Make A Change Challenge-Week 2

One of my favorite things in life is good food.  In fact, overeating is my only vice.  I don’t gamble or spend a lot of money.  I’ve had half-packs of cigarettes crumble away in my purse.  I enjoy a cold brew or a glass of wine, but then I worry about the calories.  I’d rather get my calories chowing down.

Unfortunately, the metabolism is slowing down.  I’m not exactly heavy, but I weigh more than I would like.  I heard once that it’s common to put on 10 pounds each decade, and this is exactly true in my case.  And I’m way more active than I ever was as a 20-year-old.  I’m in much better shape now, and some of that weight may be muscle, which we weight-watchers constantly remind ourselves is heavier than fat.  I’m not expecting to lose the whole 30 pounds I’ve gained since my teen years.  I could wear anything in my closet if I lost ten.  Fifteen would be amazing.

To help me reach my goal, I’ve joined Tammy’s “Make a Change Challenge.” It’s just somehow easier knowing that others are suffering along with you, passing over that third piece of pizza, running those painful miles.  And then there’s the accountability thing.  I really felt like a lazy slug last week having to report that I’d lost absolutely NO WEIGHT at all.  I blame it on all the Easter candy still laying around, successfully tempting me.

This past week, I exercised even less.  It rained several days, so I didn’t walk or jog as much.  And I started cleaning out some closets in earnest so I didn’t seem to have as much “me” time.  But most of the candy was gone, and I tried to eat healthier.  I usually go back for “seconds” (because I’m such a damn good cook) but I made them small portions and I chewed them slower and savored it more.

The result?  Two whole pounds shaved off last Monday’s weigh-in.  A respectable 1.47% loss.  I’m happy.  This gives me motivation.  If you have any tips that work for you (besides wiring the jaw shut), please feel free to share.

9 Responses to “Make A Change Challenge-Week 2”


  1. 1 Cyndi May 4, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Congrats! I hope to lose SOMETHING next week too! 🙂

  2. 3 paulascott60482 May 4, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    ack, now I’m going to have to try again…I don’t even want to buy new clothes in a bigger size!

    • 4 mamaneeds2rant May 4, 2009 at 4:15 pm

      Join the Challenge, Paula. It’s not too late. And the clothes thing is one of the BIG reasons I refuse to gain anymore weight–I finally have some clothes I love and I’m too cheap to go out and buy new ones.

  3. 5 Sheri May 4, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    One of the things that’s helped me lose almost 35 pounds now is the fact that I’m drinking ALOT of water. Water fills you up and hydrates the body. Obvious, I know, but when I started drinking more, I felt alot better.

    Another thing I’ve been doing is chewing sugar-free gum in between my whole one-meal-a-day thing. Sadly, I’ve needed to cut down my meal card to 7 meals a week, so my bad habit is fillng up at lunch and not having anything to eat any other time of the day. So now, I try to eat SOMETHING during a meal time and chew gum any other time. The chewing helps tire my jaw, and I realized that’s what I LOVED about eating.

    The third thing I’ve noticed helped my weight loss is prayer. I know that God supplies my needs, and He knows the desires of my heart. He knows that I want to be healthy-er, not necessarily thinner. Having a great support system of Christian friends really helps me stay motivated, not only with the weight loss, but in daily life and the struggles of life that we all have to deal with.

    Hope this helps! Water, Gum, and Prayer!!

    • 6 mamaneeds2rant May 4, 2009 at 5:44 pm

      Yep. I know the water’s a good thing. Even Biggest Loser says to chew sugarless gum and I guess that would help people with a sweet tooth. I just need to get motivated to move more–walk, run, weight-training, biking. But I’m a little lazy. I guess prayer might help with that.

  4. 7 robinaltman May 4, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    Congratulations! I only lost 2 pounds in the last freaking month, so I’m not sure I qualify to give advice. That being said. . . Jello makes sugarless, fat free instant pudding. Slice up a banana into the chocolate fudge flavor made with skim milk, and it tastes pretty damn good. Plus, you feel like you’ve gorged yourself. I just love that feeling. Probably why I need to diet.


  1. 1 “Make A Change” Challenge…Week 2 Results « A Moment In Time Trackback on March 6, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,278 hits


