Bad Cooks Unite At Mama’s Blogsite

Good news if you’re feeling dumb as ass.  You’re not alone.  There are plenty of us.  A bunch of us can’t even hard boil an egg.

A while back I posted about my pathetic attempt to hard-boil a batch of eggs.  They turned out runny and inedible, but I didn’t want to waste them.  So I tried to find out if I could just pretend like I’d never stopped cooking them and throw them back on the stove to boil some more.

So far today, I’ve gotten 20 hits from people seeking to find out if you can reboil a half-cooked egg.  I’m sorry.  I just have to laugh.  Especially when I think about the Easter Bunny leaving a bunch of brightly colored yet disgustingly unappetizing eggs.  Because I’m warning you all now, you CAN harden up those eggs.  But plan to make egg salad with them.  My egg salad did turn out fine, but I just about gagged biting into the strange texture of my double-boiled egg.

Happy Easter-egg hunting.  Hope your yolks aren’t runny!

8 Responses to “Bad Cooks Unite At Mama’s Blogsite”


  1. 1 robinaltman April 11, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    OK. I’m beyond dumb. I didn’t even know you could eat the hard boiled egg under the color. I figured they’d been out of the refrigerator too long, and would kill you. When my boys found Easter Eggs at hunts, I would throw them out. Now I’ll know for future grandchildren.

  2. 3 Cyndi @ So Much More Than A Mom April 14, 2009 at 9:41 am

    That is hilarious! I see it’s your top post right now. I’m so happy there are so many other culinarily-challenged moms out there…I’m not alone! 🙂

  3. 4 evenshine April 14, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    I get people with all sorts of strange questions about, paradoxically, IUDs and hispanic babies, as well as the odd search term that I can’t explain- like humpty dumpty egg face shame, or something random like that. Good to know about the reboilage of the eggs, tho.

  4. 5 insider53 April 14, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Hint for next year….put the eggs in cold water…bring to a boil and let boil for only 2 min…..then turn off the heat and slap a lid on that puppy…let it sit for 30min…voila, perfect hard boiled eggs….wait don’t think I’m a genius or anything…took me 20 years to perfect that recipe.

  5. 6 mamaneeds2rant April 14, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    A grand total of 74 searches for some type of “reboiling eggs”– just over the Easter weekend–plus a few WordPress searches. Nope, we’re not alone, Cyndi.

    Humpty Dumpty egg face shame? I’m gonna have to stop by more often, Evenshine, to see what funny stuff you have going on over there!

    insider53–thanks for the tip. I’m definitely going to try it next time I’m craving deviled eggs.

  6. 7 size 10 April 15, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    That’s too funny! I guess you never know what people are thinking..

    thanks for the smile!

  7. 8 mamaneeds2rant April 15, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    Thanks for stopping by, size 10.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,331 hits


