We’ve Got A Friend In…Biden?

As much as I dislike politicians, and particularly the ones who are dying to take away our inherent rights and freedoms, I have to give a nod to Vice President Joe Biden.

Some say he has diarrhea of the mouth.  I tend to agree.  He says some pretty stupid things…politically speaking.  His party isn’t too pleased with him for his latest political gaffe, which was to speak from the heart about the swine flu scare.  He stated, without a teleprompter feeding him the politically safe sound bites, that he would tell his family members to avoid enclosed spaces (such as public transportation).  This could, of course, feed into the panic, and further damage the economy and travel industry.

On the other hand, he was telling American what was true…for him.  What if there really was something to fear?  Would you rather have the politicians tell you everything was just fine, go about your business, while they themselves took precautions for themselves and their families?  I don’t want to inflict further damage on our country, but at the same time, I would like to know enough to make my own informed decisions.

If there is good intel out there that some maniacs are going to fly airplanes into buildings, I’d like to know about this before I decide to fly across the country.  If there is chatter about a possible school invasion, I want to be able to decide whether or not to send my kid to school that day.  I expect our illustrious leaders to do everything they can to prevent these catastrophes, but give me a head’s up.  There are a lot of risk takers out there.  Our economy will recover in the long run.

10 Responses to “We’ve Got A Friend In…Biden?”


  1. 1 Paula May 2, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    My son stayed home from school yesterday and the school nurse called and gave me the third degree. She apologized and I said. NO, please don’t I would rather the school be too careful. So many parents are sending their kids to school sick. You just have to take precautions where you can.

    • 2 mamaneeds2rant May 2, 2009 at 9:58 pm

      No matter what choices we make, someone is going to disagree. They’ll think we’re either being too cautious, while someone else will say we’re not being careful enough. I, like you, Paula, would rather err on the side of caution. We can’t do that if all politicians worry about is their precious careers and don’t give us information we should have.

  2. 3 Paula May 3, 2009 at 11:03 am

    This was in the local paper today. It seems we are not alone. Chicago students who are sick will be sent home and must remain home for 7 days.
    http://www.southtownstar.com/swine-flu/1555745,050309chiflu.article

  3. 4 robinaltman May 3, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    That was extremely thought provoking. When I first heard the comment, I thought, “What a nincompoop!”. Now I can see a positive side to it. You should be a professional arbitrator.

  4. 6 Cyndi May 4, 2009 at 8:36 am

    I think the whole swine flu thing is a big consipiracy to line the pockets of the already ridiculously corrupt drug companies and politicians. He may have been speaking from the heart but my guess is he was speaking from his wallet. Maybe I’m just too cynical about politicians and have seen from the front lines of the mortgage industry just how greedy and self-absorbed people can be, to the detriment of other people. I do agree that there needs to be more transparency in politics and we should be truthfully informed. I’m just not sure that’s possible.

    • 7 mamaneeds2rant May 4, 2009 at 9:23 am

      I think almost everybody agrees that politicians are greedy corrupt dirt-bags, Cyndi. Now if we could just figure out a way to vote the creeps out and replace them with some honest folks who care about our country. Any ideas out there? Are corrupt people drawn to politics or does the system corrupt the politician? Because we really need to do something before they completely wreck our society.

  5. 8 Cyndi May 4, 2009 at 9:30 am

    That’s an excellent question and seems to be a combination of both. Even those that seem to have the best of intentions going into it tend to end up going to the dark side. I don’t know the answer. I wish I did.

  6. 9 Evenshine May 5, 2009 at 8:21 am

    It seems like a lot of this fracas was brought on by the thought of disasters of the past, and how people were “slow to respond”. I think O and Bidey would rather be safe than sorry. But funny how it’s turning out to be not as bad as predicted.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,894 hits


