face.  He’d had a rough day.  Seems he rear-ended one of those idiot exit-ramp chickens that I’ve warned you all about.  No major damage to our new used Camry that we just got a couple weeks ago, but a little “dentage” to the chicken’s car.  He told Big Daddy he wasn’t the type to sue, but then he said he was fine except for a “little neck pain.”  Great.

On top of all this stress, Big Daddy’s worried about all the work he has to do to open up the pool tomorrow.  Of course, we’ll all be helping.  And it won’t be fun.  Do you know what guys are like when they get all harried and stressed?

So good thing I had all my planting fun today.  Tomorrow is going to be a bee-atch!

8 Responses to “Welcome To Crab-Apple Farm”


  1. 1 Cyndi May 23, 2009 at 9:33 am

    Wow, I’m impressed with that garden! I’m going to attempt some herbs for the first time this year…maybe. And if all the men are crabby and hot today, just push them in the pool!

  2. 3 Dawn May 25, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    I love the pictures and hope you’ll post more as everything grows through the summer. I miss my garden. I miss getting out of the bath tub and seeing dirty water. It was always a sign we had a good day.

  3. 5 robinaltman May 26, 2009 at 11:20 am

    That garden looks wonderful! I had a nice garden years ago, but I sort of fell out of the habit. Your post makes me want to do it again. Then my eyes get heavy and I want to take a nap. So I guess gardening’s out, huh? I’ll just admire yours from afar.

  4. 7 Paula May 26, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    I miss having a garden. It’s one of the losses you suffer when living in a city. I do try to plant a few things on my balcony though. I’ve never tried the shells and coffee thing. Lord knows I could have a million bucket loads.

    • 8 mamaneeds2rant May 26, 2009 at 11:30 pm

      Well, at least you don’t have to worry about the deer and groundhogs on your balcony. I keep my fingers crossed every day when I go check out the garden that the critters haven’t gotten to it.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,306 hits


