An Accountant’s New Year’s Day

We’re so predictable.  After you’ve been around for a while (like me), you start to notice the cycles of life.  They’re created by the weaknesses, and then the resiliency, of the human spirit.  We succumb to the temptations of the holidays only to make desperate yet well-intentioned resolutions after the holiday season.  Every January I laugh at the sales circulars advertising storage bins and home organizers.  We gather more things, then crave a simpler more organized home.

For us tax accountants, there is yet another season of reckless abandon and giving in to vices.  April 16th becomes our new years day of hope and salvation, strength and resolution.

Of course, the only vice we have time for during tax season is stuffing our face with comfort food.  And maybe an extra glass or two of wine or beer in the evening.  Coupled with sitting at a desk for 8 to 10 hours a day and no desire to spend the few precious work-free moments sweating to the oldies, the resolve to get back into shape before swim-suit season will be very powerful.  Unlike New Years Day resolutions, these ones may even last longer than a few weeks.

My boss understands the motivation of tax-season comfort food.  Friday, he stopped at each of our offices and asked which “fattening, not-good-for-you food” we would prefer for Saturday morning.  “Donuts, cobblestones, or Danish?” he asked.  I was pretty sure the boss liked the cobblestone muffins, but I myself prefer a good cheese danish.  I heard Ron say he wanted cobblestones.

As much as I don’t normally crave pastries (I prefer my empty calories in the form of decadent dips and cheesy delights), I have to give a huge thumbs up to the bakery wizards at Panera Bread.  While Ron and my boss were marveling at the magnificent size of the cobblestone muffin tops, I stood drooling at the loveliness of the ring of Danish before me.  It was a continuous connected ring of cheese, cherry, and apple danish.  I couldn’t decide which I wanted so I cut off a cheese AND a cherry danish.  And then I went back for another cherry-filled flaky pastry.

In about two weeks, they’re going to have to pry me out of my desk chair and roll me out the door for our annual after-tax-season luncheon.  But you’ll probably see me, the very next day, gingerly jogging through the streets of my neighborhood, firmly resolved to get back into my bathing suit before it’s time to open the pool.

5 Responses to “An Accountant’s New Year’s Day”


  1. 1 sheribear9202 March 29, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    In my own little weird way, I can relate. Your job is like my school, forcing me to succumb to the pizza and grease filled foods my wonderful school has to offer…

    Let’s be proactive and start running early in the morning. I’ll be getting a head start as Chris and I work out in the evenings, but a nice jog will do the body good.

  2. 3 So Much More Than A Mom March 29, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    LOL – the danish sounds fabulous. It’s funny that your profession dictates your “new year” due to the business of tax season. I’ve never thought about that before. I need to re-resolve to get back into swimsuit shape and I don’t even have a job! I’m such a slacker. 🙂

    • 4 mamaneeds2rant March 29, 2009 at 5:19 pm

      I’m the worst slacker ever when I’m not working. I always figure I can put off tomorrow what I don’t do today. And I keep doing that, over and over. LOL.

  3. 5 robinaltman March 31, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    I never realized that we get fliers advertising organization bins around New Years. It’s so funny. I’m going to keep my eyeballs peeled next year.

    I like the way you splurged. Hey! If you’re gonna do it, you might as well go all out!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,894 hits


