A Trip Down Memory Lane

Yesterday started off on a rocky note.  But I think I made an amazing discovery about myself and my marriage.  If I get the courage and feel that it will do more good than harm, I may share it.  But this post is about the rest of the day, and our visit back to our alma mater, the college where I met Big Daddy.

Youngest Son was participating in a big track meet at the university that we graduated from.  We were excited to finally get to see him in a college meet.  I was thrilled to revisit the campus where I spent four interesting and formative years.  Best of all, it was a gorgeous spring day, one of the few we’ve had around here.  I wanted to sit in the stands and cheer until I was hoarse, like we did at his high school meets.  I was dying to bask in the sun with my capris rolled up to my knees and get some color on my Casper-the-ghost legs.

We got to meet my son’s coach, who took absolutely no credit in the team’s successes.  He said that it was “all them,” referring to the kids. And I agree that the kids worked very hard.  But I saw the way that he encouraged every member of the team, from strongest to weakest.  He made the kids want to work hard for him.  That’s what a good coach does.

We spent a very long, but totally wonderful day, on the bleachers.  After the meet, I wanted to take a walk through campus, not only to see the changes and remember the past, but to stretch my poor legs.  The three-story walk-up dorms we lived in have been totally torn down, and replaced with state-of-the art buildings with huge curb appeal.  The buildings that were the envied “new dorms” thirty years ago looked old and shabby now.  One of these now old dorms had dozons of sattellite dishes on the roof, I guess to bring some of today’s necessities to the students livng there.  When we walked past and saw the fans in the windows, we wondered if the kids living here got a discount.  I’m sure these aren’t the dorms they show prospective students touring campus.  Freshman dorms are usually the nicest and newest, to entice them to invest four years there.

Hubby suggested we go to the little Italian restaurant we used to treat ourselves to back in the day.  He was pretty sure it was still there because he’d seen an ad somewhere not too long ago.  OMG, not only was it still there, it was exactly the same! I’m pretty sure we never ordered the prime rib on our college budgets, but when I tasted my side of spaghetti, I could have been 20 years old again, enjoying a pasta meal with my fiance.

No matter how young I feel on the inside, however, the body’s aging a little bit quicker.  Later that night, the Clarks were playing at Youngest Son’s campus.  It was free for students and family members, and I had asked Youngest Son to get us some tickets.  I LOVE the Clarks.  I really wanted to see them.  But a day in the sun and walking up hills had taken its toll.  All I wanted to do was go home and lay on the couch.  And that’s exactly what I did.

5 Responses to “A Trip Down Memory Lane”


  1. 1 robinaltman April 19, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    I can so relate to going home and going to sleep. In fact, just imagining a day in the sun at a track meet followed by dinner out, made me need a nap.

  2. 3 Consuella Banana Hammock April 20, 2009 at 1:51 am

    i went out with some young ones a few weeks ago to a club to dance. we were out till like 4am. i had fun but when i got home i told hubbie that that night out would probably last me a year!

  3. 4 Cyndi @ So Much More Than A Mom April 20, 2009 at 8:28 am

    Sounds like a great day! I’m with you, I would have been looking forward to the couch by the end of that day and I’d also like to know when we got so freaking old?!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,861 hits


