The Day I Met Alex — Part I

I ran to see him almost every day, watching from afar.  Sometimes I even dropped whatever I was doing.  It was my dream to meet him in person.  And that day arrived, in late October 2000.

You may know Alex.  Alex Trebek, king of knowledge, master of world travel.  Alex T, emcee of my favorite game show, Jeopardy!

I watched Jeopardy! way back when I was a kid, when Art Fleming hosted the show.  Being the nerdy bookworm that I was, I loved game shows almost as much as the latest Nancy Drew mystery.  Jeopardy! was one of my favorites, and I could even answer some of the questions back then.

I never dreamed that I would actually be able to compete on the show.  Just to try out, I would have to fly to the other side of the country.  In the off-chance I made it through, I’d have to fly back out for the show.  Once in a while, they traveled to this area to try-out hopeful wannabe contestants.  I sent postcards and tried calling phone numbers that were perpetually busy, but was never lucky enough to get through to take the test.

One night, they mentioned that they would be in our area looking for young contestants for their pre-teen tournament.  Crap.  Genius son was too old, but the other two were the right age and perfectly capable of doing well.  But I knew Middle Son J would kill me if I signed him up.  He was way too shy to want to go on TV.  So I went online, like they said to do, and signed up Youngest Son.  Hey, I’m not too proud to live one of my big dreams through the kids.  It doesn’t really matter which one.

Lo and behold, I got a phone call out of the blue one day.  Would we be willing to travel to Pittsburgh with Youngest Son for Jeopardy! try-outs?  Would we?!  Of course!  I tried not to sound too excited or as choked up as I felt.  My throat was ready to close up but I forced out these words:  “Are you doing try-outs for adults, too?  I’ve always wanted to be on the show and I’ve watched it ever since I was  kid.  Can I try-out, too?”

You can’t imagine how shocked I was at my own forwardness.  You may not believe this, but I am actually a shy little flower.  I must have really wanted this thing badly to resort to begging.  But the man on the other end said to call back on Monday.  (It was a Friday when we got the first call).  Would this family actually have two shots at Jeopardy! fame and fortune?  It was like I was living a dream.

7 Responses to “The Day I Met Alex — Part I”


  1. 1 "J" April 26, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    “but I am actually a shy little flower” hahaha thats ‘bibbyish’ 🙂

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant April 26, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    bibbyish yes. But so true.

  3. 3 robinaltman April 26, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Ach! I can’t wait for Part 2! You’re wrecking my sleep, you mean bloggy friend, you.

  4. 6 Evenshine April 27, 2009 at 9:25 am

    And then….and then??? Evil mean blogger, making me wonder about your rendez-vous with Le Alex…

  5. 7 Cyndi April 27, 2009 at 11:43 am

    How cool is that?! The suspense is killing me….


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,921 hits


