White Bread

It’s almost two hours later, and I’m still shaking a little.  My head just keeps shaking back and forth in disbelief.  Americans are losing their jobs, their wealth, and their faith in our government.  And now they’ve lost their minds.

My fellow Americans are obviously so shell-shocked from recent events and shady politicians that they’ve even lost their taste for good entertainment.  Adam Lambert, the most talented artist to grace the American Idol stage, has been passed over in favor of “one of the others.”  It’s not that the others were not talented.  They just weren’t in the same category as Adam.  They could sing.  Some could even play instruments.  But Adam was mesmerizing.

I looked forward every week to Adam’s performance.  He could take a song from any genre and make it new and interesting.  His voice was controlled, like a professional, and his vocal range was amazing.  He exuded confidence and had a magnetic stage presence.  This is what entertainment was meant to be.

Instead, our poor old tired country picked a cute little tween-idol type.  He can sing.  He’s cute as a button.  But he’s no superstar.

Were people put off by Adam’s eyeliner and nail polish?  Were they worried about his sexual orientation?  Or are the people that call in all 12-year old girls?  Because if American Idol is really about talent, Adam Lambert would be the American Idol.

18 Responses to “White Bread”


  1. 1 paulascott60482 May 21, 2009 at 8:51 am

    I’ve not watched the show faithfully because I work a lot of nights and haven’t been able to follow it. But, I have been watching some limited debate on voting for “faith” based issues. Christians were really rallying behind Allen. There were apparently 6 christian contestants in the final 13? According to these limited conversational views, Adam was discriminated against due to his sexual orientation. I have friends in both communities as I went to a religious school and I have friends in the gay community. But; OMG people…this is a singing competition!!! There shouldn’t be other factors except voice and future marketability.

  2. 3 Cyndi May 21, 2009 at 9:04 am

    You know I so agree with you. I’m chalking it up to my assumption that the demographic that votes the most is 10-13 year old girls. I hope so anyway. Adam is a rockstar and I will buy whatever he puts out. I hope he tours alone soon because I can’t bring myself to buy tickets to the Idol tour. Luckily I have most of his performances on DVR…I’ll save them. What a disgrace.

    • 4 mamaneeds2rant May 21, 2009 at 9:15 am

      Hubby and I even downloaded Adam’s “Mad World” performance from i-tunes–both the audio and the video. I’ve never done that before for any performance.

  3. 5 Cyndi May 21, 2009 at 9:21 am

    We downloaded almost all of his songs and have NEVER done that before either! LOVE HIM!! I’m a 39 year old groupie. 🙂

  4. 6 Evenshine May 21, 2009 at 9:24 am

    Sorry, I’m gonna disagree. Adam may have a great future in Broadway (especially in Cabaret) but as something to listen to on my way to work? No thanks. Allen is much more marketable. Adam will probably have his album, too, and as talented as he is, he’s no Jeff Buckley.

    • 7 mamaneeds2rant May 21, 2009 at 10:23 am

      Jeff Buckley had a very distinctive voice. So does Adam Lambert. Kris Allen sounds pleasant enough, but is kinda…white bread. Definitely no Jeff Buckley, or Adam Lambert.

  5. 8 Steph May 21, 2009 at 10:41 am

    OK, I do not watch American Idol. (Haven’t since the first season.) But I get to hear all about it from my sis (So Much More Than A Mom) Anywho, I would be worried about the sexual orientation of a male who spells is name K-r-i-s. LOL

    (Not really, just thought this was a cute post and wanted to comment!)

    Have a great day!

  6. 10 John May 21, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    I never really liked Adam’s music. It’s not my style; even when it didn’t include his glam-rock-tongue-out-scream (which by the way, I did on stage back in the day 😉 I am sure that Adam will have a record deal et al even without the “prize”. He’ll probably even release one before Kris. I haven’t even watched the finale yet – busy week. But from what I saw during the season, Kris and Adam were both deserving in their own right.

    “My head just keeps shaking back and forth in disbelief. Americans are losing their jobs, their wealth, and their faith in our government.” And AI is such a big deal?

    • 11 mamaneeds2rant May 21, 2009 at 2:03 pm

      It’s just the final straw, John. Even our little distractions from reality are tainted. I’m sure Adam will be a big star, too, like Daughtry. Another should-have-been American Idol.

  7. 12 Cynthia May 21, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    How did this happen people? I thought Adam had this in the bag….Oh….my heart hurts!

    • 13 mamaneeds2rant May 21, 2009 at 5:18 pm

      I know! Most people I know thought he was a shoo-in too. But then again, look at all the records Britney Spears and the Simpson girls sell. I guess a lot of people think that pap is music.

  8. 14 Tammy May 21, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    I only watched one show this season and it was the finale.
    I would get to hear commentary and highlights of the singing on my favorite morning radio show, so I did get to hear Adam sing as well as the others.

    Adam is fit for a Vegas show, Broadway or some other type of “show” but I can’t see him having commercial success with a rock album. Unless of course KISS or QUEEN picks him up as the new lead singer. Kris, had a more John Mayer appeal – much more sexy (and I don’t mean physically) – I think the music is sexy and has mass appeal. Of course I never thought David Cook would have mass appeal either…LOL!

    What shocked me is that they had 100 million votes. Even discounting the fact that many of those were probably duplicates, imagine if that many people cared about our political elections. LOL!

    I will say, American Idol did a GREAT job with the finale show. I think they were on the verge of extinction, but they really made a came back with that show.

  9. 16 robinaltman May 21, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    I am ashamed to say I don’t watch the show. But all my friends do, (including you), and they are all very upset today about Adam not winning. You’re certainly in good company.

  10. 17 Dawn May 21, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    I’ve been constipated over this all day.

  11. 18 myra36 May 21, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    Lol. I definitely agree that Kris is a little “white bread”. Adam was robbed.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,336 hits


