The Day I Met Alex — Part 2

Youngest Son and I brushed up on our trivia knowledge the best we could given the short amount of time until the Jeopardy! testing.  Big Daddy drove us both to the Pittsburgh hotel that Saturday morning because the kids’ tryouts were first.  Mine would be afterward and we couldn’t leave an 11-year -old roaming the streets of Pittsburgh alone.

Apparently, they expected youngsters to be more knowledgeable about pop trivia than academics.  Youngest Son did well, but his lack of interest in kid shows and teen stars lost him the few points he needed to make the cut.  I told him he shouldn’t make fun of me for watching Entertainment Tonite!

The hotel conference room was packed.  We sat in chairs and took a test with some fairly difficult questions on a very wide range of subjects.  I overheard people saying this was their third or fourth time to take the test.  One woman had been to several different cities.  I guess there were some people that wanted to be on even worse than me!

They called the names of those that made the cut.  I thought I had done pretty well but started doubting myself when my name hadn’t been called until almost the very end.  Only about one-fourth of us were left.  They grouped us in threes and gave us buzzers and asked questions, like on the real show.  They asked us what we would do with our money if we won.  I tried to be original–almost everyone said they would save for their kids’ education or pay bills.  We were in the midst of adding on to our home so I told them any money I made would save my husband from months of hard labor.  I really wanted to win enough money to pay for our new addition.

I promise I’ll finish this story tomorrow.  I’ll even have a picture for you!  I didn’t realize how long this story would be.

7 Responses to “The Day I Met Alex — Part 2”


  1. 1 goodmum April 27, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    Oooohhhh…this is exciting! I hope you made it AND won! 🙂

    • 2 mamaneeds2rant April 27, 2009 at 8:29 pm

      My lips are sealed–’til tomorrow. And before the show airs, you are NOT ALLOWED to tell anyone how you did. Not even your family (if they didn’t go with you). Guess how hard THAT was?

  2. 3 robinaltman April 27, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Yay! You made the cut! I’m so proud!

  3. 4 "J" April 28, 2009 at 7:03 am

    you should put the link that i sent you of the entire show on here after youre done so everyone can see 🙂

  4. 5 mamaneeds2rant April 28, 2009 at 7:28 am

    Well, that sounds like a plan, my dear J. Too bad I thought of it first!

  5. 6 Evenshine April 28, 2009 at 7:50 am

    ARRRGGGHHHH.
    I mean, hope you did well, yadda yadda yadda (what everyone else said).

  6. 7 Cyndi April 28, 2009 at 8:36 am

    YES, we have to see it!!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,921 hits


