Make A Change Challenge–Week 3

It’s hard to even write about this.  All I can say is, just like in Calculus class, I can not figure out the pattern.  This time the pattern that eludes me is my weight gains/losses.  It’s very random.

I think I run a week behind.  Seriously.  Last week I was kind of surprised that I lost 2 pounds because I hadn’t cut back on my eating too much and I exercised less than the first week.  If it does actually take a week for things to kick in, that would explain this week’s gain.  Because I was so good this past week!

I did my three-mile course at least twice this week.  I’ve curbed my eating considerably.  One night when I was craving seconds on dinner, hubby suggested I put the plate down and just wait it out.  I drank my iced tea and water instead of going back out to the kitchen to load up my plate again, and it actually worked!  The hunger craving passed.  I’ve even been eating boring stuff like cottage cheese or yogurt for breakfast.  I’m eating small healthy snacks in between meals like they say to do on “Biggest Loser.”  I bought a jar of peach slices and had some of those a few times.  I also spent extra to buy some whole grain chips which I snacked on, or I grazed on a few almonds.  I didn’t even pig out at the Mother’s Day Buffet we went to yesterday!

Yesterday afternoon, Youngest Son dragged me out to the track with him.  He pushed my weak ass to do sprints (for me).  For him, it’s barely a jog.  But I worked hard.  We even went onto the cold grass to do some exercises that he said would help my pathetically weak core.  You would think I’d have least lost some water weight.

As it stands right now, I’ve gained 1.4881% this past week (from last week).  Since the challenge began, I’m exactly where I started.  I’m sure Youngest Son will continue to torture me with killer workouts this week, now that he’s home from college.  He has a sadistic streak, I think.

Stay tuned next week to see if my theory on weight loss lag is correct.  If not, I may be throwing my scale in the trash.

15 Responses to “Make A Change Challenge–Week 3”


  1. 1 Cyndi May 11, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    LOL – I’m in big trouble for next week so no matter what, I’m sure you’ll at least beat me! 🙂

  2. 3 Dawn May 11, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    I’ve weighed the same since I was seventeen. A high metabolism that I hear will slow down one of these days. If I don’t eat I may blow away (Don’t hate me for that) If I workout I must increase my calories as not to burn muscle mass. See, there’s a weight problem they don’t talk about in Cosmo! I’m 5 ft 8 inches and weigh 125 lbs. I have to work to maintain my weight, and extra hard to put ten pounds on. I’d love to be at 135 and have some butt and Keeboobs back.

    Anyway, in weight lifting (must put muscles on to keep from blowing away) my trainer shared this with me: high protein at the start of the day for those who want to curb appetite. Dark leafy greens with your last meal.

    And this other thing too. A dietician told me this: “If our bodies are lacking a nutrient or mineral it will trigger hunger.” And some how this makes sense too me: I’ve been pregnant with an appetite I had no control over and weighed 180 pounds before.

    Keep on rolling!

    • 4 mamaneeds2rant May 11, 2009 at 6:25 pm

      Thanks, Dawn. I’ll definitely try the protein in the mornings–I prefer meat or eggs anyways over cereal, and I can definitely do the leafy green thing at night. My guys had me lifting weights also to build muscle mass since more muscle helps burn fat and calories faster. I used to have your “problem,” Dawn. I took “Weight-On” tablets in high school because I was so skinny I got teased. And I ate more than my 220 lb. dad. Unfortunately, my metabolism DID slow down. I tell my kids to appreciate the fact that they can eat whatever they want and stay slim. It might not always be that way.

  3. 5 robinaltman May 11, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    That’s so aggravating!!!! I’ve been dieting for the past month, and lost 1 pound. Count that. It’s easy. 1.

    I admit that I cheat sometimes. But, on the whole I’ve been pretty good. I’m going to try not to cheat. One friggin’ pound. Just shoot me.

  4. 7 Michelle May 12, 2009 at 8:04 am

    I just found your blog today and I’m so glad today was the day because I am in the midst of weight loss torture and the last few days have been very discouraging. It was so nice to read your words and see that other people have the same insanity with this ridiculous situation. I have been on this merry-go-round, yo-yo ride of weight fluctuations for years but I am at the heaviest now than I’ve ever been. It is so frustrating because I am definitely seeing the effects of age on my ability to lose a satisfactory amount of weight in a relatively acceptable amount of time. When I was younger, I could eat salads and pretzels for a month and lose enough to feel that I’ve made progress. Now, my body just refuses to budge no matter what I do to it. And like you, on weeks I would expect to have gained because I “cheated” or didn’t run, I gain. Then I get pissed off because I worked hard and was actually penalized. This causes me to be resentful and eat like crazy for a week and refuse to even look at my running shoes. Then, poof, that week I’ll lose 3-4 pounds. It is absolutely maddening. It’s so nice to hear I’m not alone. I suppose misery really does like company.

    • 8 mamaneeds2rant May 12, 2009 at 9:28 am

      Welcome, Michelle! You mean I’m not the only one with this insane lagging body? I’m going to keep doing what I did last week (do all the right “weight loss” things) and then, if I don’t lose anything after 2 weeks of this torture, I’m going to have myself a nacho feast.

  5. 9 Michelle May 12, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    A nacho feast sounds great but I’m more likely to dive in, head first, to a black forest chocolate cake 🙂

    It is so frustrating when you get on the scale after a week of absolute compliance with a “plan”. You have that moment of anticipating the ultimate reward, and then you are slammed with a number that either didn’t change a bit, or horror of all horrors, went up. It is a sad game we play with ourselves that we allow a digital readout to control how we feel about ourselves for the day. It god so bad for awhile that I actually made my hubby take the scale to work with him so it was just out of the house. I actually let a little piece of metal and wires have that much control over me.

    I’m an emotional eater too which is not helping me at all lately. We had a huge and very unexpected car repair bill and my hubby is out of the country for over 3 weeks. He is really good at supporting me when I’m trying to lose weight so it’s hard not to have him to lean on when I’m having a hard day. Those chocolate chip cookies in the pantry fill in the void quite nicely unfortunately.

    • 10 mamaneeds2rant May 12, 2009 at 6:08 pm

      It IS frustrating not to see those numbers go down when you’ve worked so hard. They DO say, though, that the actual number isn’t as important as how the clothes fit because when you build muscle, sometimes you gain weight–but are still losing fat since muscle is heavier than fat. I’m going to stick it out for a while and see what happens. We’re probably setting ourselves up for some failures by weighing in each week, but we’re kind of having fun with it. I know in my head that it’s unlikely and even unhealthy to lose a lot of weight in one week.

      I’m trying to do small things because I know if I try to do too much, I’ll just quit–and like Dr. Phil says, it has to be a lifestyle change. Sometimes I just don’t feel like running the whole three miles, but I’ll alternate between walking and running to complete the whole three miles. I’m trying to chew more slowly to savor the food longer because I sometimes eat just for the taste even if I’m not hungry anymore. When I HAVE to have a snack, I won’t deny myself but I’ll just bring one or two pieces of candy into the family room instead of the whole bag. If you have a sweet tooth, maybe you can substitute some sugarless gum or lowfat yogurt instead of the cookies. I figure even if I do just a little bit, it’s better than nothing and I’ll just strive to do more when I’m feeling stronger.

      You’re not alone out there, Michelle. Check in on Mondays and maybe I, or one of the other women doing the challenge, will have some good tips that work. We’ve all gotten some helpful hints from our terrific readers, too. And if you come up with something that works, please share! 🙂

  6. 11 Dawn May 13, 2009 at 7:30 am

    I secretly think we all suffer from the grass looking greener. Michelle is my dear friend and my eyes don’t see her the way that she sees herself. Hourglass shape, she’s drop dead gorgeous.

  7. 12 Michelle May 13, 2009 at 9:38 am

    I so wish I could see myself through your eyes, Dawn. It is true we are harder on ourselves then anyone else could ever be. I wish I knew how to be more compassionate towards myself in this arena. The sad thing is, I can’t ever really remember a time when I was happy with my weight. I think that says something more since there have been times in my life when I know I weighed what I should. I just never recognized it as it was and was then still, dissatisfied.

  8. 13 mamaneeds2rant May 13, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Maybe we all just need something to strive for. I think it’s OK as long as it doesn’t become an obsession. And this time around, I’m trying to change because I really don’t like the little jelly rolls around my middle, and not because some bratty high school kids are calling me “toothpick.”

  9. 14 Michelle May 13, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    I agree that the changes have to be made for yourself. If you do it for another person, it won’t stick. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gone on some stupid crash diet for an event coming up and then the minute it’s over – poof, the fat is back! I am fortunate that my hubby genuinely never sees the extra weight. It mystifies and astounds me but he doesn’t. So this time the changes really are just for me.

    I saw an add for the Biggest Loser body fat scale and I decided to buy it. I figured on the days when the weight numbers don’t move, maybe this will give me the feedback that I need to say that I did lose fat but gained muscle, hence no actual loss in weight. Of course this just gives me another number to fixate on but hopefully one that changes more easily.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,393 hits


