Would He Lie?

This morning getting ready for work, I was standing in front of the full-length mirror in the bathroom, inspecting things to see if I could get away without wearing the fat-squeezing, breath-sucking body shaper. 

“Do I look lumpy or enormous in these pants?” I asked Big Daddy, who happened to be sitting on the toilet.

Without missing a beat, or come to think of it, even looking up, he said, “Nope.”

Then I thought about what I just asked him.  Would I want him to tell me that I looked fat and lumpy even if I did?  He doesn’t always do and say the right things–he’s a  guy for God’s sake–but he’s not stupid.

I went back to my dresser, pulled out the body shaper and put it on.  Better safe than sorry.

11 Responses to “Would He Lie?”


  1. 1 myra36 March 13, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    He, he. The loaded question. Men hate being asked because it’s a lose-lose situation. If they say “no”, they’re lying. If they say “yes”, then we get upset.

    I like my hubby’s response:

    “Is there anymore beer in the house?”

  2. 2 mamaneeds2rant March 13, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Smart hubby you got, Myra. What was I trying to do–set myself up for a rotten day? Because he could have told me the truth.

  3. 3 Sheri March 13, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    AWE! MOM!!!!! (I sometimes have the same problem with Chris ><)

  4. 4 robinaltman March 14, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    At least he’s well trained. Once, we were lying in bed, face to face, and Adam said, “You look kind of. . . puffy.” Puffy?!! The nerve of him to go around spewing the truth. It was awhile before he had either clean socks or an orgasm inside another human being.

  5. 6 Cyndi March 14, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    LOL – he sure has mastered the correct answer to those types of questions! Who can blame them? The repurcussions of saying we look lumpy, fat or anything other than fabulous just aren’t worth it.

  6. 8 Vicky March 17, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    Hi, I just wanted to let you know I really like your blog. I happened upon it from alphainventions.com. I can’t wait to find some time to catch up on all the older posts. You sound like a cool lady. Feel free to visit me over at itsfreddiegirlcomics.typepad.com, Have a good day. Vicky

    • 9 mamaneeds2rant March 18, 2009 at 11:54 am

      Thanks so much for stopping by, Vicky, and for your nice comment. I will definitely visit your blog. I love Alphainventions. It brings great minds together! 🙂

  7. 10 John and Perla March 18, 2009 at 2:03 am

    Unless you just have a wife that is totally free and you can each speak the truth to each other. Hmm.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 171,861 hits


