The Heartland Has Heart

Iowa, somewhere in middle America (yeah, I’m quoting Adam Duritz), has surprised the rest of “progressive” America by becoming the third state to currently allow same sex marriages.

We expect this from Massachusetts.  And Connecticut.  But I think a whole lot of Americans were caught by surprise to see that the good folks in the heartland of our country opted for fairness over close-minded bigotry.

Marriage is a union between two people that care about each other and want to commit to sharing their lives.  Because they’re wired a little differently, why should gay people be denied the rights of married couples?  Just who are they hurting by wanting to make a legal commitment to the person they care about?  Seems to me this should create a more stable community.  Why should they be forced to choose between a life of celibacy or sex outside of marriage?

The way I see it, a big problem in this world is that some people think their way is the only way.  They force their values, and the beliefs they’ve been indoctrinated with, onto everybody else.  It’s a good thing to stand up for innocent victims that can’t defend themselves.  But there is no victim in gay marriage.  If you think your God won’t approve, let your God deal with them.  And live your own life the way you think your God wants you to live.  Which, I would think, is with love and compassion, and fairness and understanding.  Kind of like the good folks in Iowa.

15 Responses to “The Heartland Has Heart”


  1. 1 robinaltman April 5, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Yay, Iowa! I’m proud that I’m from Massachusetts originally. I’m ashamed to be from bigot ridden Pennsylvania. I heartily agree with all of your thoughts on gay marriage. Shame on anyone who sticks their big nose in other people’s relationships.

    • 2 mamaneeds2rant April 5, 2009 at 8:03 pm

      Although, Robin, being from bigot ridden PA myself, I know one thing about our PA legislators. If they could somehow manage to enrich themselves, they might overlook their bigotry for a moment. In good old PA, political corruption even trumps prejudice.

  2. 3 size 10 April 5, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    You know if yoy hadn’t said you lived in Iowa, i’d have thought you were here with me in San Francisco. Love is love, it doesn’t come in colors, sizes or one size fits all. It’s a lesson I’ve taken great care to teach my children. I am on the fence about relgion at least fifty percent of the time, but on the days I am a true believer I do think God believes that love is just love.

    Nice post..

  3. 5 Dawn April 5, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    I do live in Iowa and I feel very proud about saying that today. I love that you wrote, “let your God deal with it” … nice.

    I spent my Friday night at a party in my apartment building, my neighbor is a programmer I work with and he’s gay. Some of the most loving people I know are gay. There were tears of joy and hugs all around Friday night.

    I couldn’t be happier that the law recognizes their rights and I loved reading your post. Love it.

  4. 7 So Much More Than A Mom April 6, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Ok, I like you even more now that you have quoted Adam Duritz.

    Great post, very well said. And besides which, who is the government to tell anyone who to love or how to live?! They have much bigger problems to deal with than this.

  5. 9 recipe for chaos April 6, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    I agree whole heartedly. I am raising my boys the best I can to accept “alternate” lifestyles as just plain lifestyles! I have friends in the gay community and actually they were surprised that Illinois did not adopt this position first. I have always been amazed that people like me can be married a half dozen times and still be considered in a more stable relationship than someone who happens to be gay and has lived with someone for years and years.

  6. 11 Emily April 15, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    it’s awesome, isn’t it?

  7. 12 John May 21, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Aren’t you Catholic?

  8. 14 John May 22, 2009 at 1:58 am

    You didn’t answer the question.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,404 hits


