Are We There Yet?

Is it April 15th yet?

Is it April 15th yet?

Yes, I’m writing in my head again.  Now that I have only one day a week in which to do the laundry, iron the work clothes, and wash the mountains of pots and pans that emerge after a few of Big Daddy’s marathon cooking sessions, I’m composing while I’m walking to the printer retrieving the latest finished tax return or folding clothes.  Then there’s the bills to pay, both mine and J’s, while he’s in Germany.  Of course, there are still a few tax returns to do at home, too.  Note to J:  Please send me that thing I need to finish your taxes, okay?  So, even though I take a break sometimes and catch up reading my favorite blogs, I’ve not been able to post about all the crazy things going on.

Last week, for example, had a smoky theme.  While a lot of people were drinking green beer and eating their special Irish dishes on St. Patty’s day, this family with the Irish last name had to eat Chinese takeout.  That’s because our delicious hunk of corned beef that I was thinking about all day long (because our traditional Irish corned beef and cabbage is one of my very favorite meals) ended up being a charred hunk of goo when someone forgot about it on the stove.  The entire soup pot full of water boiled away and we were possibly minutes from the fire department knocking down our door.  Even when I got home two hours later, fans were in every doorway still trying to suck out the black smoke.

Then, the very next day, I get a call at the office from Big Daddy.  “Can you look up a phone number of a towing place?” he asks.  He was on his way home, and thankfully almost there (he could easily have been 50 miles away on any given day), when all of a sudden his little dark red Camry died on the highway, leaving a giant puff of blue smoke behind it.  The engine with 180,000+ miles just decided that was it.  No more chugging along the potholed streets of western Pennsylvania.  Thankfully, Big Daddy was still able to get in his Wednesday evening bike ride after the tow truck came.  It helped him get rid of some of the stress of the week.

Oldest Son put in a bid on a house but it wasn’t accepted.  Considering all the cosmetic work it needed, they probably should have jumped at his offer.  Maybe in a few months, when it’s still on the market, he’ll get another shot at it.

Now I better get to bed.  My eyeballs feel like they’re ready to jump out of their sockets.  I can’t wait until I can wake up at 9 everyday, strap on some running shoes, then come home and blog to my heart’s content.  Until then, this is as good as it gets.

8 Responses to “Are We There Yet?”


  1. 1 robinaltman March 25, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Wow! That was a great post! I sort of feel caught up.
    Comments:
    1-Sorry about the corned beef and cabbage. That sounds yummy, but the smell of burnt cabbage is probably pretty freaking bad.
    2-Does this mean I can expect another 100,000 miles out of my RAV4? That would be great! Maybe I should stop backing into things.
    3-Haven’t those stupid house sellers heard about the “buyer’s market” concept? Hello?
    4-Why will you be able to get up at 9 and jog? May I come? You’re probably only, uh, 4 hours away.

    • 2 mamaneeds2rant March 25, 2009 at 6:02 pm

      Thanks Robin.
      Answers:
      1. Thank goodness the cabbage wasn’t in the pot yet. I then would have had to finish burning down the house.
      2. I wouldn’t count on it after reading about your driving experiences
      3. Darn greedy people. Maybe they should fix the holes in the walls if they want more money.
      4. After April 15th, 9:00 will be sleeping in for me–but not so much that my day is wasted. Only 4 hours? We could jog to a half-way point and meet for coffee. What’s a few hundred miles?

  2. 3 So Much More Than A Mom March 25, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Thanks for keeping us up to date! Can’t wait til you’re back full time. 🙂

  3. 5 Dawn March 25, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Very memorable St. Paddy’s day. You may live in your memory of it annually from here on out. I love when life gives us stories like this. Cough, cough.

  4. 7 chanceencounters April 22, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Nice St. Patty’s Day, I’m sure you’ll remember this one…;)

  5. 8 mamaneeds2rant April 22, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    I know, Chance. The acrid smoke smell is embedded in my sinuses.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 173,278 hits


