Always Expect The Worst

I’m not a pessimist.  I always hope for the best.  I see the silver lining in the clouds.  But, when I’m faced with a situation, I always expect the worst.

I don’t handle pain very well.  My mom still loves to tell the story of how our wonderful dedicated pediatrician had a hold of my hand while he chased me round and round with a needle in his other hand.

During my first pregnancy, I was convinced I would die from the pain of childbirth.  I had seen this happen in a movie.  I shocked everyone, myself included, when I didn’t need any pain relief at all and gobbled down a hospital burger an hour later.

Today, after a decade of nagging by family, friends, and my doctor, I went for my first mammogram.  I’ve heard horror tales about this procedure for years.  Just the other week, my sister was telling me in graphic detail about being crushed and smashed by the dreaded machine.  But I was getting tired of all the nagging, and I really knew I should go.  I was way past due.

I let them know I was a newbie.  “Your first?”  They looked surprised after checking my age on the chart.  “We’ll let Crusher do yours,” they joked.  Crusher must have been a pro.  The whole procedure was barely uncomfortable, and definitely not painful.  I’m not sure how these procedures would seem to me if I didn’t expect them to be horrific.

I also expected less than stellar results when I stepped on the scale this morning for my “Make a Change Challenge” weigh-in.  Even though I’ve been doing all the right things (for two weeks now), I couldn’t let myself hope for too much.  I was pretty sure the number wouldn’t go up, but I was very pleasantly surprised to see that after a roller-coaster ride of mini dips and climbs, I now weighed in at .4 lbs. less than I started out 4 weeks ago, and 2.4 lbs. less than last week.  🙂

7 Responses to “Always Expect The Worst”


  1. 1 Dawn May 19, 2009 at 1:28 am

    The loss may have had to do with stress … the apprehension and stress of first mammograms can take pounds off I heard.

    But no, YOU DID GREAT. Who am I to know the absolute truth about anything? A burger an hour later … say, that’s impressive. How many calories does childbirth burn?

    28,000 at least … a burger with cheese and bacon 800. Be proud.

  2. 2 Paula May 19, 2009 at 8:55 am

    HA! I love the visual of the Dr. chasing you around with a needle in his hands! (sorry) I’m proud of you for facing your fears and getting the mammo over with, it cracks me up when the tech just grabs a breast and moves it around all business like. Also, congratulations on the negative new weight number! WHOOO HOOO!

  3. 3 evenshine May 19, 2009 at 11:50 am

    Is it bad that when you said “Crusher” I thought of Star Trek: The Next Generation?

  4. 5 robinaltman May 19, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Yay for getting your mammogram, and yay for the weight loss! You rock, Girl!

  5. 6 Cyndi May 19, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Congrats on the weight loss!!

    I’m so happy you said the mammogram wasn’t bad. I was afraid it was going to be all about how painful they are. They really are no more than slightly uncomfortable, at worst. And….even if they were extremely painful….a whole lot better than breast cancer.

  6. 7 mamaneeds2rant May 20, 2009 at 1:43 am

    Thanks for all the support, ladies. You guys are great!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,431 hits


