Why–Oh Why–Does She Ask?

My mom called me at work today.  She wanted to know what day would be good for her to make dinner for us and bring it over.  She does this several times a year, especially during tax season when she knows we’re extra busy.  Mom’s a good cook and we’re always happy to get her home cooked meals.  It usually tastes better anyways when someone else does the cooking.

Since Big Daddy is in charge of cooking when I’m back to working full-time, I told mom I’d ask him which day would be best.  Unlike me, Big Daddy plans the whole week’s meals in advance, and even has a list made up complete with menu and probable meal time.  He might have a preference on which meal to cross of his list.

In addition to wanting to know which day would be best, mom asked me what I might be in the mood for her to make.  I appreciate anything, but when she asked me, I had just finished eating lunch and couldn’t even come up with any ideas.  She insisted that I ask Big Daddy and Oldest Son exactly what they were in the mood for her to cook.  I told her I’d get back to her as soon as I found out.

Big Daddy mulled over the possibilities.  “What does she want to make?  I don’t want to tell her something that she hates to make,” he said.  “But if I had my choice, I’d pick lasagna.  Or City Chicken.”

Yum.  Two things we hadn’t had for a while, and two things she makes quite well.  I called her back and told her Thursday would be a good day for us.  “Do you guys know what you want?” she asked again.

I hesitated, knowing full well what a pain in the ass it is to make lasagna, which is why we rarely have it.  But she asked.  “Well, he mentioned that he could go for lasagna.  Or city chicken would be good,” I added quickly, knowing this was another good but much easier dish to make.

“Oh,” she said.  “Well, I bought some cubed steak.  I thought I would make that with some mushrooms and peppers.”

“Okay,” I said.  “That would be good, too.  Just surprise us.”

And this is life with my mom.  She has good intentions.  She comes over on the holidays, and the few times she’s not late, she’ll come into the kitchen and ask me if she can help.  Usually I’m on a roll and tell her no.  But almost everytime I do think of something she could actually help me with, she kind of disappears into another room.  Without helping.  And so, like today, my question is: “Why does she even ask?”  Inquiring minds would like to know.

7 Responses to “Why–Oh Why–Does She Ask?”


  1. 1 Dawn March 17, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    She wants you to know she’s thinking of you. Lucky you!

  2. 3 robinaltman March 17, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    That is freaking hilarious! I love the fact you researched the possible menu choices so diligently, and she had cube steak all along. Hahahaha! My mom does very similar things. I think she tries to create an illusion of self determination.

  3. 5 Cyndi March 20, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    It may be a generational thing. My mom does the same thing! It is funny (and cute) that hubby is so diligent and organized about the menu.

  4. 6 Sam March 24, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    lol. this blog made me hungry.

    My mom and especially my grandma do the same thing!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,431 hits


