Movin’ On Out, Maybe

I’ve seen a couple Dr. Phil shows featuring frustrated parents wondering when their adult child was ever going to move out.  I can tell them how.  Charge them rent.

We’ve only collected 2 months of a measly $200/month rent from Oldest Son and he’s already got a realtor out there searching for a home of his own.  I haven’t seen him this motivated since…never.  He’s not a motivated kind of soul.  He’s a way-too-laid-back kind of gamer guy that will work harder than anybody when he has to, but doesn’t always see the reason to do so.  Although he’s been one of the best workers at every job he’s had so far, he let a full-ride scholarship slip away because he couldn’t make himself sit down and do the assignments.  He cares about his credit rating and likes his money enough, but can’t always make himself sit down and pay the bills without me having to remind him way too often.  So you can imagine how surprised I was when he came home from a busy day of house-hunting yesterday.

We live in an area where you can actually find a decent sized older home for under $100,000.  It was like this before the mortgage crisis and the downturn in the economy.  In fact, housing around here is holding pretty steady because the Pittsburgh area was never overvalued in the first place.  You can find a fixer-upper really cheap.  After almost a year of collecting combat pay and nothing much to spend it on, Oldest Son has been able to collect enough money to buy himself a not-so-bad fixer-upper.

He described one he found and I was excited for him.  It was a 3-bedroom, 1-1/2 bath cape cod with a little yard where he planned to have a garden.  It was all brick and had three porches that he envisioned turning into one big wrap-around porch some day.  He actually said that he could almost see himself raising a family there.  WHAT??  My slacker dude?

He has to be away all weekend with his Army Reserve unit but Big Daddy and I said we would go with him when he gets back and take a look at this house with him.  It never hurts to have some objective eyes checking things out.

Then, this morning at work I got a text from Oldest Son.  It seems his dream house has been scooped up by some other lucky bargain hunter.  But like I told him, there will be more.  And even though I won’t be a “wealthy” landlord anymore, I won’t feel obliged to micromanage anyone’s lazy bill-paying habits anymore.

8 Responses to “Movin’ On Out, Maybe”


  1. 1 Cyndi March 5, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    Wow, that’s huge! Be honest…you’ll miss him when he does find the right place.

  2. 2 sheribear9202 March 5, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    And with the help of his wonderful girlfriend, who is waking up HER lazy butt at 6 in the morning to weed out the better homes, he should have something very nice in very little time.

    It breaks my heart that that GORGEOUS house was already under contract, but the homes I’m looking at are the same price, and with the same circumstances. It just stinks that pictures can go either way, make it look worse, or make it look better. I’ll definately keep you posted on the newest house hunting experiences.

  3. 3 robinaltman March 5, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    I’m so jealous, I think I just pooped my pants.

    Ah. To have the boys out and in their own houses. Heaven. I once had a nightmare that Kevin built a cabin in the backyard.

  4. 4 mamaneeds2rant March 5, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Well, he’s not out yet, Cyndi. But I’ll miss him. I WON’T miss going into the kitchen dying for my favorite iced tea and finding the empty container of it that he couldn’t even throw away in the darn trash can. And I’m sorry I made you poop your pants, Robin. Hope you have a spare pair of undies. Remember the R-E-N-T word when they’re old enough to fend for themselves 🙂

  5. 5 paulascott60482 March 6, 2009 at 12:25 am

    OMG! I’m have the same son living here in my house! I keep asking him if he’s found a place to live yet! I’ll miss him when he’s gone and I’ll miss the help he is with his little brothers but it’s hard having too many grown ups in one house! I haven’t done the rent thing…but I’m thinking about it now…

  6. 6 Peldyn March 6, 2009 at 1:44 am

    Lucky you! I keep hoping our SIL will find a better job so he and our youngest daughter will be able to find a place of their own. Minimum wage will not let them afford anything here in So Cal. Dang economy downturn. Every place here is laying off and closing down!

  7. 7 sheribear9202 March 6, 2009 at 7:32 am

    Now that I think about it, the “R” word really does work. As soon as I turned 18, my parents stopped claiming me on their taxes, and I had to pay them rent. I was still in high school, and my rent wasn’t that expensive, but it was still the fact that I was paying my PARENTS to live in MY HOUSE. So that’s one reason I bought my own place too…. =D

    Subconsciously, it does work!

  8. 8 goodmum March 6, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Ha! $200 was all my mom ever charged any of us when we were adults, too. She only charged us if we were working full time. ANd she never remembered to collect. That’s my dear mom, in a nutshell. 🙂 I hope your son finds a great home and that you don’t miss him too much! Let’s face it, though: he’ll still drop by with his laundry every week, right? 😉


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  


Pittsburgh Bloggers



Blog Stats

  • 170,879 hits


